Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Luigi's Mansion 2" in the UK/EU) Luigi is back on a mission to remove a bunch of stubborn ghosts from some spooky mansions. Armed with his trusty Poltergust ghost-sucking vacuum cleaner, Mario's brother takes center stage to capture these pesky phantoms.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    While the system has been blessed with multiple must-have Mario adventures, it's a delight to say there's now an essential one from his often overlooked sibling too.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    92
    Luigi's Mansion 2 is a fantastic adventure full of charm and personality, with gorgeous graphics and more than enjoyable mechanics. A control scheme that screams for the second analog stick and a somewhat disappointing last mission are the only minor drawbacks of a more-than-recommended purchase.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    90
    It's a fantastic little platformer that looks great, plays well, doesn't talk down to you and utilizes the strengths of the system to their full effect. This is a game that really "gets" the essence of the 3DS, and understands that a good 3DS game means so much more than just using the 3D effect.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    With Luigi's Mansion 2 Nintendo adds a brilliant game to the 3DS. Luigi got through the first part with the vacuum cleaner well and delivered a good second part.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    85
    The mission system may be something some players will dislike, compared to the freedom of the original. However, it has many hours of gameplay to offer, and the new multiplayer mode is a great addition that will make us forget about that.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    A charming, entertaining romp with bucket-loads of character. Luigi's back in action! [May 2013, p.79]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    65
    A mostly pleasant game marred by the possibility of moments so frustrating, they threaten to overshadow the entire experience. These missteps are all the more disappointing because the better elements of the game are so charming. You may still want to take up the PolterGust 5000 and explore these haunted houses, but be warned: the things lurking in these dark places aren't likely to scare you, but they may well have you seeing red.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 82
  2. Negative: 3 out of 82
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to
    our 3DS's ever since. They're just trying the multiplayer right now and are having a blast. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is excellent. One of the best 3DS Games to date. The gameplay is fun and challenging. Capturing all the boos, 3-starring every level and getting all the gems was very difficult. The puzzle were very challenging and satisfying when you finally figured them out.

    My only minor problems were that i wish there were more ghosts like the Portrait Ghosts in the original. The only ghosts like those were the Polterpup and the Three Sisters, and that there wasn't a mode where you could just explore the entire mansion outside of a mission, but the last level of each mansion does that well, so it's not a big deal.

    If you were having second thoughts about this game, don't. Definitely pick it up!
    Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    I am a huge Nintendo fan and one of my favorite Nintendo franchises is Luigi's Mansion. The gameplay is more fast paced than the previous Luigi's Mansion and the new features are fantastic. The game is very entertaining and the cut scenes are hilarious. The 3d effect in this game is the best I have ever seen on the 3ds. With the very fun story mode and online/local multiplayer this game should keep you entertained for a long time. This game is worth buying a 3ds for. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Before I start giving this game the praise it deserves, I feel like I need to mention why Luigi, by far is a better character than Mario will ever be.

    Just two reasons:

    1. He has his flaws.
    2. He has personality.

    Mario has no personality whatsoever. When I see Luigi get scared to death by ghosts and other stuff he finds scary, it still amuses me even though it's been more than 10 years since that was introduced in the original Luigi's Mansion. Mario, however, never expresses any emotion at all and is a really boring protagonist in my opinion. It's fun to see how in this year, 2013, Luigi is finally getting the praise he deserves for being an actual character.

    Anyways, enough of that. Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a fine game. An amazing improvement over the original. It's fun, fresh and I can't stress enough how much I like that this game has more than just one mansion to explore.

    One thing I don't really like about this game is the controls. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong but when I have my flashlight fully charged, I can't turn around correctly. It's annoying and a pain in the butt. There's also minor framerate issues in this game. Like I said: minor. It has some slowdown every now and then but it's not big deal at all, because most of the time it'll only last a second, and you'll barely even notice it. Or at least I didn't.

    Anyways, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a very nice game overall and I can already tell while I haven't even completed the first mansion yet. The atmosphere in some places is so great, and it really makes you feel like you're actually there. I really reccommend Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon, even to those who haven't played the first game.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    One of the most charming 3ds games I've played so far. The story is hilarious yet intriguing, the mechanics are different as well as the style of stages, the puzzles are mildly challenging and very fun and there is plenty for hardcore gamers to enjoy for 100 percentage. The only complaint I have is the motion controls, which I find very unnecessary and hard to use. For example , if I'm trying to cross a pit on a narrow platform, I'll have to use motion controls that make no sense, and I end up falling about five times every time. Overall, though, a fun and exciting that's guaranteeing enjoyment for all ages. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    8

    Nintendo claims 2013 is the year of Luigi, that’s a bold statement to make for the third wheel of Nintendo’s power couple. The first phase of this themed year is the new game in the Luigi’s Mansion series. I have to admit I have never played Luigi’s Mansion on the Gamecube so I came into this game with no bearing on what I was going to experience and no real expectations. I can happily say that Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon impressed me and is another great title in the 3DS lineup.



    The best way I can describe this game would be a mashup between a Zelda dungeon and a 3D Mario platforming level, it borrows ideas from both but is still quite unique. One of the high points of the game is the presentation value, the characters are animated smoothly and audio is spot on.



    Story: This is a Nintendo game so story is obviously not the selling point. Luigi is once again back as a reluctant ghostbuster after Professor E. Gadd (Ha, I get it) has found that the dark moon has been shattered and the pieces stolen causing all the surrounding ghosts to become hostile. This leads Luigi through five different haunted locales to collect the pieces of the dark moon and pacify the ghosts. It suffers from the overused “something has broken and you have to collect the pieces” idea that is a staple in a vast majority of Nintendo games but gets the job done.



    Gameplay: The overall mechanics of the game are simple. Once Luigi is in one of the levels he has to solve puzzles and catch ghosts. Catching the ghosts could best be describe as a fishing minigame, using the Poltergust 5000 you suck them into the vacuum on your back. The Poltergust is also upgradable to make it more powerful which adds some depth to the game.



    The second function of the Poltergust is a special rainbow light that can expose hidden objects in the levels. These two functions combine to be the main way to solve the games many puzzles. I found the haunted houses played out like a dungeon in a Zelda game, as you progress you get keys to open up new area’s. It is rewarding and fun.



    One problem with the gameplay I had was in the way Luigi crosses beams, it uses the systems gyroscope to balance while crossing (Similar to Uncharted: Drake Fortune). It was way too sensitive leading to a lot of needless falls. I see this mechanic in several games and I never get it, it’s not fun and if you're playing with the 3D on then tilting the system causes the screen to be out of focus.



    The boss fights in this game are a treat, they are all very clever and well designed and most importantly are fun to play. Utilizing the environments and figuring out how to cause damage was super fun, I can honestly say these are some of the best, most imaginative boss fights I have played in years.

    Apart from the levels objectives there are optional collectibles to find. Each level contains hidden gems and a hidden Boo.The levels are broken into 10-20 minute segments that fit the handheld experience great. The overall challenge is fun but there are times where checkpoints would have been appreciated.



    Graphics: This is one of the best looking games on the 3DS. The character models are great and the detail in the movement and animation is stellar. Luigi is brought to life in this game in a way that is rare for Nintendo, he has a vaudevillian way of interacting with the game's environments that was always entertaining. Lighting and shadow effects were also fantastic to create the moody environments.

    The level design could have had a bit more variety but that is a small complaint considering they are essentially all haunted houses.

    Overall: I really enjoyed Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon, The game is fun and engaging with great puzzles and some of the best boss fights I have played in recent memory. It’s good to see Luigi get some respect and fans of the Mushroom Kingdom will have a small treat at the end of the game that is a long time coming for Luigi. if you have a 3DS and are looking for a fun 12-15 hour experience then look no further than Luigi’s Mansion.



    8.0/10

    Expand

  7. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    This game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion at once. Also, you're constantly interrupted by message from the Professor telling you what to do. Even when you replay a mission, there's still the same constant interruptions that you've already heard. The mansion bosses are kinda all over the place in terms of fun and difficulty. There's upgrades you can get for Luigi, but they're all in a fixed order, and you get all of them pretty early on.

    Really, the biggest thing to me is that the replay value of the game is killed because there's always stuff in your way preventing you from just exploring a whole mansion at once, and there's always dumb messages from E. Gad that you can't skip over, telling you the same things you already know.
    Expand

See all 82 User Reviews