Gunman Clive 3DS

Gunman Clive Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the year of 18XX, the west is overrun by thugs and outlaws.
    A group of bandits have kidnapped Mayor Johnsons daughter and are spreading havoc across the land. Only Gunman Clive can bring order to the west and save the girl!
    Jump and shoot your way across diverse and challenging
    In the year of 18XX, the west is overrun by thugs and outlaws.
    A group of bandits have kidnapped Mayor Johnsons daughter and are spreading havoc across the land. Only Gunman Clive can bring order to the west and save the girl!
    Jump and shoot your way across diverse and challenging levels and fight massive bosses. Gunman Clive is an old-school sidescrolling platform game set in the old west with full 3D graphics and a unique artstyle. Bring out your inner cowboy and get ready for some real gunslinger action.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    90
    A stunning masterpiece of a platform game, with so many different styles that are well loved from over the years, all tightly pieced together and expertly delivered by a developer with a clear strong talent in this genre.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A great mobile offering just got even better, as Gunman Clive emerges as one of the best platformers on the 3DS.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    87
    The stellar game design is emboldened by the three different characters you can play as. From start to finish, Gunman Clive is a fantastic platformer, good enough that it is worth playing multiple times to play as every character.
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    83
    Gunman Clive is kind of the ideal downloadable title. It offers a good challenge, visuals that you won't find in a retail package, and, most importantly, it's a lot of fun. While the short length is a bit of a turn-off, the diversity in the game's three playable characters should add some extra incentive to revisit the game.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    It's a stylish adventure that can be enjoyed two or three times in a short amount of time and entertains because of its simplicity.
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    The game is still a steal at $2. Fans of 2D action platformers need to check it out.
  7. The game is undeniably lovingly made, but it's also disappointing brief. It's - yep - the fastest fun in the west.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Essential game to play on the 3DS, the trailer convinced me to buy it instantly. Great humor and gameplay, for an added challenge complete itEssential game to play on the 3DS, the trailer convinced me to buy it instantly. Great humor and gameplay, for an added challenge complete it on duckmode, it's brilliant. I would have paid more for this game so it is such a bargain for how great it is. I hope the creator makes more games in future. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    the theme it represents is fantastic and unique
    the gaming community needed something like it
    the visuals can't look better than this
    the theme it represents is fantastic and unique
    the gaming community needed something like it
    the visuals can't look better than this specially with the 3D effects
    the only negative here is: the game's too short
    Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    9
    I saw the trailer for this game on the 3DS eshop and decided "what have I got to loose, it's only £1.99. It's one of the most fun little gamesI saw the trailer for this game on the 3DS eshop and decided "what have I got to loose, it's only £1.99. It's one of the most fun little games I have played, yes you will complete it very very quickly but hey, it's two quid well spent. Brilliant game mechanics, wonderful graphic style (good use of 3D) and a perfectly catchy soundtrack make this a great game to jump into especially when you haven't got time to give an hour or so to a more involving game. Stop reading and go buy it, you won't be disappointed..... I'm off now to play Gunman Clive 2 :D Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    A great fun and beautiful download from the eshop. Oh and it’s only £2.

    The gameplay in Gunman Clive is pretty basic. You can run, jump,
    A great fun and beautiful download from the eshop. Oh and it’s only £2.

    The gameplay in Gunman Clive is pretty basic. You can run, jump, and shoot. That is all, you can only run at one speed and you can only shoot in one direction (a straight line forward). It’s polished to perfection however with your character feeling very solid to control (if a little slow) and shooting bad guys a very satisfying experience. The platforming is well done and I liked the subtly varied level design. The game is very short (I finished it in around one and a half hours) but that is to be expected from such a cheap asking price.

    Where the game really stands out is it’s unique sketchbook visual style which is stunning. One of the most beautiful games on the 3DS. The music ain’t half bad either, and when you consider this whole thing was made by one guy, it’s all rather darn impressive. Highly recommended if you’ve got a couple of quid and fancy an awesome 1.5 to 2 hour game.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2016
    8
    "Gunman Clive" es un shooter/plataformas 2D ambientado en las épocas del lejano oeste. El diseño es bastante creativo, el fondo es amarillento"Gunman Clive" es un shooter/plataformas 2D ambientado en las épocas del lejano oeste. El diseño es bastante creativo, el fondo es amarillento y los personajes que interactúan en pantallas están hechos en trazos negros o marrones para asemejar un cartel de se busca.
    El juego no es muy largo pero si es bastante rejugable, el fin del juego es rescatar a tu persona amada secuestrada por el villano, desarrollo que varía si elegiste al vaquero o a la damisela, cada uno cuenta con habilidades particulares similares a la selección de personajes de "Super Mario Bros 2".
    En general es un juego recomendable si no quieres gastar mucho y llevarte algo bueno, con buenos controles, animaciones que se ven bien en 3D y jefes finales interesantes hacen de "Gunman Clive" un gran Indie.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2015
    8
    The Game is Amazing was not expecting it to be good but It turned out to be really really good it is kind of a mix of mega man which is aThe Game is Amazing was not expecting it to be good but It turned out to be really really good it is kind of a mix of mega man which is a good thing the only thing that I did not like about it was the short amount of levels but other then that it was great it is worth $1.99 Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2016
    6
    I gave a chance to this game because it has really good reviews everywhere. I got to say I am quite disappointed and, for me, this game is theI gave a chance to this game because it has really good reviews everywhere. I got to say I am quite disappointed and, for me, this game is the exact definition of average.

    It feels and plays like a classic videogame (let’s say a lot like the old megamans). The gameplay is quite simple, you can move in 2 dimensions, jump, crouch and only shoot to the left and right (not up or down). This is fine, as I said reminds me a lot of some classic videogames I played when I was a kid, I say this as a good thing, but that is it (well the soundtrack is also excellent I must say). The game is quite short (20 stages); I played in hard, died a few times (nice that a game is a bit hard for once) but it took me 1h 20m to complete… but I guess that as some people mentioned, considering the game is 2 quid that’s fine. Some people will also argue you still have the duck mode after the normal game, but still, I think it doesn’t make the game better; it is nothing special really…so this mode is basically the same game but you’re playing with a duck. You cannot shoot or anything just fly/jump…makes a simple game even simpler (in concept I mean not difficulty).

    Personally, I didn’t like the graphic style. It is nice when art departments in gaming try something different (rather than kind of realistic or toon basic stuff), e.g. I liked limbo or apotheon for example; they have very unique graphics, full of life, amazing. However, in gunman clive, although the whole pencil drawing graphic style is a nice idea, I find the stages are quite empty, simple, repetitive and dead, artistically speaking, it is just not visually enjoyable and the 3d effect is very very basic (this is highly subjective obviously, this is just my personal view). Going back to the gameplay, as a said this is very simple in terms of the movements you can make, and that is fine (a bit like megaman, or ghosts n goblins or battletoads, which are amazing games by the way). The problem is the stages are awfully empty, there is nothing there to challenge you other than a couple of enemies and platforms until you get to stage 13 or so where it starts to get better, but considering there is only 20 …more than half of the game is like really simple (I mean the stage design is really average and not impressive at all). They could have done much more with this game, why not a stage where you ride a horse or a raft on a river or something (well there is a mini section where you ride a wagon…but it’s like 30 seconds, only once in the whole game) Boss fights are also really average, not very inspired design, really simple patterns.

    I don’t know, there are much much better platforming games out there, I just think this one is average. It might still be worth buying considering it is only 2 quid, actually for that very reason there is chance that I’ll give a change to the sequel, see if they have improved the thing.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews