Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    90
    Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance is the culmination of several trial ideas tested across various formats over the years since the release of Kingdom Hearts II and succeeds in being the strongest of the side-stories so far.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    90
    Whether or not you're a fan of Nintendo's latest handheld console, if you love Kingdom Hearts, this is a must-have title that's filled with fantastic gameplay, an intriguing story, and beautiful visuals.
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Bottom line: This is a great game on a system that needs more great games.
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    With it's seventh main game, the Kingdom Hearts-franchise switches things up quite a bit, making room for some exciting new elements, like the flow motion and the including of characters from The World Ends With You. At the same time it manages to keep things like they have been for the past six games, with plenty of beautiful Disney-worlds, great characters and a good mix of action and roleplaying.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    91
    So it's certainly worth picking up, and I think most KH fans will fall in love with this entry. It certainly feels like one of the better entries in the series, and is also one of my favorite games on the 3DS right now.
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    87
    With lush graphics, engaging gameplay, Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance is a must have 3DS game, even if you have never played the previous games in the series.
  7. Aug 22, 2012
    90
    The story can get confusing and nonsensical at times, and the camera gets caught up in some funky angles, but these are tiny flaws in an otherwise stellar RPG.
  8. 90
    Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance is both a great entry in the Kingdom Hearts series and a great 3DS game. The story flaws may distract some, but the remainder of the game is worthwhile.
  9. Aug 19, 2012
    95
    Kingdom Hearts 3D is the pinnacle of the Kingdom Hearts portable formula, unifying everything that the series did right in the format and many new, smart ideas.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    Have you been waiting for a good action RPG for the 3ds? if so this "may" be your game. The graphics are what you would expect from square nice and clean with fantastic cut scenes. Voice acting is for the most part solid but there are times where it can be hit or miss. The combat system is very responsive and mostly did what i wanted it to do sometimes i would attack nothing and get frustrated. The biggest flaw I would say would be the camera. I played without the Circle pad pro i don't know if this improves the camera at all i would say probably so. In summary it is not without its flaws but it is for sure a game you need to own if you are KH fan or if you did a little research on the story thus far you would be fine allbeit just as confused as KH vets because the story will become confusing. And a one last note about the "drop" system was annoying at first but you could always drop back to the Sora or Riku if it were something crucial you needed to do. In the end not perfect but 3ds owners should not overlook this game. Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in the future and this is a great entry in my favorite series of all time!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Super awesome game! A MUST for Kingdom Hearts fans! The story, the music, the gameplay, the graphics, everything is just awesome! If you don't have a 3DS, buy it! This game alone will be worth it! That's what I think at least. Full Review »