Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This downloadable application, available exclusively in the Nintendo eShop, lets players easily create all kinds of creatures and objects, some beautiful, some bizarre. The program brings them to life complete with animations and personalities. The player can then take control of them and explore a whimsical game world, which can also be modified with customized creations. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The greatest character and planet creation kit ever. If the exploration had been better this would be gold but then you'd probably be paying £30 for it.
  2. 85
    It's charming, especially when you combine that with the bizarre babble voices. I can't get enough of this game, and I doubt you'll be able to either. It's definitely worth the trip to the eShop.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    Creative souls will have a blast with Freakyforms's tools, while those looking for a game may find it a bit too simplistic and repetitive.
  4. Jan 12, 2012
    66
    Watching creations take their first wobbly steps is a great laugh - lucky, as there's not much else to do. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    60
    And so it is that Freakyforms still leaves me scratching my head, even five months later. You're welcome to try it for yourself to see if you have better luck at understanding its madness, but I'd recommend most 3DS owners save the seven bucks to spend on surer bets.
  6. Jan 14, 2012
    60
    A novel creation tool, which should give rise to any number of inspired (read: terrifying) creations. [Christmas 2011, p.80]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    freakyforms is fun because you can get coins create new things and make creations come alive it is cool to see how things come from fake to real. I like this game because it is fun to play with. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At te beginning, te game is cold. I mean, not THAT cool... but a little time playing and you will understand how addictive it is. I'm 14 and I can't stop playing this on my 3DS! My sister, cousin, my friends... all of them loved the game! And they are all like my age... And the game was made for kids! Now think how KIDS would like the game... Totally recommended! Even if you're not a kid! ^^ Collapse
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Do you like to have? If the answer is yes then this is the game for you. You make toys and play with them on their own planet. It is entertaining and stimulating, a true sand box experience. You will lose sleep trying to out due your on imagination and others. You can share and save the characters through qr codes, share through street pass, cross pollinate the world with your imagination. The price is cheap, not child cheep, but cheep for a vector-esque creative program. I love this game. Expand
  4. muu
    Dec 2, 2011
    9
    This is one of those games that people will say is 'not for everyone' but also something that everyone should try out. Have you ever played with a set of crayons and paper? If so, then you're probably in the demographic that will enjoy this. Making stuff never gets old, and the quirky atmosphere really adds to this rendition of 'create a creature.' If I went on with the whole paper and crayons thing, it's like your nightmarish drawings from when you were 5yrs old suddenly popped out and started doing breakdances while eating apples and pooping all over the place. Seriously. I hadn't laughed as much as I have watching my creations walk in their freaky ways, or make one from a 'template' that turned out to be nothing like what it was supposed to come out as.

    Recommended for all but the hardest of 'hardcore' gamers that can't get past the notion that there's light beyond the shining foreheads of bald space marines.
    Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    The exploration? Weaksauce. Platforming? A fiddly affair, but it does make use of the touch screen. Creation? Excellent. Nabbing other peoples creations via QR codes? The real meat of the game. For just over a fiver, you can sort of forgive it's shortcomings, but when it has such potential in the character creation system, all is forgiven. Well, almost. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Like Spore, Freakyforms has a robust creature creator. With nearly endless combinations, it's a blast to create bizarre creatures. Unfortunately, repetitive quests and a sort of sloppy control system get in the way of fun. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Am keeping this short and sweet. The creation mode in freakyforms is top-notch easy to use and full of potential. The most creative users will create anything & everything they can imagine. Sadly actual gameplay is less than exciting. But game does use streetpass and has lots of content. Remember this is 3DSware title and its only £5.40 which in my eyes is freaky good download:) Expand