Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 172
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt theThis game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt the worst video game nintendo ever dared to create Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Kid Icarus Uprising is an absolute blast to play, has a fantastic soundtrack, and has wonderful graphics and art design, with gameplay that isKid Icarus Uprising is an absolute blast to play, has a fantastic soundtrack, and has wonderful graphics and art design, with gameplay that is simple but at the same time very complex and challenging if you want it to be. The difficulty is perfectly scalable to your skill level and the variety of fun and exiting weapons is just plain awesome, and managing your weapons and fusing old weapons to create new and exiting ones is very intriguing. Although the surprisingly long and highly replayable single player is the main bulk of the package the multiplayer is really exiting as well, and works exactly how it should. If you enjoy this game like I have, you will be playing it for months, if not years because of just how much fun it is and how much content is packed in here. But if I'm talking about Kid Icarus Uprising, then I can't help to mention the controls, and the truth is, they work very well. For anyone used to dual analog control it may be difficult to get used to the controls at first, but once you do you'll realize that the controls deliver an accuracy that dual analog cannot. One thing about the controls however that I believe I should mention is the fact that after prolonged periods of gaming, say one and a half to two hours, your hand may start to cramp, however because of the relatively short levels for the most part in the game and the nature of the gamepay which is best enjoyed in short controlled bursts, it shouldn't be a problem, unless of course if you're having such a blast you simply cannot put your 3ds down. I have played this game for a total of 26 hours now and I'm still regularly coming back for more. Another thing I should mention is that even though a lot of the gameplay aspects are different than the original kid icarus, it still maintains a lot of the feel of the original, and still feels like a kid icarus game. Oh, and the voice acting is great too, which is great because otherwise the non-stop dialogue would be a little tedious. Overall this game is absolutely fantastic and anyone with a 3ds needs to play it. It is one of the best reasons, if not the VERY best reason (beside super mario 3d land) to own a 3ds. You will not be dissapointed. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon 9/10 ! Il est vraiment excellent , très complet , un très bon scénario , un humour décapant , le gameplay posera des soucis a certains a d'autres non , moi j'ai trouvé sa parfait ! Clairement le meilleur jeu de la 3DS a ce jour ! Bravo Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Kid icarus: Uprising is one of the best games on the Nintendo 3DS so far. The story is amazing fill with humor and laughs. The gameplay is funKid icarus: Uprising is one of the best games on the Nintendo 3DS so far. The story is amazing fill with humor and laughs. The gameplay is fun and easy to use. The boss fights are challenging and hard to defeat. The graphes looks amazing and the voice is spot on. The only thing I hate about it is that mutilplayer is fun, but there no reason to go back for it. If our a Nintendo fan you should at it to our collection. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Kid Icarus: Uprising is quite simply amazing. The story is crafted perfectly, with amazing presentation and graphics throughout, the dialogueKid Icarus: Uprising is quite simply amazing. The story is crafted perfectly, with amazing presentation and graphics throughout, the dialogue is whitty but at times gets annoying, however it gives the game a unique charm. The game also has a multiplayer mode which whilst fun, isnt amazing and shouldnt be your main reason for buying the game instead its just part of ALOT of amazing content. Which brings us to bad bit, the controls, the controls are irritating and will take a long time to get used to, but the game comes bundled with a little stand which slightly helps the problem. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shameA complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 172 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.