Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon 3DS

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Luigi's Mansion 2" in the UK/EU) Luigi is back on a mission to remove a bunch of stubborn ghosts from some spooky mansions. Armed with his trusty Poltergust ghost-sucking vacuum cleaner, Mario's brother takes center stage to capture these pesky phantoms.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    While the system has been blessed with multiple must-have Mario adventures, it's a delight to say there's now an essential one from his often overlooked sibling too.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    92
    Luigi's Mansion 2 is a fantastic adventure full of charm and personality, with gorgeous graphics and more than enjoyable mechanics. A control scheme that screams for the second analog stick and a somewhat disappointing last mission are the only minor drawbacks of a more-than-recommended purchase.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    90
    It's a fantastic little platformer that looks great, plays well, doesn't talk down to you and utilizes the strengths of the system to their full effect. This is a game that really "gets" the essence of the 3DS, and understands that a good 3DS game means so much more than just using the 3D effect.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    With Luigi's Mansion 2 Nintendo adds a brilliant game to the 3DS. Luigi got through the first part with the vacuum cleaner well and delivered a good second part.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    85
    The mission system may be something some players will dislike, compared to the freedom of the original. However, it has many hours of gameplay to offer, and the new multiplayer mode is a great addition that will make us forget about that.
  6. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2013
    80
    A charming, entertaining romp with bucket-loads of character. Luigi's back in action! [May 2013, p.79]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    65
    A mostly pleasant game marred by the possibility of moments so frustrating, they threaten to overshadow the entire experience. These missteps are all the more disappointing because the better elements of the game are so charming. You may still want to take up the PolterGust 5000 and explore these haunted houses, but be warned: the things lurking in these dark places aren't likely to scare you, but they may well have you seeing red.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 102
  2. Negative: 1 out of 102
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to our 3DS's ever since. They're just trying the multiplayer right now and are having a blast.
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This game is great, its fun you get to catch ghosts, new combo, new ghosts, NEW STORY. I have to say, I have no negatives about this game. YouThis game is great, its fun you get to catch ghosts, new combo, new ghosts, NEW STORY. I have to say, I have no negatives about this game. You could say its flawless. Well... there is one thing bothering me, but not with the game. The bother is the audience. (Call of duty age range 4-12) (Nintendo age range 11-49) See the difference here? That's the only thing bothering me. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Now I do not usually write reviews on games as my opinions might be hated by people. This is an exception as I LOVED the original game andNow I do not usually write reviews on games as my opinions might be hated by people. This is an exception as I LOVED the original game and needed to voice why I think this game is equal to/better than the original. Note: I also played the original A LOT. I beat the game 8 times and got the A mansion.

    Now, this review won't be divided into too many sections.

    GAMEPLAY:

    The gameplay is much more varied than the original game. To fight some ghosts you have to wait at a certain time before you flash them (not taking your clothes off) with the light or use the dark light device on the Boos to reveal where they are. The original was mostly turning your flashlight off then on when the ghost was in the path. The only part I did not like, but am starting to not mind too much, is that you cannot turn around with the light being charged. It is a minor annoyance.

    STORY:

    The story in this game is just as silly as the original (in a good way). The "Dark Moon" was destroyed by someone (will not say who) and the ghosts went crazy. Then you are called upon by Professor E. Gadd (he makes a return) to help fix the moon. The story is really good in this game.

    Those are the two categories I am going to touch on because that is mostly what I personally look for in a Nintendo game (gameplay more than story).
    Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    9
    One of the best 3DS games out there, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a fun and addictive sequel to the GameCube classic. As per usual in anyOne of the best 3DS games out there, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon is a fun and addictive sequel to the GameCube classic. As per usual in any Nintendo game, there is a lot of charm to spare, with the scaredy cat Luigi going after ghosts using his trusty Polter Gust. Luigi's Mansion though is by no means an easy game and demands the gamer to master its mechanics. Several sections are difficult to go through for Casuals because of...GASP.. a lack of checkpoints. But once you get the hang of the game's 'rules', you'll be having a blast...with enough original puzzles and situations that challenge all the skill set in your arsenal. A truly great game and another proof that whilst the 3DS is one of the best game system this year. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2016
    9
    Dark Moon is darker than the first Luigi's Mansion game. It doesn't mean that it's better though... for the Year of Luigi... and Mario &Dark Moon is darker than the first Luigi's Mansion game. It doesn't mean that it's better though... for the Year of Luigi... and Mario & Luigi: Dream Team... this one managed to show Luigi's lovable side to Nintendo and Mario fans. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Had a lot of potential but wasn't executed as well as I hoped. The gameplay, graphics, story, mansion design, characters, and collectibles areHad a lot of potential but wasn't executed as well as I hoped. The gameplay, graphics, story, mansion design, characters, and collectibles are all great. However, the structure of the game is just disappointing. Instead of having missions, where you exit the mansion constantly just to go back in moments later, they should've just allowed you to explore the mansion without forcing you to exit every time you complete an objective. Also, E. Gadd becomes very annoying, calling you every 5 seconds when you need to do something. It seems foolish to have you touch the screen to answer him, because if you don't answer him Luigi just stands around. I would've expected something like Luigi looking into the player and telling him to answer the phone or something, but no such thing happened. I appreciate the attempt to bring back Luigi's Mansion, and for the most part it was done expertly well, but the mission based structure ruined the game for me in a sense. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    This game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion atThis game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion at once. Also, you're constantly interrupted by message from the Professor telling you what to do. Even when you replay a mission, there's still the same constant interruptions that you've already heard. The mansion bosses are kinda all over the place in terms of fun and difficulty. There's upgrades you can get for Luigi, but they're all in a fixed order, and you get all of them pretty early on.

    Really, the biggest thing to me is that the replay value of the game is killed because there's always stuff in your way preventing you from just exploring a whole mansion at once, and there's always dumb messages from E. Gad that you can't skip over, telling you the same things you already know.
    Expand

See all 102 User Reviews