Kid Icarus: Uprising 3DS

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    Pit the angel returns in a game that features complex rpg-elements, great music, smart use of the 3D functions and splendid gameplay. But the controls are literally painful, even with the Circle Pad Pro.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    I can give my warm recommendations for Pit's return in Kid Icarus: Uprising – but also an ice-cold warning for the terrible controls when Pit reaches ground from being airborne. Book an appointment at the orthopedic clinic already, because this will take a huge toll on your wrists and elbows.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    While the game soars when it comes to charm and presentation, the uneven mix favors the weaker half of the gameplay formula and can't offer up a single well-rounded control option.
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    I wish I could love Kid Icarus more. Because in theory it has everything: A top-notch presentation, loads of minigames and stuff on the side that is almost more interesting than the campaign, a brilliant soundtrack. But there is one thing that overshadows everything: The frustrating controls!
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a series of good ideas that ultimately suffer from its poor controls. There's a lot to do in the game, and more importantly, I felt compelled to do all of it. As the credits rolled I looked back fondly at the experience, as my hand throbbed along with the music. I'm looking forward to doing more with Pit in the future, just not like this.
  6. Apr 1, 2012
    65
    I found myself mostly thrilled with Kid Icarus: Uprising right up until the very end of the ninth chapter. It's almost impressive how quickly this game goes from being a great, well-rounded experience to a total narrative disaster that drags on for far too long.
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    60
    If it was a Wii game it would be one of the best on the console - hell if they stripped out the awkward, pain in the ass Land Battles it would be a much better game. Still, is it so much to ask that one 3DS game not be portable, one 3DS game not follow the format of 'pick up and play anywhere'? With the 3DS' currently small catalogue, I think so - but maybe in the future, things will change. I really hope they do.
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    50
    Equal parts tremendous and terrible, with a fine line clearly separating the two distinct territories. Unfortunately, since each stage ends on a sour note, the overall emotion one gains is that of bitter disappointment. It's a game that repeatedly starts strong and ends despicably, and as much as I want to adore it, I ended every session cursing its name.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 172
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    The gameplay is great, it holds challenge for those wanted more. Tons of contents to explore and to uncover, the story is good andThe gameplay is great, it holds challenge for those wanted more. Tons of contents to explore and to uncover, the story is good and lighthearted. Maps are gorgeous and so are the graphics. The controls needs sometime to get used to, but I liked how they're utilizing touch in this game. I've missed these kinds of games that are simple yet offers challenge with multiplayer options that are intense and smooth. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Hello to all! This is my 1st review. I wanted to wait until I finished this game before posting my review, but I thought I'll comment onHello to all! This is my 1st review. I wanted to wait until I finished this game before posting my review, but I thought I'll comment on what I've completed and learned so far, then I'll try to comment again once I've completed the game. First, I have to correct something that Gameplayer03 said (no disrespect intended). Gameplayer03 said that you can only play this game in 3rd person. This isn't true. I found out by accident that you can play it in 1st person too. All you have to do is press up on the D-pad. This will allow you to switch to 1st person. Press again, and you're back in 3rd person mode. Secondly, I will agree that the controls can be very ackward at 1st. However, just like Dalck said, if you put in an hour or two, the controls become easier. Now that doesn't mean that Nintendo shouldn't have allowed usage of the 3ds circle pad pro. Aside from resident evil revelations, I thought that I would get to use the second circle pad, but unfornately, no. The only reasons I can think of why Nintendo didn't include this option, was due to the game being so far along in development, that if they went back and added, it would have delayed the release for quite a while, or, they would've had to cut some stuff to make it work. Whatever the case may be, I hope that at E3, one of these gaming journalist ask why it wasn't included. Anyways, I'm on chapter 11 now. I probably could've beaten the game already, or close to beating it, but I've been having so much fun with the betting system. For example, I've replayed a few chapters 4 or 5 times in the hopes of obtaining better weapons. Also, I love the fusing system. I just tried the multiplayer last night. I did the team battles. So far, it's cool. What I really love about it, is that whatever weapons and powers you win, you can use in the single player mode too. Now, about the story. So far, so good. Especially chapter 9. I will admit at times, that the constant chatter can be a little distracting, but only a little. All in all, from what I've played thus far, I'm loving this game. Will your hand be a little sore after playing this game? Yes! Will you find the stand helpful? I didn't. It kinda got in my way. Will there be times you curse the controls? Yes! But, those times have been far and few (so far). Truthful, once I completed whatever task I was having difficulty with, I forgot about the controls. So, I hope what I've said helps. If you haven't, I would recommend picking this game up. In my opinion (so far), I would give this a 9. Would love to give it a 10, but I'm taking off a point for the controls. Also, don't know how metacritic tallies their score, but they have Gameshark review listed as 42%. They gave the game a C-. Don't know about you, but I've never known a C- to equal 42%. In fact, a C letter grade is in the 70 percentile. Just saying. Before I forget, best buy has this game on sell for $29.99 (03/25-03/31). If you haven't picked it up yet, go get it. C-ya! Full Review »