Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 148
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    kid Icarus Uprising is definetly a MUST HAVE. The nice graphics,practical jokes, nice music,lot of content, multiplayer. There is pretty much nothing wrong with this game! The controls are a bit bad but, that's why you can customize them. That is also why you got a stand use it! Great game! You have to get this game if you are a hardcore gamer! Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    A 10/10 may seem a bit high at first, but this game earned it and some people refuse to acknowledge it, because of the controls. To be honest, I have no idea what they're talking about. The controls work perfect, even without using the stand. If you don't like the controls, which I can understand too, you can change it in the options menu. If you just take the time to find out what your favorite settings are, there shouldn't be a problem.

    On to gameplay. I was afraid I wouldn't like the on-rail part of each level, but Sora made sure it was as action packed as a Starfox game. The ground parts seem a bit boring in the first levels, but they get better quickly. The boss battles are fun, original and exciting.

    The story has it's own way of telling it. The cutscenes aren't long and boring and end with unanswered questions most of the time, leaving some mystery for you to find out. The rest of the story gets told when you are fighting monsters. On the bottom screen lady Palutena will have a dialogue with one of the other characters. It has a few plot twists which keeps the story fresh.

    Another thing that's great about this game are the aesthetics. Don't expect everything to have some medieval/roman theme. You'll be fighting through space and different dimensions. One thing I particularly enjoyed was Pandora's Fortress. The level design has a few surprises in this level, that I'm not going to spoil for you. Luckily the 3D works perfect in this game and turns everything into eye -candy.

    The best thing about this game is probably the soundtrack. It's been a long time since I enjoyed background music so much, but Sora pretty much nailed it.

    If you have a 3DS, get this game.
    Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Epic. Controls are the best part the gamers who complain about them just want a easy button smashing game. Graphics are awesome unlike most nintendo games. Single player is endless and awesome, multiplayer is great. A console game in a portable reminds me why smartphone games are vastly inferior. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome. The dialogues are such fun and everything is an explosion of action, motion and vivacity. The air battle are my faves, because I love to shoot enemies while watching the environment beneath me, and it's also easier to dodge attacks. There is plenty of weapons and the challenges are many. The controls are different from every other game and at first they could be a little frustrating, but when you'll get used to them, you'll go just fine. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is quite simply amazing. The story is crafted perfectly, with amazing presentation and graphics throughout, the dialogue is whitty but at times gets annoying, however it gives the game a unique charm. The game also has a multiplayer mode which whilst fun, isnt amazing and shouldnt be your main reason for buying the game instead its just part of ALOT of amazing content. Which brings us to bad bit, the controls, the controls are irritating and will take a long time to get used to, but the game comes bundled with a little stand which slightly helps the problem. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.