HarmoKnight 3DS

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    90
    HarmoKnight is a fan game, though it is a little simple on difficulty for most of it. While the main game is kind of short, lasting only a few hours, there’s still plenty to do afterwards, including unlocking bonus songs and challenging yourself to faster versions of the songs in the game.
  2. 90
    HarmoKnight is a Game Freak product, through and through. While its nods to Pokémon are apparent in unlockable content and a Gengar-esque antagonist, the truth behind my assumption is actually buried a little deeper.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    HarmoKnight is a wonderful bundle of charm and joy that doesn't really punish failure but rather encourages perseverance and dedication. There isn't even a "Game Over" when you die! Instead, the screen reads, "Oh Dear..." Reminds me of a mother who picks up a child who fell off the jungle gym, dusts him off, and gently urges him to try again. It's such a minor touch, but it's nonetheless uplifting. Maybe I'm sentimental like that.
  4. May 3, 2013
    85
    HarmoKnight is a chaming rhythm game with good music, so far, a unique experience on the eShop of 3DS.
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    85
    From start to finish, the experience is so enjoyable that it's easily recommendable to any 3DS owner with an affinity for rhythm games. If only Game Freak would step out of their Pokémon shell more often, because the result of the developer's experimentation is awesome.
  6. Games Master UK
    May 9, 2013
    83
    Puts many retail games to shame. [June 2013, p.79]
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    83
    HarmoKnight is among the best the 3DS eShop has to offer. Playtime only clocks in at around 4-5 hours, but it is a full experience. With its diverse levels, rhythm-focused gameplay, great music, and charming characters, HarmoKnight will be a memorable experience for those lucky enough to discover it.
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    83
    There’s a hefty amount of content in place for your money.
  9. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    HarmoKnight is one of those games that instantly charms you. The creators of Pokémon know their stuff, and among the things they know best is pure creative power, lively music and exciting creatures, all of whom are represented in this short, but sweet musical experience.
  10. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    While it lasted (unfortunately not too long) it kept me entertained, since the combination of jump&run and rhythm game works surprisingly well.
  11. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    HarmoKnight is a fun, rhythmic endless runner for all ages and skills. The rather low initial difficulty level coupled with inviting graphics make it good for players just getting their feet wet with the genre. The bonuses from the gold medals provide some appeal to genre veterans or those looking for a challenge. Having a much more memorable selection of music to run with would have been ideal, but as it stands, this is another fine entry in the system's eShop.
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Different, original and very rhythmic. Game Freak surprises us with a videogame which isn't a Pokemon, but an original title based on the fun of pressing buttons with precision. Its direct gameplay is highly recommended for rhythmic games fans and owners of a Nintendo 3DS in general.
  13. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A thoroughly enjoyable experience from start to finish, HarmoKnight offers a simple concept to understand and enough challenge and variety to keep players involved.
  14. Mar 29, 2013
    80
    Harmoknight has that deceptively simple, cheery, Rhythm Heaven-like quality that belies just how addictive it can be.
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    80
    It’s refreshingly exacting about timing, though too forgiving when it comes to grading – you can miss several prompts, take plenty of damage and still earn gold.
  16. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    HarmoKnight manages to combine attractive cartoon-like visuals with engaging, rhythm-based gameplay to create an experience which can stand shoulder-to-shoulder with genre classics like Vib Ribbon, Gitaroo Man and PaRappa the Rappa.
  17. Mar 17, 2013
    80
    Albeit short and sometimes frustrating, HarmoKnight is a gorgeous and enjoyable eShop title which deserved a cartridge on its own.
  18. Lovely art design and catchy tunes make this a pleasure to play, but it lacks the precision of, say, Elite Beat Agents or Maestro! Jump In Music.
  19. Apr 1, 2013
    76
    HarmoKnight has the Nintendo polish, but you’re spending $14.99 for what is essentially a glorified mobile game.
  20. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    Even though there's little to highlight, HarmoKnight entertains the player. We feel it could have been something more, but still fans of the genre should give it a try.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    I always enjoy music games, and this one is no exception. I enjoyed the many various levels and designs, as well as the music in game. TheI always enjoy music games, and this one is no exception. I enjoyed the many various levels and designs, as well as the music in game. The graphics were crisp and the characters' designs were nice to look at. The only issues I have are that the difficulty spike was sudden in the game, I couldn't get the official 'All Perfect' ending, and the jumping drums were finicky. Perhaps I couldn't time it right, but more often than not, whenever I reached a drum, 8 out of 10 times, I end up falling. But the game is still enjoyable, even with those flaws. Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    This is one of my favorite eshop games. The music is very catchy, and the gameplay is almost completely solid. My only real complaint is thatThis is one of my favorite eshop games. The music is very catchy, and the gameplay is almost completely solid. My only real complaint is that there are some spots where the beat does feel finicky. The note will come slightly early or late. These are few and far between though, so it's not enough to take away from the gameplay. Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    A fun game and a very good way to introduce yourself to rhythm games.
    If you're good enough you'll unlock some greatly appreciated Easter
    A fun game and a very good way to introduce yourself to rhythm games.
    If you're good enough you'll unlock some greatly appreciated Easter Eggs from other Game Freak games.
    Full Review »