Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    Not without its faults, The Chase Begins is a worthy addition to the Nintendo 3DS roster.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    80
    People are going to buy it, and they're going to enjoy it.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    75
    All in all, this still remains a far better effort for the LEGO titles than what we’ve seen on 3DS, or any handheld before. Clearly building the game from the ground up with a unique scenario is the way to go.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    There are some technical issues, but the game manages to be fun and entertaining, and offers loads of content to keep us playing for a long while.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    It's basically a smaller version of the Wii U game, and that's about it. You're going to love it if it's your first time around LEGO City, but you might end up with a whole lot of deja-vu if you already played the previous adventure of Chase McCain.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Wow this game is so awesome. It is portable lego on the go. I really recommend you to buy this game. GOTY 2013 for me. I've already played itWow this game is so awesome. It is portable lego on the go. I really recommend you to buy this game. GOTY 2013 for me. I've already played it for like 12 hours and wow and I'm not even close to bored Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This game is very well done. It ambitiously attempts to recreate the large open-world experience which was seen in the Wii U game and does soThis game is very well done. It ambitiously attempts to recreate the large open-world experience which was seen in the Wii U game and does so quite well. I do have a few complaints about the game however. The loading screens; they are few and far apart but when you do get them, they take entirely too long. The combat; all the combat is in this game is "press X to win" which I am not a fan of although I realize one of this game's primary demographics is children, so I can't get too upset about that. The vehicle controls; the vehicles in this game are rather wild, difficult to handle, and turn too abruptly which takes a while to adapt to. And finally, the disappointing lack of voice acting; The voice acting in the cut scenes of the game is very well done, but throughout the other 98% of the game when the characters are communicating there is only on-screen text and no voice which leaves the character interaction feeling somewhat empty. Other than those minor problems, Lego City Undercover: The Chase Begins is a solid, extremely entertaining game if you are looking for some light-hearted humorous game time. Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Game play is fantastic. Sandbox world is on par with LEGO Batman 2: DC super heroes. Missions and driving vehicles is kid friendly and fun. MyGame play is fantastic. Sandbox world is on par with LEGO Batman 2: DC super heroes. Missions and driving vehicles is kid friendly and fun. My only complaint is the circle pad response feels a little slow when moving character around. Overall a solid release from TT Games. Full Review »