Heroes of Ruin 3DS

Heroes of Ruin Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: HEROES OF RUIN uses StreetPass to create an inventive in-game 'Traders' Network' where players can buy and sell rare and powerful items picked up in battle. With an ever-changing inventory updated from each player passed in public, character strengths and abilities can be greatly enhanced byHEROES OF RUIN uses StreetPass to create an inventive in-game 'Traders' Network' where players can buy and sell rare and powerful items picked up in battle. With an ever-changing inventory updated from each player passed in public, character strengths and abilities can be greatly enhanced by accessing items from other players' games. Outside of the game, HEROES OF RUIN makes use of SpotPass to reward players with rare items or unique challenges through local Wi-Fi hotspots. The official HEROES OF RUIN community website will reward players further with daily challenges and quests available to complete in-game. With social media functionality, the site will also give players a platform to meet other gamers, swap ideas and items, and team up in-game. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    90
    Heroes of Ruin is a landmark 3DS release, providing true online gaming that will keep you entertained from start to finish.
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    82
    Delving fully into the game, you're bound to find many small nuances, some you'll find pleasing while others might cause you to complain. But as the time passes and you find yourself continually picking up your 3DS for another quick solo dungeon or a full afternoon with friends, you'll realize with pride that Heroes of Ruin was a worthy choice to add to your collection.
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Heroes of Ruin is a mediocre game if you'd just stick to single player. But when you delve into the dungeons online, it turns out to be surprisingly good.
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    70
    A Diablo-esque game in a time when Diablo III is still the hottest game on shelves; the first dungeon crawler on 3DS, and with real time voice chat too. Heroes of Ruin is a good attempt to make a game like this on a portable console, but it is too easy and there's no end game at all.
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    65
    There's no reason to keep on playing after clearing the game once with each character, probably the main flaw of a decent dungeon crawler with a very good multiplayer infrastructure and weird game design choices.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    60
    Heroes of Ruin would like to be the 3DS' Diablo, the 3DS' Gauntlet, the 3DS' Hunter: The Reckoning. Unfortunately, n-Space fails to endow the game with challenging gameplay or engrossing storytelling, apparently hoping that the solid multiplayer will draw audiences. In a marketplace where there's nothing new under the sun, we need a more interesting hook than that.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    Heroes of Ruin has noble enough goals, but all the best intentions can't make up for such a total failure of execution. Diablo's formula may seem simple, but within that simplicity Heroes of Ruin finds plenty of room for frustration and failure.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Very good game. an excellent first try to this type of game. I buy this game las month and I'm still playing. very funny andVery good game. an excellent first try to this type of game. I buy this game las month and I'm still playing. very funny and entertaining.............. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 11/10, Weapons: 12/10, 9/10, 9/10, 8/10, Worry Level: 5/5, Suspense: 6/8, Addiction: 19/10.
    Overall Score: 11/10
    For: Intelligent
    Graphics: 11/10, Weapons: 12/10, 9/10, 9/10, 8/10, Worry Level: 5/5, Suspense: 6/8, Addiction: 19/10.
    Overall Score: 11/10
    For: Intelligent People;

    CSS Mode:
    graphics{
    Amazing: 10px;
    }
    addiction{
    Fully Addicted for years to come: 19px;
    }
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    Although it has its flaws I am glad that I have bought it. Heroes of ruin is a hack n slash action rpg that takes place in the ruined kingdomAlthough it has its flaws I am glad that I have bought it. Heroes of ruin is a hack n slash action rpg that takes place in the ruined kingdom of veil. The ruler of nexus which is one of the remaining cities has been laid down by an unknown curse. Your job is to find a cure for the ruinlord ataraxis, the ruler of nexus. Now,first things first many people have complained about the longetivity of the game. It is true that it could have a longer story but dont let that put you off. I finished the game with a lvl 30 gunslinger at 18.42 minutes. I am currently at 84% on the alchitect with 8.13 minutes. I have 45 hours in my activity log and expect to get 80 hours out of HOR altogether.Firstly, to fully maxamise the longetivity try and complete as much daily and weekly quests as possible. This found me revisiting several areas in search of the various creatures which I had to destroy and further added longetivity to the game. These quests will be updated daily for a year so there is no shortage of them. Secondly, before you go into the final dungeon *after rigels treachery* play online with people to reach lvl 30. This is what I did with the gunslinger and it added several extra hours. Then with the valor you collected from the daily challenges buy legendary gear to be the best prepared for the final boss battle, which is truly epic and will leave you thinking for a while. Thirdly and most importantly to lengthen the game, FIND A FRIEND. I met up with this lad through 3ds friendcodes.com and I play with him every chance I get, whether it's leveling up alliance rank or defeating a difficult boss it is rewarding and extremely enjoyable and it really made this game something special for me. It is so easy to find someone to play with on the officail site and I highly recommend this if you want to fully experience what this game has to offer. I have since made even more friends and we play together regularly. The voice chat varies from time to time but with the friends I play with it is fine. Every single boss battle is unique and intuitive, even better when you plan it out with a friend. The four characters are varied enough that you would want to play through with each one. The gameplay is extremely fun and I enjoyed every minute of it. The graphics are a bit of a dissapointment as some areas are muddled but it doesnt overly affect the gameplay. One problem is that the online load time is quite long but you cant fix that. All in all this is a solid action rpg which I enjoyed thoroughly and if you follow my tips you will get many hours of gameplay from it. But a personally I think a friend is NECESSARY to enjoy this game and if you want someone to play with look me up on the officail site under rickeire..pm me:) Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers. This game is a great attempt at what they were clearly trying to do! However, like most games, there were things left out (most likely not of their choice), and some things had issues. I think they could have made the boss fights more engaging, and maybe a few more puzzles (lots and lots of fighting, with breaks only found when you go back to nexus). The game is very replayable, but a character that beats the game is almost pointless, because there is little for him/her to do after they win.

    Over all, they did do a lot of things right! The classes were unique and different, so each one had a slightly different experience. The game play mechanics were strong and easy to get ahold of. The multi-player was good for what it was being played on. Over all, the pros outway the cons. Lastly, i just want to say that i really want to see a "Heroes of Ruin 2", and I hope to see that they learned from their mistakes. If they take what the players said seriously and take #2 seriously, the second game could be AMAZING!!!
    Collapse
  5. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    Theres not a lot to this game, its essentially Diablo Lite. Playing online with friends and family has added a lot of the value to it for meTheres not a lot to this game, its essentially Diablo Lite. Playing online with friends and family has added a lot of the value to it for me though. Having voice chat on the 3DS is really great. Its too bad this is basically the only game that has that feature.

    The game is fun while it lasts, has great online play, a forgettable story, repetitive gameplay, but is a lot of fun to kick back and waste some time with. For $15-20, I'd say it was worth the buy.
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Decent Diablo clone with a cheerful online. Played very well in the campaign, one point in playing the same no no. Another downside wouldDecent Diablo clone with a cheerful online. Played very well in the campaign, one point in playing the same no no. Another downside would refer to a small number of locations. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2016
    3
    Awful
    Disapointing
    One of the only games i have ever returned to gamestop, just because i could tell i had to cut my losses and move on
    Awful
    Disapointing
    One of the only games i have ever returned to gamestop, just because i could tell i had to cut my losses and move on

    it's so bad

    for starters the money cap is embarrassingly low, i hit it before i even finished the game

    bad story(it was so bad i remember absolutely nothing about it)

    repetitive dungeons and quests, the game claims the dungeons are randomly generated each time you enter, but they are not, from what i remember it picks one of four preset designs and then adds random item placement within it. small inventory space, i remember having the max amount of all items constantly.

    Bad sound mixing. OH MAN THIS ONE. So i actually hit a glitch in one of the endgame bosses and it caused a sound effect to be played like 10 times at once and it actually damaged my 3DS's speakers it was so loud. oh and did i mention this game has glitches? because boy does it have glitches, including the one i mentioned i hit another one that basically made my game unplayable till i reset and loaded up my save file (also happened during a boss fight)

    i've heard the online is good but when i tried it it was yuck. i tried multiple times and always got little kids that screamed into the mic. i really don't know with this part so i'll give them a free point, i mean it DID run really smoothly online and did have voice chat which is nice. I just got some yuck people. Plus i saw the weekly daily challenges and stuff, so i mean effort was put in there.

    i have no idea if this game ever got an update or anything, because tbh, if all the problems i had with it were gone, i would have really liked it. it's just too flawed for my personal taste. i do warn people to try the demo first however

    it's up to you whether or not you should play it, just try not to go in blind. i preordered this game, and I've done nothing but regret it
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews