User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 51
  2. Negative: 14 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Wow this game is so awesome. It is portable lego on the go. I really recommend you to buy this game. GOTY 2013 for me. I've already played it for like 12 hours and wow and I'm not even close to bored
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This game is very well done. It ambitiously attempts to recreate the large open-world experience which was seen in the Wii U game and does so quite well. I do have a few complaints about the game however. The loading screens; they are few and far apart but when you do get them, they take entirely too long. The combat; all the combat is in this game is "press X to win" which I am not a fan of although I realize one of this game's primary demographics is children, so I can't get too upset about that. The vehicle controls; the vehicles in this game are rather wild, difficult to handle, and turn too abruptly which takes a while to adapt to. And finally, the disappointing lack of voice acting; The voice acting in the cut scenes of the game is very well done, but throughout the other 98% of the game when the characters are communicating there is only on-screen text and no voice which leaves the character interaction feeling somewhat empty. Other than those minor problems, Lego City Undercover: The Chase Begins is a solid, extremely entertaining game if you are looking for some light-hearted humorous game time. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Game play is fantastic. Sandbox world is on par with LEGO Batman 2: DC super heroes. Missions and driving vehicles is kid friendly and fun. My only complaint is the circle pad response feels a little slow when moving character around. Overall a solid release from TT Games.
  4. May 3, 2013
    9
    Okay so the draw distance isn't that great and most dialogue is in text, but the game is fun. I have the wii u version and while that game is indeed better I ask this, what do you expect? This game has a lot of charm and fun to be had if you can get over its minor shortcomings. Plus it was released at a cheaper price than most other 3ds games when first released, although I don't know why because IMO it would have been a worthy purchase even at full price. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    Once again the 3DS gets yet another mediocre Lego game. Granted no one expects it to be the same as the Wii U version but the 3DS can do better than this shallow game. This game has a lot of fog much like the N64 games but its over 15 years late and such technical issues should have been dealt with.
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. es un buen juego de lego en todo toma aspectos de grand theft auto y muchos de su versión de wii u la historia me gusto pero lo que degrada al juego son sus tiempos de carga despues no hay voces y videos son pocos aparte de que ambienta ser para niños un poco luego fácilmente ganas pero tambien es para otras personas desde luego Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    The Chase Begins makes an effort of being like the Lego City game for the Wii U. Sadly it is quite obvious that the 3DS can’t realise the LEGO universe as well. The city is in itself nice but empty and desolate. Discovering secrets is still as fun as always but the lack of personality and humour halts the Lego games otherwise great sense of immersion.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    There's plenty to do in LEGO City Undercover: The Chase Begins, but a lot of it feels like padding for a somewhat disappointing story that will really only appeal to kids.
  3. May 30, 2013
    65
    While technically impressive that so much can be done on the 3DS, Chase Begins covers familiar territory far too soon, the missing touches from the Wii U glaringly obvious.