Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With a colorful cast of characters appearing in the Disney worlds in 3D, players can delve into a lifelike story and world in KINGDOM HEARTS 3D (tentative title). Get to better know all the familiar and beloved characters through this title.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    95
    Kingdom Hearts 3D is the pinnacle of the Kingdom Hearts portable formula, unifying everything that the series did right in the format and many new, smart ideas.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    90
    Whether or not you're a fan of Nintendo's latest handheld console, if you love Kingdom Hearts, this is a must-have title that's filled with fantastic gameplay, an intriguing story, and beautiful visuals.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    85
    We are still puzzled by a few gameplay and plot choices but Kingdom Hearts 3D is a surprisingly strong entry in the long living franchise with its excellent depth and technical achievements.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Kingdom Hearts continues to innovate in the RPG genre ten years on from the original release with [Dream Drop Distance], a generous and exciting addition to the series.
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    75
    Graphically the game looks to be on par with the PS2 titles, but what makes DDD shine above the rest is the 3D.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    Yes, some things work better than others, but you'll learn to deal with the game's quirks in exchange for that old Disney magic, though if you're a big Kingdom Hearts fanatic, Square Enix already had your support.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    The problem with the latest Kingdom Hearts is not a lack of new ideas but that almost all of them are awful, and that's before you even consider the script.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in theThis is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in the future and this is a great entry in my favorite series of all time!! Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    10
    Great game every fan of the kingdom hearths games should have. i brings new answers to the story and tho making it more complicated it bringsGreat game every fan of the kingdom hearths games should have. i brings new answers to the story and tho making it more complicated it brings new life to it, the combat changes little but is still good, and the music is still awesome. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Kingdom hearts 3D is the only reason i bought a 3DS at all and it was worth every penny. The combat is the fastest it has ever been in the KHKingdom hearts 3D is the only reason i bought a 3DS at all and it was worth every penny. The combat is the fastest it has ever been in the KH series, Dash to and from buildings to pull off amazing combos is extremely fun. Collecting Dream eaters is also pretty fun trying to find the right combo of Dream eaters for yourself i found to be an enjoyable experience. The OST and aesthetics are beautiful as i've come to expect from the KH series.The story is very enjoyable but it can be a bit confusing to those who haven't played all the games but it does give a nice little explanation of every game. Now for some of the problems i had with it only 2. The game was just a bit too easy and getting the secret ending was just way too easy. The worlds felt way too empty the size was nice but they just felt dead. Overall i really enjoyed it and i'm glad i bought it. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    An amazing RPG and way better than Re:Coded, however it's not in the tier of a KHII, so it can be a little disappointing and the changingAn amazing RPG and way better than Re:Coded, however it's not in the tier of a KHII, so it can be a little disappointing and the changing character mechanic can get a little bothersome during boss fights... Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Kingdom Hearts is a rare gem in video games. The series has largely spread to every gamer's Playstation 2, PSP, DS, and now 3DS. Not only hasKingdom Hearts is a rare gem in video games. The series has largely spread to every gamer's Playstation 2, PSP, DS, and now 3DS. Not only has it spread through video games its has also become common in pop culture. It is difficult to not see a Kingdom Hearts shirt in Hot Topic these days. Many popular games eventually stumble and somewhere along their series where one game may not be as good as the rest. However, I am happy to say Dream Drop Distance is not one of those games. In fact, it improves many things. It is nice to finally see the move system from Birth By Sleep finally make its way to the Nintendo handhelds as well. Not only did the controls improve, the story has as well. Dream Drop Distance finally continues the story leading up to Kingdom Hearts 3, which from the ending, I am sure will be one of the best in the series. Dream Eaters are a different pace from the usual heartless and your dream eater companions are just as effective as Goofy or Donald were in the past Kingdom Hearts. Flow Motion is a step up as well which allows you to interact with the environment and attack enemies. The only complaints about this game is the constant dropping system. Dropping will force you to switch in between Sora and Riku and it will abruptly stop you in the middle of any fight including boss battles. If you happen to drop during a boss battle then you will be forced to retry the battle from the beginning. Another thing about Dream Drop Distance is the fact that the game is just a bit too short. With only several worlds that take about an hour total with both Riku and Sora you are only looking at about an 8 to 9 hour experience.
    Overall, Dream Drop Distance is an amazing game that even the newest members of the Kingdom Hearts franchise will enjoy. Although the game may have some annoying issues like dropping or how short it is, it easily makes up for everything it does right.
    Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    Kingdom Hearts 3d: Dream Drop Distance is one of the most beautiful games I've seen on a handheld, but is by no means perfect. Though IKingdom Hearts 3d: Dream Drop Distance is one of the most beautiful games I've seen on a handheld, but is by no means perfect. Though I enjoyed this game, there are some flaws that hinder the enjoyment.

    Firstly, as a kingdom hearts fan, I wish they would stop making these games handheld, as they are not games to play for 5-15 minuets, thanks to save points sometimes being some distance apart, and frequent, sometimes lengthy cinamatics. A game like this would be more comfortable played on the tv over in your hand.

    Flow motion, this games biggest change to gameplay, can be a fun, if a bit overpowered addition to gameplay, that makes the normal kingdom hearts fighting nearly irrelevant. why bother with normal attacks and magic combos, when you can just run over to a wall and spam flomotion attacks until everyone's dead.

    Thirdly, the game is set between two alternate worlds, one where you play as Sora, and the other as Riku. This would be a cool idea, were it not for the drop in/drop out mechanic, where after 20 minuets or so it forces you to play in the other character's world. This will happen regardless of your situation, whether you are fighting monsters, managing inventory, fighting a boss, etc.

    Finally, as interesting as the story will be to kingdom hearts fans who have managed to follow along through the past six games, to anyone new to the Kingdom Hearts series, it may come off as a convoluted mess.

    Despite these complaints however, this is in no way a completely terrible game. The art style is unique and strange, the combat is fast-pased and enjoyable, and the voice acting is superb, and this is easily the best looking handheld game I've seen so far.
    Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2016
    1
    Worst game in the series Plot Holes, Broken Gameplay, Dumb Story, Framerate Issue,Fans Overrating this game what the heck Square you'reWorst game in the series Plot Holes, Broken Gameplay, Dumb Story, Framerate Issue,Fans Overrating this game what the heck Square you're Ruining your franchise. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews