Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With a colorful cast of characters appearing in the Disney worlds in 3D, players can delve into a lifelike story and world in KINGDOM HEARTS 3D (tentative title). Get to better know all the familiar and beloved characters through this title.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    95
    Kingdom Hearts 3D is the pinnacle of the Kingdom Hearts portable formula, unifying everything that the series did right in the format and many new, smart ideas.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    90
    Whether or not you're a fan of Nintendo's latest handheld console, if you love Kingdom Hearts, this is a must-have title that's filled with fantastic gameplay, an intriguing story, and beautiful visuals.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    85
    We are still puzzled by a few gameplay and plot choices but Kingdom Hearts 3D is a surprisingly strong entry in the long living franchise with its excellent depth and technical achievements.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Kingdom Hearts continues to innovate in the RPG genre ten years on from the original release with [Dream Drop Distance], a generous and exciting addition to the series.
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    75
    Graphically the game looks to be on par with the PS2 titles, but what makes DDD shine above the rest is the 3D.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    Yes, some things work better than others, but you'll learn to deal with the game's quirks in exchange for that old Disney magic, though if you're a big Kingdom Hearts fanatic, Square Enix already had your support.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    The problem with the latest Kingdom Hearts is not a lack of new ideas but that almost all of them are awful, and that's before you even consider the script.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the DS / PSP games.
    Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in theThis is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in the future and this is a great entry in my favorite series of all time!! Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    The gameplay is great. I recommend using the Circle Pad Pro to have a better experience.

    Skills and magic are used with a recharge system
    The gameplay is great. I recommend using the Circle Pad Pro to have a better experience.

    Skills and magic are used with a recharge system instead of MP. Your partners in battle are monsters that you create with recipe, which I found strange at first but later on I enjoyed. It's easier to fight than the previous titles. You have to clear every world twice because you have to play with two different characters using the Drop system.
    Choosing a specific command it's complicated because you don't have the full command list on the screen, just a single line. You need to press up or down to go to next item on the list. So you can't choose the command that you want fast. You don't need to grind to beat the game, and I recommend that so you can have a good challenge.

    The story is a little confusing but it's not something critical. And just like the previous titles, the soundtrack is awesome. Unfortunately, they repeated some worlds but not the monsters. When I get a new KH to play I always expect to see new areas and characters.

    If you're fan of the series don't hesitate: you will enjoy this game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game.First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game. This IS the best game I have on my 3DS. I highly recommend that you get it. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like as well as dislike this game, for a variety of reasons. Like-Graphics, unique locations, music, items to prevent drop, difficulty of boss battles Dislike- no exp from hidden boss?, cliff hanger ending, dropping without realization, limited number of key blades, concept of forming a keyblade (at end). For the amount of time you can play this game for, Overall, 8/10 Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    This entry to the Kingdom Hearts series introduces th new features - the Drop system and the Spirit raising. The drop system is flawed.This entry to the Kingdom Hearts series introduces th new features - the Drop system and the Spirit raising. The drop system is flawed. Basically Sora and Riku each have a time limit. When the time ends, you are forced to switch. There are items that prolong the time you have, but it gets pretty frustrating when you're in the middle of a boss battle and are forced to switch. Spirit raising is a nice little side quest that added a few more hours to my time spent on this game and had more depth then I initially thought. The creatures are varied and it works a little like Pokémon crossed with Nintendogs. Depending on how your spirits are raised, they can use different attacks to aid you in battle. There's also a mini game where three of your spirits battle with three other spirits using a system where you flick out cards to give them orders.

    In terms of the story and the main game-play, this game is definitely not for newcomers to the series. I had previously only played Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2 and the storyline really confused me at first. However, there's an explanation of the story for each other game in the series that you can unlock. Another thing is that I felt that the game at the start did a bad job of explaining the command system, and I think it should have broken it down a bit. Controls though are pretty solid. Presentation, graphics and sound is outstanding as usual for Square. A good choice for Disney franchises represented in each world (except for Tron Legacy).

    To sum it up, if you are a fan of the series, you'll love this. However newbies should play other games in the series first, and the drop system really needs work.
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    2
    Buying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 andBuying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of the stupidest ideas I've ever seen in a videogame. The music, however, is amazing. I like it's dedication to old style rpg music. I'll never buy another kingdom hearts. Collapse

See all 53 User Reviews