Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    95
    This game has everything but the kitchen sink, and in that respect it's a lot like Super Smash Bros. Melee and Brawl. And like those titles, Kid Icarus: Uprising is a masterpiece. [April 2012, p.78]
  3. 95
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is jam packed with content, and outside of the control issues, is an amazing game. The 21-year wait for a new Kid Icarus game was completely worth it, because this is one of the craziest and most original games released by Nintendo in a while. If you have a 3DS and are even remotely interested in this game, I highly recommend that you seek this out.
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    92
    A daring reinvention of a hero too long on the subs bench. [Apr 2012, p.85]
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    92
    From an incredibly deep weapon system and difficulty settings to a lengthy story mode complete with quirky, well written dialogue sequences, Kid Icarus: Uprising is another gem in Sakurai's development crown and something any gamer should experience.
  6. Mar 19, 2012
    92
    Kid Icarus is one of the best rebirths in the last several years. Even the gods would surrender to the charms of this angelical return. Apologies accepted, Pit. Your delay was justified.
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    91
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is without a doubt a must have title for the 3DS. The single player campaign is engaging and offers tons of character customization, and the multiplayer portion sports a very competitive arena. The amount of value here is incredible; this just isn't a game that can be played through once and put down. It's been a long time since Pit was the main character in a game, and we can easily say it was worth the wait.
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    91
    Pit makes a long-awaited and welcome return, but you might want to make a sacrifice to the god of carpal tunnel syndrome before playing.
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    91
    We all waited for years and now Pit is finally back. The long wait was worth it, because the comeback is pretty awesome. The game is bigger then most console games and offers AR card support, multiplayer modes, combinable weapons, epic boss fights and many more. It's not just a game, it's the rebirth of the legend.
  10. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  11. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    No doubt in my mind, 3DS owners should have Kid Icarus: Uprising in their library of games, especially if action games are a favorite.
  12. May 14, 2012
    90
    Nintendo magic strikes again, if you can adapt to the controls. [June 2012, p.68]
  13. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    I'm infatuated with how these characters, these brilliant mechanics, were molded from crude, 8-bit blueprints that are older than myself. And now, I want more.
  14. Apr 24, 2012
    90
    Sakurai has done the impossible - resurrected a franchise long thought dead, given it some fresh new kicks and produced something glorious. Irreverent, self-referential comedy has rarely fit a Nintendo game so snugly.
  15. Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Although full of kitsch, this excellent game uses it the way you will assume is one of its virtues. The game looks splendid, its gameplay is even better, and although the game enjoys killing your wrist, none of you should miss it.
  16. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    If you have a 3DS, pick this game up. It's especially a great deal when you consider that it's just the pack-in game for that amazing stand peripheral.
  17. Apr 2, 2012
    90
    Uprising is a must for any 3DS owner, especially fans of either the series or rail shooters.
  18. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    As a Nintendo title, it's everything you could want from the publisher, despite the fact that the controls leave something to be desired and the multiplayer will not satisfy all comers.
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  20. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    A game of discoveries and rediscoveries.
  21. Mar 23, 2012
    90
    I already know reactions to this game will be polarized, and it basically comes down to whether people can get used to those (again, admittedly) uncomfortable controls... But I can't help but be glad I stuck it out through the overlong adjustment period. The upbeat, funny, deep action game that comes after is totally worth the investment.
  22. Mar 23, 2012
    90
    A very impressive game. Although there's an initial adjustment period for its controls, each stage is masterfully designed, rewarding exploration and experimentation, plus it's surprisingly deep.
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    After a 25 years retreat, Pit takes off again to defeat Medusa once more. More than a rail shooter, Kid Icarus Uprising is a true old school gem and one of the most ambitious 3DS titles to date. It's still tiresome to play for your wrist sometimes,and the plastic stand still requires you to find the better position, but the experience is worthwhile.
  24. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    It's been more than two decades since the last game in the Kid Icarus series, but Uprising proves it was worth all the waiting with excellent action, beautiful graphics and so much unlockables that you probably won't need another game for your Nintendo 3DS this year.
  25. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    A thoroughly entertain[ing] mix of air- and ground-based shooting that never slows down, throwing all manner of new challenges at the player, incentivising the whole process to ensure replay levels are as high as possible. The intense multiplayer options are merely the icing on an already very delicious cake.
  26. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    A triumph in artistry and gameplay, overcoming the frequently problematic process of reviving an old franchise. So many studios get it dead wrong, but Project Sora has shown that it has respect for the IP, as well as the talent to deliver the world of Kid Icarus to a modern audience and make it relevant to a new generation.
  27. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    Its weave of systems hauls you back in to replay stages time after time; the sense of progress and acquisition is a powerful, irresistible loop. Most significantly, it reveals a Nintendo we haven't seen for some time, eager to innovate in ways that will excite its hardcore fans, focusing on competition, struggle and mastery. Reaching for the sky.
  28. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    One of the most attractive, exhilarating, entertaining and outrageously fun titles so far on 3DS. While Mario has recently brought his style of gaming bliss to the handheld, Uprising provides a substantial amount of content, its own brand of adrenaline pumping set pieces and wonderful humour. It sweeps you along at breakneck speed, and is a must-have title for that very reason.
  29. Mar 27, 2012
    88
    Pit is back in his best shape. Kid Icarus Uprising is one of the most interesting games for Nintendo 3DS in 2012. Tons of content and unlockables, hours of gameplay, a true innovative difficulty system and an interesting use of 3D. Masahiro Sakurai's seal of quality.
  30. Mar 26, 2012
    88
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a great first birthday present for the 3DS; a game with a stunning amount of content, and a quality that shows clearly the great commitment of the Sakurai's Team. Only the tiring controls and some level design issues prevent the game from being a truly masterpiece.
  31. Mar 20, 2012
    88
    An humorous and charming game which is spectacular sometimes and has an excellent visual design and great music. It is full of contents and becomes inmediatly one of the best games of the console and a must have for Nintendo fans.
  32. Apr 2, 2012
    87
    The presentation of the game is top-notch, with quirky enemies (from flying cakes to something that can only be described as an evil flying comedy nose / glasses / moustache combo), great voices (and sounds in general), and an excellent story. It's funny, and very Nintendo - without feeling at all like any kind of rehash.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 160
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    The gameplay is great, it holds challenge for those wanted more. Tons of contents to explore and to uncover, the story is good and lighthearted. Maps are gorgeous and so are the graphics. The controls needs sometime to get used to, but I liked how they're utilizing touch in this game. I've missed these kinds of games that are simple yet offers challenge with multiplayer options that are intense and smooth. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Hello to all! This is my 1st review. I wanted to wait until I finished this game before posting my review, but I thought I'll comment on what I've completed and learned so far, then I'll try to comment again once I've completed the game. First, I have to correct something that Gameplayer03 said (no disrespect intended). Gameplayer03 said that you can only play this game in 3rd person. This isn't true. I found out by accident that you can play it in 1st person too. All you have to do is press up on the D-pad. This will allow you to switch to 1st person. Press again, and you're back in 3rd person mode. Secondly, I will agree that the controls can be very ackward at 1st. However, just like Dalck said, if you put in an hour or two, the controls become easier. Now that doesn't mean that Nintendo shouldn't have allowed usage of the 3ds circle pad pro. Aside from resident evil revelations, I thought that I would get to use the second circle pad, but unfornately, no. The only reasons I can think of why Nintendo didn't include this option, was due to the game being so far along in development, that if they went back and added, it would have delayed the release for quite a while, or, they would've had to cut some stuff to make it work. Whatever the case may be, I hope that at E3, one of these gaming journalist ask why it wasn't included. Anyways, I'm on chapter 11 now. I probably could've beaten the game already, or close to beating it, but I've been having so much fun with the betting system. For example, I've replayed a few chapters 4 or 5 times in the hopes of obtaining better weapons. Also, I love the fusing system. I just tried the multiplayer last night. I did the team battles. So far, it's cool. What I really love about it, is that whatever weapons and powers you win, you can use in the single player mode too. Now, about the story. So far, so good. Especially chapter 9. I will admit at times, that the constant chatter can be a little distracting, but only a little. All in all, from what I've played thus far, I'm loving this game. Will your hand be a little sore after playing this game? Yes! Will you find the stand helpful? I didn't. It kinda got in my way. Will there be times you curse the controls? Yes! But, those times have been far and few (so far). Truthful, once I completed whatever task I was having difficulty with, I forgot about the controls. So, I hope what I've said helps. If you haven't, I would recommend picking this game up. In my opinion (so far), I would give this a 9. Would love to give it a 10, but I'm taking off a point for the controls. Also, don't know how metacritic tallies their score, but they have Gameshark review listed as 42%. They gave the game a C-. Don't know about you, but I've never known a C- to equal 42%. In fact, a C letter grade is in the 70 percentile. Just saying. Before I forget, best buy has this game on sell for $29.99 (03/25-03/31). If you haven't picked it up yet, go get it. C-ya! Full Review »