Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    82
    Not so deep as Diablo, but very accessible for 3DS users. Heroes of Ruin is a dungeon crawler with many hours of gameplay, powerful online features and a charm missions system. A must for adventurers, and a good option for the rest of the gamers.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    65
    This dungeon crawler offers conventional hack & slay-action for up to four hunters. But be aware: The loot system can be unfair and compared to other hack&slays this is a rather short experience.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    63
    There's a plot in here, but it's all a bit rubbishy, full of stock-standard fantasy tropes and dialog that reads like it was written by an intelligent but under-read tenth grader. All told, the game has a very amateur feel to it.
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    82
    Delving fully into the game, you're bound to find many small nuances, some you'll find pleasing while others might cause you to complain. But as the time passes and you find yourself continually picking up your 3DS for another quick solo dungeon or a full afternoon with friends, you'll realize with pride that Heroes of Ruin was a worthy choice to add to your collection.
  5. Mar 2, 2013
    60
    Heroes of Ruin is an average game, with much better alternatives out there. The daily challenges are nothing compared to the daily and weekly puzzles found in the Professor Layton games and they do not work as planned. For 3DS owners looking for a game with a lengthy campaign with some form of online play included, there are games that are worthier of the money.
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    Praises and complaints aside, Heroes of Ruin does exactly what it wanted to do -- give 3DS users a solid hack n' slash RPG. While it flounders on the way to that simple goal, it's a goal that has been undoubtedly reached. Better may come along in the future, but right now, this does the trick.
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Despite its reheated fantasy trappings and formulaic design principles, it also remains surprisingly easy to get hooked on the steady dopamine hit of each fresh loot acquisition and the rhythm of the game's combat pulse.
  8. Jul 18, 2012
    70
    Heroes of Ruin is a pretty game by 3DS standards, with a compelling story wrapped around unoriginal combat, quests, and leveling.
  9. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    The true strength of Heroes of Ruin is in the pleasing flexibility of the online experience - and it's a model Nintendo itself could learn a few things from.
  10. Jun 22, 2012
    70
    A Diablo-esque game in a time when Diablo III is still the hottest game on shelves; the first dungeon crawler on 3DS, and with real time voice chat too. Heroes of Ruin is a good attempt to make a game like this on a portable console, but it is too easy and there's no end game at all.
  11. 70
    The implementation of higher difficulties and Player vs Player were key elements to Heroes of Ruin could call itself a great dungeon crawler and one of the best titles available on Nintendo 3DS. Even with these limitations, Heroes of Ruin still manages to be a good recommendation if you are looking for an action RPG.
  12. Jun 20, 2012
    70
    A nice surprise and one of the most ambitious online multiplayer modes we've seen on a 3DS game.
  13. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Heroes of Ruin is a functional lootfest, but its poor economics balancing, uninteresting weapons, and boring combat don't do it any favors. It's like listening to a terrible band cover your favorite song. All the musicians are holding the right instruments, but it just doesn't quite come together.
  14. Jul 17, 2012
    70
    Heroes of Ruin is an excellent game if you're looking to take your Diablo addiction on the road with you. It's deep, replayable, and the online is instantly accessible.
  15. Jun 27, 2012
    60
    The n-Space guys are good students ; they did a well-polished hack'n slash game. If it clearly lacks any sort of innovation in terms of design or story, Heroes of Ruin managed to integrate every bit of the Hack'n Slash proven formula, most notable with a well-crafted multiplayer. Too bad it really lacks end game content, and some.
  16. Aug 14, 2012
    49
    At the end of the day, HoR simply doesn't live up to its potential.
  17. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    While it doesnʼt offer a unique experience, Heroes of Ruin is definitely a game that will keep you going for hours.
  18. Jul 24, 2012
    60
    Heroes of Ruin would like to be the 3DS' Diablo, the 3DS' Gauntlet, the 3DS' Hunter: The Reckoning. Unfortunately, n-Space fails to endow the game with challenging gameplay or engrossing storytelling, apparently hoping that the solid multiplayer will draw audiences. In a marketplace where there's nothing new under the sun, we need a more interesting hook than that.
  19. Jul 23, 2012
    65
    Heroes of Ruin might be one of the most generic dungeon crawlers ever. It lacks personality and its own style to differentiate it from other games. That we're still having fun while playing is purely thanks to the solid building blocks used to form this game, which the developer copied expertly. Gamers that only own Nintendo consoles haven't gotten many games like this. For them, Heroes of Ruin might be a game to consider, with great (online) multiplayer as icing on the cake.
  20. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    Even though it's an enjoyable game, it suffers from a weak challenge. It gets much too easy, much too fast. Finding new weapons is always fun, but some of the point disappears when you don't really need them.
  21. 60
    Heroes of Ruin wants to do a lot more than the 3DS will let it at this point, and it's a shame the game didn't have more willing hardware to work with, because it has plenty of ideas and good intentions.
  22. Jul 13, 2012
    50
    Heroes of Ruin is a technically competent online RPG with great online support, but it also looks really ugly, has a bland story and stale animations. In the end, it just has a mediocre feel to it.
  23. Jun 25, 2012
    77
    Simple in combat but underpinned by a host of stats, HoR sates your desire for more stuff. [August 2012, p.68]
  24. Jun 17, 2012
    60
    The best way to enjoy Heroes Of Ruin is most definitely with three friends, but to highlight this as a selling point would be to assume there are going to be people out there with three friends who also own the game, and that will get together and plough hours at a time into it. Realistically, this will rarely happen, and as a single-player looter, Heroes Of Ruin, fairly enjoyable though it is, fails to show the invention necessary to justify its own existence.
  25. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    A well-done action RPG for 3DS handheld. The game may attract your attention with its well-built tree of abilities, its online multiplayer along with its doping gameplay. However, many of its minor flaws like overabundance of loot, the New Game+ absence or higher difficulties with the same character of yours are holding the game back from the elite.
  26. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    Meager difficulty diminishes much of Heroes of Ruin's adventurous charm.
  27. Jul 19, 2012
    50
    Heroes of Ruin is ultimately just another run-of-the-mill experience, which is truly unfortunate considering it's pretty much the only title in the genre on Nintendo's hardware over a year after launch. Its potential is totally squandered on a highly forgettable experience.
  28. Aug 4, 2012
    55
    Heroes of Ruin fails to deliver a solid action-RPG experience, and earnest efforts to tailor the experience to the 3DS hardware don't excuse its shortcomings.
  29. Jul 9, 2012
    84
    Heroes of Ruin shows how well multiplayer can and should work on the 3DS.
  30. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    If you enjoy hacking and slashing and screaming at randoms, this is the one. [Sept 2012, p.76]
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Very good game. an excellent first try to this type of game. I buy this game las month and I'm still playing. very funny andVery good game. an excellent first try to this type of game. I buy this game las month and I'm still playing. very funny and entertaining.............. Full Review »
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Although it has its flaws I am glad that I have bought it. Heroes of ruin is a hack n slash action rpg that takes place in the ruined kingdomAlthough it has its flaws I am glad that I have bought it. Heroes of ruin is a hack n slash action rpg that takes place in the ruined kingdom of veil. The ruler of nexus which is one of the remaining cities has been laid down by an unknown curse. Your job is to find a cure for the ruinlord ataraxis, the ruler of nexus. Now,first things first many people have complained about the longetivity of the game. It is true that it could have a longer story but dont let that put you off. I finished the game with a lvl 30 gunslinger at 18.42 minutes. I am currently at 84% on the alchitect with 8.13 minutes. I have 45 hours in my activity log and expect to get 80 hours out of HOR altogether.Firstly, to fully maxamise the longetivity try and complete as much daily and weekly quests as possible. This found me revisiting several areas in search of the various creatures which I had to destroy and further added longetivity to the game. These quests will be updated daily for a year so there is no shortage of them. Secondly, before you go into the final dungeon *after rigels treachery* play online with people to reach lvl 30. This is what I did with the gunslinger and it added several extra hours. Then with the valor you collected from the daily challenges buy legendary gear to be the best prepared for the final boss battle, which is truly epic and will leave you thinking for a while. Thirdly and most importantly to lengthen the game, FIND A FRIEND. I met up with this lad through 3ds friendcodes.com and I play with him every chance I get, whether it's leveling up alliance rank or defeating a difficult boss it is rewarding and extremely enjoyable and it really made this game something special for me. It is so easy to find someone to play with on the officail site and I highly recommend this if you want to fully experience what this game has to offer. I have since made even more friends and we play together regularly. The voice chat varies from time to time but with the friends I play with it is fine. Every single boss battle is unique and intuitive, even better when you plan it out with a friend. The four characters are varied enough that you would want to play through with each one. The gameplay is extremely fun and I enjoyed every minute of it. The graphics are a bit of a dissapointment as some areas are muddled but it doesnt overly affect the gameplay. One problem is that the online load time is quite long but you cant fix that. All in all this is a solid action rpg which I enjoyed thoroughly and if you follow my tips you will get many hours of gameplay from it. But a personally I think a friend is NECESSARY to enjoy this game and if you want someone to play with look me up on the officail site under rickeire..pm me:) Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    A very cosy game to play while sipping on a coffee relaxing on the couch. Although not gem perfect it achieves the goal of being an intriguingA very cosy game to play while sipping on a coffee relaxing on the couch. Although not gem perfect it achieves the goal of being an intriguing hack n slash on the 3ds. Very fun to play, looking forward to more similar gAmes on the 3ds. The environments draw me in and the monsters are designed beautifully. Can't wait to pop this on the 3ds xl to enjoy greater 3d! Full Review »