User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 64
  2. Negative: 16 out of 64
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Game play is fantastic. Sandbox world is on par with LEGO Batman 2: DC super heroes. Missions and driving vehicles is kid friendly and fun. My only complaint is the circle pad response feels a little slow when moving character around. Overall a solid release from TT Games.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Wow this game is so awesome. It is portable lego on the go. I really recommend you to buy this game. GOTY 2013 for me. I've already played it for like 12 hours and wow and I'm not even close to bored
  3. May 3, 2013
    9
    Okay so the draw distance isn't that great and most dialogue is in text, but the game is fun. I have the wii u version and while that game is indeed better I ask this, what do you expect? This game has a lot of charm and fun to be had if you can get over its minor shortcomings. Plus it was released at a cheaper price than most other 3ds games when first released, although I don't know whyOkay so the draw distance isn't that great and most dialogue is in text, but the game is fun. I have the wii u version and while that game is indeed better I ask this, what do you expect? This game has a lot of charm and fun to be had if you can get over its minor shortcomings. Plus it was released at a cheaper price than most other 3ds games when first released, although I don't know why because IMO it would have been a worthy purchase even at full price. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. es un buen juego de lego en todo toma aspectos de grand theft auto y muchos de su versión de wii u la historia me gusto pero lo que degrada al juego son sus tiempos de carga despues no hay voces y videos son pocos aparte de que ambienta ser para niños un poco luego fácilmente ganas pero tambien es para otras personas desde luego Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lego City is a nice game in terms of what you get to do as a player, but the game has fatal flaws. The missions are too straight forward and easy to complete with no real puzzle or challenge, meaning- anyone can complete the game within a few days if they really wanted to. Combat with the criminals is lacking, you can easily overpower them while other oncoming criminals don't bother to attack unless you are not currently fighting anyone. Also, vehicle control is very fast-paced and difficult, leading to frequent crashes. Unlockables are too easy to obtain- some merely "hidden" on top of buildings or in a random box that you would destroy to get coins. I am not a fan of on-screen text with no voice because it is easy to miss the conversations of characters. Lastly, the loading time is ridiculously long and boring. Though it gives tips on game play, after a few loading screens, you won't need any more tips, and then you just wait. Overall, I find LEGO City Undercover as an intriguing game, with some downsides that limit a fun game play experience. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2016
    8
    This game was pretty good under any standards. It's like playing a Lego kid friendly GTA game. There is so many game mechanics for each of your character disguises, they probably needed to add not as much mechanics. 8/10.
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    The Chase Begins makes an effort of being like the Lego City game for the Wii U. Sadly it is quite obvious that the 3DS can’t realise the LEGO universe as well. The city is in itself nice but empty and desolate. Discovering secrets is still as fun as always but the lack of personality and humour halts the Lego games otherwise great sense of immersion.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    There's plenty to do in LEGO City Undercover: The Chase Begins, but a lot of it feels like padding for a somewhat disappointing story that will really only appeal to kids.
  3. May 30, 2013
    65
    While technically impressive that so much can be done on the 3DS, Chase Begins covers familiar territory far too soon, the missing touches from the Wii U glaringly obvious.