Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    92
    Kid Icarus is one of the best rebirths in the last several years. Even the gods would surrender to the charms of this angelical return. Apologies accepted, Pit. Your delay was justified.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    I wish I could love Kid Icarus more. Because in theory it has everything: A top-notch presentation, loads of minigames and stuff on the side that is almost more interesting than the campaign, a brilliant soundtrack. But there is one thing that overshadows everything: The frustrating controls!
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    No doubt in my mind, 3DS owners should have Kid Icarus: Uprising in their library of games, especially if action games are a favorite.
  4. Mar 26, 2012
    79
    To come back to our earlier appalling (but inevitable) metaphor, Kid Icarus Uprising definitely soars a little close to the sun, but manages to get away with only slightly singed wings.
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    60
    If it was a Wii game it would be one of the best on the console - hell if they stripped out the awkward, pain in the ass Land Battles it would be a much better game. Still, is it so much to ask that one 3DS game not be portable, one 3DS game not follow the format of 'pick up and play anywhere'? With the 3DS' currently small catalogue, I think so - but maybe in the future, things will change. I really hope they do.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    86
    It's hard to find much to complain about in Kid Icarus: Uprising. The game looks and sounds very good, but the pixels are extremely noticeable and the music score, while rekindling some classic themes, lacks a certain epic quality.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    A thoroughly entertain[ing] mix of air- and ground-based shooting that never slows down, throwing all manner of new challenges at the player, incentivising the whole process to ensure replay levels are as high as possible. The intense multiplayer options are merely the icing on an already very delicious cake.
  8. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    If you have a 3DS, pick this game up. It's especially a great deal when you consider that it's just the pack-in game for that amazing stand peripheral.
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    50
    Equal parts tremendous and terrible, with a fine line clearly separating the two distinct territories. Unfortunately, since each stage ends on a sour note, the overall emotion one gains is that of bitter disappointment. It's a game that repeatedly starts strong and ends despicably, and as much as I want to adore it, I ended every session cursing its name.
  10. Mar 27, 2012
    92
    From an incredibly deep weapon system and difficulty settings to a lengthy story mode complete with quirky, well written dialogue sequences, Kid Icarus: Uprising is another gem in Sakurai's development crown and something any gamer should experience.
  11. Apr 11, 2012
    80
    Despite slight control problems that can hamper portability - and unfortunately the multiplayer - there's an awful lot to like in Kid Icarus: Uprising, making Pit's return one well worth the wait.
  12. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Sakurai's prints are all over Uprising, providing a comeback that balances depth and accessibility with little compromise. [Apr 2012, p.122]
  13. Mar 19, 2012
    85
    A brilliantly written and executed new chapter in the long-abandoned, but never forgotten, Kid Icarus franchise that will appeal to new and old fans alike with its amazing depth and stunning visuals.
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    Its weave of systems hauls you back in to replay stages time after time; the sense of progress and acquisition is a powerful, irresistible loop. Most significantly, it reveals a Nintendo we haven't seen for some time, eager to innovate in ways that will excite its hardcore fans, focusing on competition, struggle and mastery. Reaching for the sky.
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    Nintendo and Sora offer with Kid Icarus: Uprising their most emancipated work on the 3DS so far and also show how capable this little handheld really is. Once you get to grips with the controls, you will spend quite some time with this one.
  16. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  17. 80
    The controls prevent Kid Icarus from flying higher but it manages to overcome this adversity by providing a rich and memorable adventure that has the ability to captivate those who never before had the opportunity to contact with the series.
  18. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  19. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    I can give my warm recommendations for Pit's return in Kid Icarus: Uprising – but also an ice-cold warning for the terrible controls when Pit reaches ground from being airborne. Book an appointment at the orthopedic clinic already, because this will take a huge toll on your wrists and elbows.
  20. Apr 6, 2012
    85
    Pit is back, in an all-new adventure which shines for its fast-paced gameplay and the ridiculous amount of content put in by Masahiro Sakurai and his Project Sora. Controls are uncomfortable, but getting used to them is the token you should pay to enjoy one fine 3D shooter.
  21. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    While the game soars when it comes to charm and presentation, the uneven mix favors the weaker half of the gameplay formula and can't offer up a single well-rounded control option.
  22. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a series of good ideas that ultimately suffer from its poor controls. There's a lot to do in the game, and more importantly, I felt compelled to do all of it. As the credits rolled I looked back fondly at the experience, as my hand throbbed along with the music. I'm looking forward to doing more with Pit in the future, just not like this.
  23. Apr 2, 2012
    90
    Uprising is a must for any 3DS owner, especially fans of either the series or rail shooters.
  24. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    As a Nintendo title, it's everything you could want from the publisher, despite the fact that the controls leave something to be desired and the multiplayer will not satisfy all comers.
  25. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    After a 25 years retreat, Pit takes off again to defeat Medusa once more. More than a rail shooter, Kid Icarus Uprising is a true old school gem and one of the most ambitious 3DS titles to date. It's still tiresome to play for your wrist sometimes,and the plastic stand still requires you to find the better position, but the experience is worthwhile.
  26. Apr 20, 2012
    91
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is without a doubt a must have title for the 3DS. The single player campaign is engaging and offers tons of character customization, and the multiplayer portion sports a very competitive arena. The amount of value here is incredible; this just isn't a game that can be played through once and put down. It's been a long time since Pit was the main character in a game, and we can easily say it was worth the wait.
  27. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  28. Apr 24, 2012
    90
    Sakurai has done the impossible - resurrected a franchise long thought dead, given it some fresh new kicks and produced something glorious. Irreverent, self-referential comedy has rarely fit a Nintendo game so snugly.
  29. Apr 8, 2012
    85
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is the best Nintendo 3DS-game, that you don't actually want to play on a 3DS. It has a fun single player, a cool story with and a well excecuted multiplayer. Unfortunately, you're bound to get cramps in your hands and fingers if you don't use the stand that comes with the game.
  30. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    It's been more than two decades since the last game in the Kid Icarus series, but Uprising proves it was worth all the waiting with excellent action, beautiful graphics and so much unlockables that you probably won't need another game for your Nintendo 3DS this year.
  31. Mar 26, 2012
    91
    Pit makes a long-awaited and welcome return, but you might want to make a sacrifice to the god of carpal tunnel syndrome before playing.
  32. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    A triumph in artistry and gameplay, overcoming the frequently problematic process of reviving an old franchise. So many studios get it dead wrong, but Project Sora has shown that it has respect for the IP, as well as the talent to deliver the world of Kid Icarus to a modern audience and make it relevant to a new generation.
  33. Apr 20, 2012
    90
    Although full of kitsch, this excellent game uses it the way you will assume is one of its virtues. The game looks splendid, its gameplay is even better, and although the game enjoys killing your wrist, none of you should miss it.
  34. Apr 1, 2012
    65
    I found myself mostly thrilled with Kid Icarus: Uprising right up until the very end of the ninth chapter. It's almost impressive how quickly this game goes from being a great, well-rounded experience to a total narrative disaster that drags on for far too long.
  35. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.
  36. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    When it hits its stride, Uprising is a huge amount of fun. Once you get over the initial control discomfort, there's a deep and satisfying shooter to be found here.
  37. Mar 23, 2012
    90
    A very impressive game. Although there's an initial adjustment period for its controls, each stage is masterfully designed, rewarding exploration and experimentation, plus it's surprisingly deep.
  38. Mar 23, 2012
    83
    Stumbles a bit due to its uncompromising control scheme that puts just a few too many hurdles in the way of your enjoyment. Largely, though, Pit's comeback is a successful one.
  39. Apr 4, 2012
    83
    While Kid Icarus: Uprising does have a few shortcomings, overall it's a great revival for a franchise I had little affection for in the first place. I was never a big fan of the NES title, so I wasn't expecting much, but I've been pretty pleased with the experience so far.
  40. Mar 23, 2012
    91
    We all waited for years and now Pit is finally back. The long wait was worth it, because the comeback is pretty awesome. The game is bigger then most console games and offers AR card support, multiplayer modes, combinable weapons, epic boss fights and many more. It's not just a game, it's the rebirth of the legend.
  41. Apr 13, 2012
    80
    A great shooter that combines TPP action with rail shooting. The developer has struck gold by filling the game with enormous amounts of content. The game provides lots of fun - dozens of hours even, if you sum up the single player campaign, playing with secrets, weapons and perks, and the time spent in multiplayer.
  42. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Graphically, Kid Icarus: Uprising is astonishing to behold, given that it was designed for the 3DS – which is just as well since at times, it gets incredibly busy in visual terms, and if it wasn't crisp and sharp to look at, it would get confusing. Overall, it feels fresh, original and exhilarating to play, and thanks to its off-the-chain level of bonkersness, it should appeal to young and old alike.
  43. May 14, 2012
    90
    Nintendo magic strikes again, if you can adapt to the controls. [June 2012, p.68]
  44. Mar 19, 2012
    85
    The game is simply addicting, both in its arresting, fast-paced action and its ability to inspire repeat visits with its scalable difficulty, bite-sized mentality and seemingly endless amount of unlockable content.
  45. Apr 30, 2012
    85
    If you enjoyed the original game or you're wanting a unique game for the Nintendo 3DS that not only showcases the console but gives the player a sturdy gaming experience, than Kid Icarus: Uprising is that game. It features a great story that is oozing with humour and some sturdy control and gaming mechanics with not only the Circle Pad Pro accessory but also the included stand that will change the way some gamers play.
  46. Apr 18, 2012
    85
    Coming back on stage and choosing the 3DS fort that is probably Nintendo's best idea, and they can be proud of this Kid Icarus, one of the best games of the 3DS 2012 line-up.
  47. Mar 23, 2012
    90
    I already know reactions to this game will be polarized, and it basically comes down to whether people can get used to those (again, admittedly) uncomfortable controls... But I can't help but be glad I stuck it out through the overlong adjustment period. The upbeat, funny, deep action game that comes after is totally worth the investment.
  48. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  49. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    Pit the angel returns in a game that features complex rpg-elements, great music, smart use of the 3D functions and splendid gameplay. But the controls are literally painful, even with the Circle Pad Pro.
  50. Apr 2, 2012
    80
    An extremely solid game, and a successful relaunch of a near-forgotten franchise. The biggest question consumers should ask themselves is whether or not they think they'll be able to cope with the unique controls.
  51. Mar 27, 2012
    88
    Pit is back in his best shape. Kid Icarus Uprising is one of the most interesting games for Nintendo 3DS in 2012. Tons of content and unlockables, hours of gameplay, a true innovative difficulty system and an interesting use of 3D. Masahiro Sakurai's seal of quality.
  52. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Far more than meets the eye, the triumph here isn't the successful return of Kid Icarus but Nintendo's most involved and nuanced shooter of recent years.
  53. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    We just wish the multiplayer stages had a bit more pizazz. There's a cool Super Smash Bros. type feel to the action, but it's slightly offset by lackluster temples and mountains.
  54. Mar 26, 2012
    88
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a great first birthday present for the 3DS; a game with a stunning amount of content, and a quality that shows clearly the great commitment of the Sakurai's Team. Only the tiring controls and some level design issues prevent the game from being a truly masterpiece.
  55. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  56. Apr 2, 2012
    92
    A daring reinvention of a hero too long on the subs bench. [Apr 2012, p.85]
  57. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    One of the most attractive, exhilarating, entertaining and outrageously fun titles so far on 3DS. While Mario has recently brought his style of gaming bliss to the handheld, Uprising provides a substantial amount of content, its own brand of adrenaline pumping set pieces and wonderful humour. It sweeps you along at breakneck speed, and is a must-have title for that very reason.
  58. Mar 28, 2012
    95
    This game has everything but the kitchen sink, and in that respect it's a lot like Super Smash Bros. Melee and Brawl. And like those titles, Kid Icarus: Uprising is a masterpiece. [April 2012, p.78]
  59. 95
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is jam packed with content, and outside of the control issues, is an amazing game. The 21-year wait for a new Kid Icarus game was completely worth it, because this is one of the craziest and most original games released by Nintendo in a while. If you have a 3DS and are even remotely interested in this game, I highly recommend that you seek this out.
  60. Apr 2, 2012
    87
    The presentation of the game is top-notch, with quirky enemies (from flying cakes to something that can only be described as an evil flying comedy nose / glasses / moustache combo), great voices (and sounds in general), and an excellent story. It's funny, and very Nintendo - without feeling at all like any kind of rehash.
  61. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  62. May 11, 2012
    83
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is an underdog tale: how an action game can be thoroughly enjoyable even when it suffers from some severe control problems. [May 2012]
  63. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    A few niggling issues stop Uprising from being a heavenly experience, but for a star who's spent over two decades out of the spotlight, Pit's return is nothing short of a triumph.
  64. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    I'm infatuated with how these characters, these brilliant mechanics, were molded from crude, 8-bit blueprints that are older than myself. And now, I want more.
  65. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    Kid Icarus knows enough to be more complicated and rewarding than any simple Rogue Squadron or light gun game. It knows enough to tap into the nearly universal appeal of loot chasing.
  66. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a great game: interesting idea create a fun, tough and durable adventure. The control system in the phases to earth, however, is far from perfect and requires practice. In addition, some parts prove too repetitive. Nevertheless Uprising is a title reccomended for the fans of Pit or the action-shooter game.
  67. Apr 12, 2012
    80
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a fun game with endearingly cheesy dialogue and characters, but the setup of the levels can get a little monotonous.
  68. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    The slippery movement commands make basic platforming a tedious chore. They make the potentially great online multiplayer into a convoluted mess. Despite such flaws, Uprising is still a great addition to the 3DS library.
  69. Mar 28, 2012
    83
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is a charming and wonderful game, slightly hamstrung by a physically tiresome and awkward control scheme.
  70. Mar 20, 2012
    88
    An humorous and charming game which is spectacular sometimes and has an excellent visual design and great music. It is full of contents and becomes inmediatly one of the best games of the console and a must have for Nintendo fans.
  71. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    A triumphant return for a forgotten hero; a dazzling, silly, beautiful adventure that mostly, but never completely, overcomes its control woes. When Pit's wings are clipped then so is his game, but in the air it's a different story. Here, Uprising doesn't fly; it soars.
  72. Mar 21, 2012
    83
    Kid Icarus Uprising is a great 3DS experience with a very unique hero and a fascinating story... but the controls are quite uncomfortable, even if you use the 3DS stand!
  73. Mar 27, 2012
    90
    A game of discoveries and rediscoveries.
  74. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is close to being one of Nintendo's best. It is exciting, funny, and packed to the brim with content and style. Unfortunately, it is held back by an awkward control scheme. In order to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, you have to give the game the benefit of the doubt and work with its flaws and foibles until you are comfortable with them.
  75. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    This game has a unique style and is good in general, yet lacks smooth controls. The 3DS-standard is also not that impressive.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 148
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    The gameplay is great, it holds challenge for those wanted more. Tons of contents to explore and to uncover, the story is good and lighthearted. Maps are gorgeous and so are the graphics. The controls needs sometime to get used to, but I liked how they're utilizing touch in this game. I've missed these kinds of games that are simple yet offers challenge with multiplayer options that are intense and smooth. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Hello to all! This is my 1st review. I wanted to wait until I finished this game before posting my review, but I thought I'll comment on what I've completed and learned so far, then I'll try to comment again once I've completed the game. First, I have to correct something that Gameplayer03 said (no disrespect intended). Gameplayer03 said that you can only play this game in 3rd person. This isn't true. I found out by accident that you can play it in 1st person too. All you have to do is press up on the D-pad. This will allow you to switch to 1st person. Press again, and you're back in 3rd person mode. Secondly, I will agree that the controls can be very ackward at 1st. However, just like Dalck said, if you put in an hour or two, the controls become easier. Now that doesn't mean that Nintendo shouldn't have allowed usage of the 3ds circle pad pro. Aside from resident evil revelations, I thought that I would get to use the second circle pad, but unfornately, no. The only reasons I can think of why Nintendo didn't include this option, was due to the game being so far along in development, that if they went back and added, it would have delayed the release for quite a while, or, they would've had to cut some stuff to make it work. Whatever the case may be, I hope that at E3, one of these gaming journalist ask why it wasn't included. Anyways, I'm on chapter 11 now. I probably could've beaten the game already, or close to beating it, but I've been having so much fun with the betting system. For example, I've replayed a few chapters 4 or 5 times in the hopes of obtaining better weapons. Also, I love the fusing system. I just tried the multiplayer last night. I did the team battles. So far, it's cool. What I really love about it, is that whatever weapons and powers you win, you can use in the single player mode too. Now, about the story. So far, so good. Especially chapter 9. I will admit at times, that the constant chatter can be a little distracting, but only a little. All in all, from what I've played thus far, I'm loving this game. Will your hand be a little sore after playing this game? Yes! Will you find the stand helpful? I didn't. It kinda got in my way. Will there be times you curse the controls? Yes! But, those times have been far and few (so far). Truthful, once I completed whatever task I was having difficulty with, I forgot about the controls. So, I hope what I've said helps. If you haven't, I would recommend picking this game up. In my opinion (so far), I would give this a 9. Would love to give it a 10, but I'm taking off a point for the controls. Also, don't know how metacritic tallies their score, but they have Gameshark review listed as 42%. They gave the game a C-. Don't know about you, but I've never known a C- to equal 42%. In fact, a C letter grade is in the 70 percentile. Just saying. Before I forget, best buy has this game on sell for $29.99 (03/25-03/31). If you haven't picked it up yet, go get it. C-ya! Full Review »