Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With a colorful cast of characters appearing in the Disney worlds in 3D, players can delve into a lifelike story and world in KINGDOM HEARTS 3D (tentative title). Get to better know all the familiar and beloved characters through this title.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    95
    Kingdom Hearts 3D is the pinnacle of the Kingdom Hearts portable formula, unifying everything that the series did right in the format and many new, smart ideas.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    90
    Whether or not you're a fan of Nintendo's latest handheld console, if you love Kingdom Hearts, this is a must-have title that's filled with fantastic gameplay, an intriguing story, and beautiful visuals.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    85
    We are still puzzled by a few gameplay and plot choices but Kingdom Hearts 3D is a surprisingly strong entry in the long living franchise with its excellent depth and technical achievements.
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Kingdom Hearts continues to innovate in the RPG genre ten years on from the original release with [Dream Drop Distance], a generous and exciting addition to the series.
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    75
    Graphically the game looks to be on par with the PS2 titles, but what makes DDD shine above the rest is the 3D.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    Yes, some things work better than others, but you'll learn to deal with the game's quirks in exchange for that old Disney magic, though if you're a big Kingdom Hearts fanatic, Square Enix already had your support.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    The problem with the latest Kingdom Hearts is not a lack of new ideas but that almost all of them are awful, and that's before you even consider the script.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 56
  2. Negative: 4 out of 56
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in theThis is the best 3DS game and the only reason i bought one. buy this game and stop complaining that its not KH3, cause it will come in the future and this is a great entry in my favorite series of all time!! Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the
    Best 3DS game to date...
    Storyline a little bit predicted but doesn't fall behind the KH PS games.
    A must for KH fans who havn't played the DS / PSP games.
    Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game.First of all, this was a very good game! The game play was very good and it probably had some of the best graphics and sound on a 3DS game. This IS the best game I have on my 3DS. I highly recommend that you get it. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    Kingdom Hearts is a rare gem in video games. The series has largely spread to every gamer's Playstation 2, PSP, DS, and now 3DS. Not only hasKingdom Hearts is a rare gem in video games. The series has largely spread to every gamer's Playstation 2, PSP, DS, and now 3DS. Not only has it spread through video games its has also become common in pop culture. It is difficult to not see a Kingdom Hearts shirt in Hot Topic these days. Many popular games eventually stumble and somewhere along their series where one game may not be as good as the rest. However, I am happy to say Dream Drop Distance is not one of those games. In fact, it improves many things. It is nice to finally see the move system from Birth By Sleep finally make its way to the Nintendo handhelds as well. Not only did the controls improve, the story has as well. Dream Drop Distance finally continues the story leading up to Kingdom Hearts 3, which from the ending, I am sure will be one of the best in the series. Dream Eaters are a different pace from the usual heartless and your dream eater companions are just as effective as Goofy or Donald were in the past Kingdom Hearts. Flow Motion is a step up as well which allows you to interact with the environment and attack enemies. The only complaints about this game is the constant dropping system. Dropping will force you to switch in between Sora and Riku and it will abruptly stop you in the middle of any fight including boss battles. If you happen to drop during a boss battle then you will be forced to retry the battle from the beginning. Another thing about Dream Drop Distance is the fact that the game is just a bit too short. With only several worlds that take about an hour total with both Riku and Sora you are only looking at about an 8 to 9 hour experience.
    Overall, Dream Drop Distance is an amazing game that even the newest members of the Kingdom Hearts franchise will enjoy. Although the game may have some annoying issues like dropping or how short it is, it easily makes up for everything it does right.
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    Have you been waiting for a good action RPG for the 3ds? if so this "may" be your game. The graphics are what you would expect from squareHave you been waiting for a good action RPG for the 3ds? if so this "may" be your game. The graphics are what you would expect from square nice and clean with fantastic cut scenes. Voice acting is for the most part solid but there are times where it can be hit or miss. The combat system is very responsive and mostly did what i wanted it to do sometimes i would attack nothing and get frustrated. The biggest flaw I would say would be the camera. I played without the Circle pad pro i don't know if this improves the camera at all i would say probably so. In summary it is not without its flaws but it is for sure a game you need to own if you are KH fan or if you did a little research on the story thus far you would be fine allbeit just as confused as KH vets because the story will become confusing. And a one last note about the "drop" system was annoying at first but you could always drop back to the Sora or Riku if it were something crucial you needed to do. In the end not perfect but 3ds owners should not overlook this game. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    Kh:3d is another spin off in the Kingdom Hearts franchise, this time for the nintendo 3ds. Why square enix keeps changing consoles is beyondKh:3d is another spin off in the Kingdom Hearts franchise, this time for the nintendo 3ds. Why square enix keeps changing consoles is beyond me, if you want to play every game you need to buy at least one home console and three handled, 4 consoles in the course of 10 years, with only TWO main entry. This particular game has been marketed as a kingdom hearts 3 in all but the name with an emphasis on completely new disney worlds and completely new enemies. Main problem is that this game feels unnecessary, seriosly, I thought that the plot started only in the very last world, the 7 worlds before that felt like a padding where nothing happens. In other installments I thought that the disney world were somehow linked to the main plot, or helped develop character arcs. Here instead it goes like this:"hi I am a stranger, now we're instantly friends! I believe in you! The power of friendship will save the day!". This is overused to the point of not being taken seriously at all. When the plot really starts (again in the very last world) we're bombarded with details that you won't be able to track all at once, you'll go to wikipedia to try to understand what happened. If you pretend that this game has no plot (and it won't be hard to do it), you will be amazed by how well designed are the environments, I personally hate linearity so complicated levels=win. Battle system sees the addition of two elements:flow motion and dream eaters. The former is a way to move faster from point A to B, using contestual commands to inflict damage, the latter is a pokemon-like way of having companions, replacing Donald and Goofy. Managing and developing the dream eater is a game within a game and usually it will require making interactions using the touch screen. Each monster has its own abilities, and can grant the player new upgrades, boosts or skills. Did I say THE player? I should have said the the TWO players: in this game you control both Sora and Riku, not at the same time but skipping from one to the other.
    How the "skip" works can and most of the time will be frustrating, each session with Sora or Riku has a timer, once it reaches zero you suddendly fall asleep and pass the control to the other character. It can be annoying if it happens during the looooong boss fights. Speaking of boss fights, some how enix forgot they were developing for an handeld, so sometimes it will be frustrating die battling the third form of a boss, then starting from the beginning of the battle. The very last part of the game, it has lots of cutscenes, a multi part boss fight, but no "save function" in between, and no "restart when you died" feature, so you would restart from scratch, swearing a lot during the process. In the end should I reccomend this game? Of course I will, you bought it the minute it hit shelves and got a 3ds just to play it. Does it feel necessary? Yes. Does it feel like a good game? Yes, the dream eater managing is so deep and complex that you will find the need to catch'em all ( no pun intended). forget about the story, it stopped making sense halfway through kingdom hearts 2 so play it for the gameplay alone :)
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    2
    Buying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 andBuying this was my fault. I simply forgot how much I hate the gameplay of Kingdom Hearts. I actually bought the strategy guide for kh 2 and was determined to get deep into the game, only to regret it forever 10 hours later. The ambiguous nature of the game play and goels and literally constant enemies make this game a total waste of $40. And the 'drop' system will go down as one of the stupidest ideas I've ever seen in a videogame. The music, however, is amazing. I like it's dedication to old style rpg music. I'll never buy another kingdom hearts. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings