Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 156
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Kid Icarus: Uprising could quite possibly be the best handheld game of all time. I bought this game skeptical of what would be in store, but it definitely did not disappoint. To get this out of the way before dwelling deeper into this review, I want to state that the controls are NOT game breaking. They simply take a decent amount of time and practice to properly maneuver and actually add depth / challenge to the game. But most importantly, it gives insight on a new control theme that has never been implemented before. After a while, I was having so much fun pinpointing my stylus on Pit's enemies in both the air and the ground that I completely forgot how difficult it initially was for me to learn. It takes precise and short movements of the stylus to angle the camera correctly, but it feels extremely rewarding when you are able to take down whatever enemy you want with ease after mastering it. Gameplay is extremely fast paced and reminds me of a insanely advanced mix of Star Fox 64 and Galaga while in the air, and a game of it's own on the ground. The transition from the air to the ground in each chapter keeps things fresh and upbeat because you aren't always doing the same exact thing the entire time. The dialogue, voice acting, and character development literally make this game. You get a really special feeling hearing the multiple gods converse between each other while fighting in game and towards Pit too. Due to this, all the missions feel as though they are your own. Chatter never ceases in this game, jokes are made, insults are thrown, and oddly enough.. it never gets annoying. Pit is an extremely lovable character from the start, and Palutena keeps him in line every now and then so that he doesn't seem too care-free. On top of this, the villains each have a boastful personality of their own and they constantly remind you of it. Everything in the game is so light hearted and ecstatic that it just compels you to keep on playing. Level designs are incredible and range from colorful and lush skies / forests to dark and menacing caves or storms. Each chapter you are excited to see what new villain or boss lies ahead and how they will affect Pit on his journey. The graphics are likely the best on the system, and the 3DS adds even more depth to the gameplay as is. Sakurai has always been a strong advocate in content on his games, and this one does not disappoint in the slightest. Imagine everything Super Smash Bros. Brawl had to offer, add about 2x more content, and then throw in the fact that all of it is done correctly. Trophies are there, achievements are present, difficulty levels are set, currency is available, online mode is great, powers are unlockable, various weapons are obtainable, and the list goes on and on. If you can recall the sticker function in Super Smash Bros. Brawl, you may have noticed that no one ever got around to them or used them to their full potential.. because quite frankly.. they didn't have any. In Uprising, Sakurai recognizes this mistake and fixes it to appeal to both a hardcore and casual audience with powers which work incredibly and all have their own distinct use. Weapons can be bought, fused, and each have their own special attributes depending on your knowledge of the game, and a bit of luck. And this isn't even one fourth of it. There is literally so many things to do in this game and so much content, that it can't even fit in this five thousand character review. As an avid music admirer, I can vouch for Kid Icarus Uprising likely having one of the best soundtracks of the last decade. Battles feel vigorous with steady drum beats wailing in the background, and your rivals have both attitude and flare with spanish guitars strumming to the rhythm of your movement when appropriate. Speaking of rivals, there is a mass amount of them.. and they all have an insane amount of variety. Each enemy is like a puzzle and requires different methods to defeat it. For instance, one of them turns red and green. If it's red, you must attack from far away, if green.. you must attack with melee. This is just one simple example of probably the fifty plus different enemies there are in the game and they introduce them at different points in the game so they never get old. Kid Icarus has brought something truly special to Nintendo's table by reviving a game that was created twenty five years ago and truly putting their own voice into each and every character. For example, not only does the game reference it's previous installments, but it also cracks jokes and hints at other events in various other staple franchises that Nintendo fans will recognize with ease and asks the player to embrace it. What makes this game such a landmark among the rest is it's reminder of what games are truly made for; to pass time by having fun. Kid Icarus is a masterpiece and without a doubt in my mind will be recognized as an iconic Nintendo staple in the years to come. 10/10 Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    best handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot of people talking garbage about the controls and really i think they are great you really have to aim and the dodging in super fun i really cant say a game is better then this one thats out right now Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Once you adjust the controls options to suit you best and get used to them ,you will never put it down.
    You need some time to get used the conrtols, and then you will find the control scheme is wonderful.
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    not for people who cant handle stylus controls

    this game has a very good story, Great multi--player (when there's no afk problem) and
    wonderful game feel,

    i play lots of games that use Stylus controls, if you hate on stylus games then your not going to enjoy this game, the stylus controls are Very accurate, you are able to configure the controls however you like on the options and the sensitivity of the touch screen, the game plays like challenging a fast paced 3rd person shooter
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    After a year, we're waiting for a 'truly' original game for the 3DS. Sure, you have Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7, but they were based on old IPs. Kid Icarus Uprising is based on Nintendo's old game that many did not play in its day, a cult hit that was 20 years old. The end result is a game that is impressive technically, with slightly 'annoying' controls that cramp your hands. (If Nintendo invested on the CIrcle Pad Pro, they could have given players an option to use it for aiming) Alas, despite that, the game has an incredible amount of content and has generally great game play reminiscent of Sin and Punishment series. It's the first truly original great game for the 3DS beside RE Revelations. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.