Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO City Stories is an open world game for the Wii U and 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    Not without its faults, The Chase Begins is a worthy addition to the Nintendo 3DS roster.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    It's basically a smaller version of the Wii U game, and that's about it. You're going to love it if it's your first time around LEGO City, but you might end up with a whole lot of deja-vu if you already played the previous adventure of Chase McCain.
  3. May 1, 2013
    70
    The Chase Begins might have too many imperfections to be the standout masterwork its console big brother was, and given the choice, you should play that one rather than this one. But it’s still worth picking up and playing, especially if you love Lego, have younger children who need something to keep them busy in the car, or generally lean towards cute rather than blood-soaked.
  4. May 1, 2013
    65
    LEGO City Undercover: The Chase Begins is an overly ambitious game that isn't as good as the home console edition.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    While I appreciate the effort to put the open world of Lego City on the handheld, the technical and above all the gameplay reductions make me doubt that there is space for open worlds on mobile systems.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    55
    If you're a diehard LEGO fan, odds are you'll get some form of enjoyment out of The Chase Begins. For everyone else, you're better off skipping it entirely, or picking up the superior Wii U version of the game. It's one thing to pare down an experience on a portable: it's another to sacrifice its integrity in the process.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    30
    The Wii U game was just a few flaws short of a minor classic, but this joyless companion piece is only a couple more problems shy of a complete disaster.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Wow this game is so awesome. It is portable lego on the go. I really recommend you to buy this game. GOTY 2013 for me. I've already played it for like 12 hours and wow and I'm not even close to bored Expand
  2. May 3, 2013
    9
    Okay so the draw distance isn't that great and most dialogue is in text, but the game is fun. I have the wii u version and while that game is indeed better I ask this, what do you expect? This game has a lot of charm and fun to be had if you can get over its minor shortcomings. Plus it was released at a cheaper price than most other 3ds games when first released, although I don't know why because IMO it would have been a worthy purchase even at full price. Collapse
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Game play is fantastic. Sandbox world is on par with LEGO Batman 2: DC super heroes. Missions and driving vehicles is kid friendly and fun. My only complaint is the circle pad response feels a little slow when moving character around. Overall a solid release from TT Games. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. es un buen juego de lego en todo toma aspectos de grand theft auto y muchos de su versión de wii u la historia me gusto pero lo que degrada al juego son sus tiempos de carga despues no hay voces y videos son pocos aparte de que ambienta ser para niños un poco luego fácilmente ganas pero tambien es para otras personas desde luego Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lego City is a nice game in terms of what you get to do as a player, but the game has fatal flaws. The missions are too straight forward and easy to complete with no real puzzle or challenge, meaning- anyone can complete the game within a few days if they really wanted to. Combat with the criminals is lacking, you can easily overpower them while other oncoming criminals don't bother to attack unless you are not currently fighting anyone. Also, vehicle control is very fast-paced and difficult, leading to frequent crashes. Unlockables are too easy to obtain- some merely "hidden" on top of buildings or in a random box that you would destroy to get coins. I am not a fan of on-screen text with no voice because it is easy to miss the conversations of characters. Lastly, the loading time is ridiculously long and boring. Though it gives tips on game play, after a few loading screens, you won't need any more tips, and then you just wait. Overall, I find LEGO City Undercover as an intriguing game, with some downsides that limit a fun game play experience. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    This game is very well done. It ambitiously attempts to recreate the large open-world experience which was seen in the Wii U game and does so quite well. I do have a few complaints about the game however. The loading screens; they are few and far apart but when you do get them, they take entirely too long. The combat; all the combat is in this game is "press X to win" which I am not a fan of although I realize one of this game's primary demographics is children, so I can't get too upset about that. The vehicle controls; the vehicles in this game are rather wild, difficult to handle, and turn too abruptly which takes a while to adapt to. And finally, the disappointing lack of voice acting; The voice acting in the cut scenes of the game is very well done, but throughout the other 98% of the game when the characters are communicating there is only on-screen text and no voice which leaves the character interaction feeling somewhat empty. Other than those minor problems, Lego City Undercover: The Chase Begins is a solid, extremely entertaining game if you are looking for some light-hearted humorous game time. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    Once again the 3DS gets yet another mediocre Lego game. Granted no one expects it to be the same as the Wii U version but the 3DS can do better than this shallow game. This game has a lot of fog much like the N64 games but its over 15 years late and such technical issues should have been dealt with. Expand