Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 169
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt theThis game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt the worst video game nintendo ever dared to create Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    Wanna make this short and sweet this is great game and you should own it.

    it has wealth of options and online play!! yea controls are fiddly
    Wanna make this short and sweet this is great game and you should own it.

    it has wealth of options and online play!!

    yea controls are fiddly to get the hang of but like all good gamers. We learn and become better at it. there's so much to unlock and its a game that has more surprises then meets the eye!

    Don't take my word for it! just try it yourself:P
    Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon 9/10 ! Il est vraiment excellent , très complet , un très bon scénario , un humour décapant , le gameplay posera des soucis a certains a d'autres non , moi j'ai trouvé sa parfait ! Clairement le meilleur jeu de la 3DS a ce jour ! Bravo Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Kid icarus: Uprising is one of the best games on the Nintendo 3DS so far. The story is amazing fill with humor and laughs. The gameplay is funKid icarus: Uprising is one of the best games on the Nintendo 3DS so far. The story is amazing fill with humor and laughs. The gameplay is fun and easy to use. The boss fights are challenging and hard to defeat. The graphes looks amazing and the voice is spot on. The only thing I hate about it is that mutilplayer is fun, but there no reason to go back for it. If our a Nintendo fan you should at it to our collection. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    After a year, we're waiting for a 'truly' original game for the 3DS. Sure, you have Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7, but they were basedAfter a year, we're waiting for a 'truly' original game for the 3DS. Sure, you have Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7, but they were based on old IPs. Kid Icarus Uprising is based on Nintendo's old game that many did not play in its day, a cult hit that was 20 years old. The end result is a game that is impressive technically, with slightly 'annoying' controls that cramp your hands. (If Nintendo invested on the CIrcle Pad Pro, they could have given players an option to use it for aiming) Alas, despite that, the game has an incredible amount of content and has generally great game play reminiscent of Sin and Punishment series. It's the first truly original great game for the 3DS beside RE Revelations. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shameA complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 169 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.