Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 160
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This is one of the finest Nintendo made games in the last few years. And that says something, as it's among high company such as Skyward Sword and the Mario Galaxies. Fantastic graphics and 3D, amazing gameplay, dialog, and references to Kid Icarus 1 and 2, and huge surprises await! Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    best handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot of people talking garbage about the controls and really i think they are great you really have to aim and the dodging in super fun i really cant say a game is better then this one thats out right now Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    A wonderful fresh look on an old franchise, there's a butt-ton of content to this game, and an almost as large amount of plot twists. The controls are a little bit funky at first, but after you give them a little bit of time you find a very engaging experience to be had. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    A fairly different game.The combat works well though and I enjoy both the land and air sections.The weapon system is incredibly good and the effort from Nintendo to make this work has been good.(I've been to two Kid Icarus events) Easily the best 3DS game of 2012. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is quite simply amazing. The story is crafted perfectly, with amazing presentation and graphics throughout, the dialogue is whitty but at times gets annoying, however it gives the game a unique charm. The game also has a multiplayer mode which whilst fun, isnt amazing and shouldnt be your main reason for buying the game instead its just part of ALOT of amazing content. Which brings us to bad bit, the controls, the controls are irritating and will take a long time to get used to, but the game comes bundled with a little stand which slightly helps the problem. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.