Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 218 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With a colorful cast of characters appearing in the Disney worlds in 3D, players can delve into a lifelike story and world in KINGDOM HEARTS 3D (tentative title). Get to better know all the familiar and beloved characters through this title.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    95
    Kingdom Hearts 3D is the pinnacle of the Kingdom Hearts portable formula, unifying everything that the series did right in the format and many new, smart ideas.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    90
    Whether or not you're a fan of Nintendo's latest handheld console, if you love Kingdom Hearts, this is a must-have title that's filled with fantastic gameplay, an intriguing story, and beautiful visuals.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    85
    We are still puzzled by a few gameplay and plot choices but Kingdom Hearts 3D is a surprisingly strong entry in the long living franchise with its excellent depth and technical achievements.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Kingdom Hearts continues to innovate in the RPG genre ten years on from the original release with [Dream Drop Distance], a generous and exciting addition to the series.
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    75
    Graphically the game looks to be on par with the PS2 titles, but what makes DDD shine above the rest is the 3D.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    Yes, some things work better than others, but you'll learn to deal with the game's quirks in exchange for that old Disney magic, though if you're a big Kingdom Hearts fanatic, Square Enix already had your support.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    The problem with the latest Kingdom Hearts is not a lack of new ideas but that almost all of them are awful, and that's before you even consider the script.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53
  1. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the DS / PSP games.
    Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in theThis is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in the future and this is a great entry in my favorite series of all time!! Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    The gameplay is great. I recommend using the Circle Pad Pro to have a better experience.

    Skills and magic are used with a recharge system
    The gameplay is great. I recommend using the Circle Pad Pro to have a better experience.

    Skills and magic are used with a recharge system instead of MP. Your partners in battle are monsters that you create with recipe, which I found strange at first but later on I enjoyed. It's easier to fight than the previous titles. You have to clear every world twice because you have to play with two different characters using the Drop system.
    Choosing a specific command it's complicated because you don't have the full command list on the screen, just a single line. You need to press up or down to go to next item on the list. So you can't choose the command that you want fast. You don't need to grind to beat the game, and I recommend that so you can have a good challenge.

    The story is a little confusing but it's not something critical. And just like the previous titles, the soundtrack is awesome. Unfortunately, they repeated some worlds but not the monsters. When I get a new KH to play I always expect to see new areas and characters.

    If you're fan of the series don't hesitate: you will enjoy this game.
    Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game.First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game. This IS the best game I have on my 3DS. I highly recommend that you get it. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like as well as dislike this game, for a variety of reasons. Like-Graphics, unique locations, music, items to prevent drop, difficulty of boss battles Dislike- no exp from hidden boss?, cliff hanger ending, dropping without realization, limited number of key blades, concept of forming a keyblade (at end). For the amount of time you can play this game for, Overall, 8/10 Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    Before beginning this review, I think it's important to mention that I've never played a Kingdom Hearts game before. I saw a review for thisBefore beginning this review, I think it's important to mention that I've never played a Kingdom Hearts game before. I saw a review for this one, looked like fun, so I picked it up. And it IS fun! The battles are fluid and pretty, the spirits you create add an entertaining element to the mix, and the music is wonderful. But after 20 hours of play, the fact that this is my only KH game ever seems to be seriously affecting my enjoyment. The plot is...messy...for a beginner. Cryptic characters appear, deliver a line or two, and vanish. I'm given a 1000-word help document that I can read to sum up an entire game I missed so I can appreciate this character's appearance. And the dialogue goes on and on and on...I can't tell what's actually important and what's just fan-service. Speaking of plot, I can't help but notice how much of it is dialogue recycled almost 100% from other games/movies with a few discussions about hearts and friendship sprinkled in for good measure. I guess what I'm saying is as a GAME it's quite fun; as a STORY it's boring and frustrating. But since I bought this game instead of a book, I can rate it higher than average. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    2
    Buying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 andBuying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of the stupidest ideas I've ever seen in a videogame. The music, however, is amazing. I like it's dedication to old style rpg music. I'll never buy another kingdom hearts. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews