Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kid Icarus: Uprising is the long-awaited franchise follow-up to the NES classic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    100
    Pit's triumphant return doesn't just represent another classic that Nintendo should be proud of it also raises the bar to truly heavenly heights. If this monumental title represents what the 3DS is capable of then owners should consider themselves blessed
  2. It feels far bigger than the console upon which it appears, it's deeper than most home console titles and more content-packed than any other 3DS game yet released.
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    90
    Even with it's awkward control system, Kid Icarus: Uprising is one of the best action games on the Nintendo 3DS. It really deserves your money!
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    85
    Sakurai did it again. The rebirth of Kid Icarus is nothing less than a game packed with action, great graphics, superb writing and many inspired gameplay ideas.
  5. 80
    Outstanding colorful and funny action game demands to learn the controls well but the reward is worthy – hours and hours of pure entertainment. [May 2012]
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    A great hardcore action game, with surprisingly deep difficulty and customization options.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    The single player is a complete waste despite the hefty amount of content put into it. If you're going to enjoy Kid Icarus: Uprising, it's because you can stand the awful controls and really badly want something to play online. If you're considering the game for any other reason than that, I highly recommend catching the next updraft and tossing it into the sun.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 166
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Great game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up toGreat game, controls take some getting used to but work beautifully once mastered. The difficulty is adjustable from easy, clear up to impossible almost. Great artwork, clever story, and dialog. Truly another masterpiece title from Nintendo. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt theThis game sucks, the controls are bad, the graphics are bad, the plot is lame, I couldn´t enjoy it, it is without a doubt the worst video game nintendo ever dared to create Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    best handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot ofbest handheld game i have ever played, i play lvd with my friends all the time the campaign was very good and pretty long. ive heard alot of people talking garbage about the controls and really i think they are great you really have to aim and the dodging in super fun i really cant say a game is better then this one thats out right now Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon10/10 pour contrer les notes style 0/10 qui on juste pour but , de démonter la moyenne du jeu , sinon j'aurais mis un gros bon 9/10 ! Il est vraiment excellent , très complet , un très bon scénario , un humour décapant , le gameplay posera des soucis a certains a d'autres non , moi j'ai trouvé sa parfait ! Clairement le meilleur jeu de la 3DS a ce jour ! Bravo Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    not for people who cant handle stylus controls

    this game has a very good story, Great multi--player (when there's no afk problem) and
    not for people who cant handle stylus controls

    this game has a very good story, Great multi--player (when there's no afk problem) and wonderful game feel,

    i play lots of games that use Stylus controls, if you hate on stylus games then your not going to enjoy this game, the stylus controls are Very accurate, you are able to configure the controls however you like on the options and the sensitivity of the touch screen, the game plays like challenging a fast paced 3rd person shooter
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Kid Icarus is a surpising game for Nintendo. This game is a very accurate representation of what the NES game would be in a 3D enviorment. It'Kid Icarus is a surpising game for Nintendo. This game is a very accurate representation of what the NES game would be in a 3D enviorment. It' very different from the NES game, but feels similar. All that expostion a side, this game is great. I'm not sure why everyone is hating this game. First thing on everyone's agenda is the controls. I'm here to tell you they are just not that bad. They work really well with the fast-paced action, having everything respond very well. But, are they comfortable? My answer is yes. They're not the best control scheme ever made but they don't really hurt your hands. Next item of business, the dialog. This is not a problem. It's not hard to play the game while listening to some of there corny quips, and sometimes they're actually pretty amusing. The story mode is incredible. Let me explain, the story isn't great. What would you expect from a Nintendo action game? But the chapters are incredibly satisfying. They have the story involved in a way where it's fun to know what's going on and it makes the game play make sense, but the upside to all of that is the re-playability. In the end, the story doesn't make sense and isn't involved, but in makes the chapters perfect to play over and over and over. I think playing through the story mode again is fun because I like the style of air, land, boss, but for those who don't want to do that, there's more incentive. The fiends cauldron allows you to play through the same level on higher difficulties. You have to pay the cauldron, but in return you get a harder, more satisfying experience that allows for collecting more money and to collect more powerful weapons. Another great part of the game is the multiplayer. This might be the biggest reason to come back to the game after you've beaten it. It allows you to play with your friends who have the game, or play online. There's two ways to play. First, Light VS. Dark. This splits up in two teams of three. Each team has one big health bar. Whenever someone on your team dies, a certain amount is taken from your team's health bar. When the health bar drains, the last one to die on that team becomes the angel of that team. The team health bar is replaced by the angel's health bar, and when the angel gets hurt, it slowly lowers until the match is over. Free for all, the other mode, is obvouis. It's the same thing without teams or angels. Your on your own. When you compete in multiplayer, you can earn weapons and powers. Some are mystery bonus' awarded to an outstanding player, others you get just because you played. There's also a acheviment's board. It's like Sony's trophy system but exclusive for this game. There are 360 in all. Whenever you commplete one, a puzzle piece is add to the puzzle board, as you call it. It's like the street pass puzzles except you have to earn them. This gives a little bit of incentive to play more and more. The graphics and sound are absloutley stunning. And it uses street pass and spot pass to trade weapons. With that, there are still idol's to collect AR cards to mess with, colleccting all of the weapons, fusing weapons, tossing eggs and more. This game is jam packed with content, and jam packed with fun. This is a surprising game from Nintendo, but a great surprise. 9.5 Stunning Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    A complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shameA complete and utter disappointment. The game was very overhyped and it failed to deliver. The control scheme is broken, which is a shame consider how the actual game is quite good. Considering how game breaking the controls are, I have to rate this one low, especially considering the expectations. Expand

See all 166 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.