Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Luigi's Mansion 2" in the UK/EU) Luigi is back on a mission to remove a bunch of stubborn ghosts from some spooky mansions. Armed with his trusty Poltergust ghost-sucking vacuum cleaner, Mario's brother takes center stage to capture these pesky phantoms.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    100
    While the system has been blessed with multiple must-have Mario adventures, it's a delight to say there's now an essential one from his often overlooked sibling too.
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    92
    Luigi's Mansion 2 is a fantastic adventure full of charm and personality, with gorgeous graphics and more than enjoyable mechanics. A control scheme that screams for the second analog stick and a somewhat disappointing last mission are the only minor drawbacks of a more-than-recommended purchase.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    90
    It's a fantastic little platformer that looks great, plays well, doesn't talk down to you and utilizes the strengths of the system to their full effect. This is a game that really "gets" the essence of the 3DS, and understands that a good 3DS game means so much more than just using the 3D effect.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    With Luigi's Mansion 2 Nintendo adds a brilliant game to the 3DS. Luigi got through the first part with the vacuum cleaner well and delivered a good second part.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    85
    The mission system may be something some players will dislike, compared to the freedom of the original. However, it has many hours of gameplay to offer, and the new multiplayer mode is a great addition that will make us forget about that.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    A charming, entertaining romp with bucket-loads of character. Luigi's back in action! [May 2013, p.79]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    65
    A mostly pleasant game marred by the possibility of moments so frustrating, they threaten to overshadow the entire experience. These missteps are all the more disappointing because the better elements of the game are so charming. You may still want to take up the PolterGust 5000 and explore these haunted houses, but be warned: the things lurking in these dark places aren't likely to scare you, but they may well have you seeing red.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 84
  2. Negative: 3 out of 84
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Picked this up with my kid's this morning. They made me get up early and take them to BestBuy as soon as it opened.

    They've been glued to
    our 3DS's ever since. They're just trying the multiplayer right now and are having a blast. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The game is just awesome. I love th fact that it's not just one big mansion. Now we get to explore many of them with different environments, enemies, and puzzles. The fact that missions are not really long makes this game an excelent portable game.

    Visuals, sound effects, are just great. This game is a must buy.
    Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    10
    This is the first Luigi Mansion game I've played and I'm impressed. To be honest I bought it for the digital promotion. I never thought I'd like a platform game like the Luigi Mansion Dark Moon, not even after I tried 15 sec in Best Buy. However when I start from the beginning, when I know how to play, I was deeply attracted to the game. It's fun to play. It has the right amount of challenge, and it's suitable for handheld that you can stop after each quest. Depends on your skill, the quest can take long or short. This is what handheld games should be.

    The 3D effect is good too. All the details are polished. Don't miss this great game!
    Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    This game does a great job of showcasing what the handheld can do. Great graphics and the sounds is amazing when wearing headphones. Nintendo did a wonderful job on this game. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    One of the most charming 3ds games I've played so far. The story is hilarious yet intriguing, the mechanics are different as well as the style of stages, the puzzles are mildly challenging and very fun and there is plenty for hardcore gamers to enjoy for 100 percentage. The only complaint I have is the motion controls, which I find very unnecessary and hard to use. For example , if I'm trying to cross a pit on a narrow platform, I'll have to use motion controls that make no sense, and I end up falling about five times every time. Overall, though, a fun and exciting that's guaranteeing enjoyment for all ages. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    This is in ways better and not as good as the original. This one has the great 3d graphics, but in 2d not much is improved. The levels are missions rather than exploring the mansion, which makes it easier for younger players or for inexperienced players but worse for experts and drops some of the original game's charm. The multiplayer is good fun, and if you liked the original you'll (almost certainly) like this. Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    4
    This game is really fun... when you're actually able to play it. However, each mission only lets you explore a limited amount of a mansion at once. Also, you're constantly interrupted by message from the Professor telling you what to do. Even when you replay a mission, there's still the same constant interruptions that you've already heard. The mansion bosses are kinda all over the place in terms of fun and difficulty. There's upgrades you can get for Luigi, but they're all in a fixed order, and you get all of them pretty early on.

    Really, the biggest thing to me is that the replay value of the game is killed because there's always stuff in your way preventing you from just exploring a whole mansion at once, and there's always dumb messages from E. Gad that you can't skip over, telling you the same things you already know.
    Collapse

See all 84 User Reviews