User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    So many ways to die! Minis on the Move is somewhat different from mario vs donkey kong titles in that you must place tiles in a 3D environment using the touchscreen to create a path for the mini. It's a stressful, panicky, but incredibly fun game. The tiles come from the pipe, and if it fills up, you die. If you run out of time, you die. If you fall off, you die. There are also even more ways to die, but you never feel unfairly treated. Yes, the tiles coming into the pipe are randomised, but in such a way that must place them later on down your path. It's not chance, and it's always possible. Anyone who doesn't say so is a noob. There are four modes. Mario's Main Event is what I've just been talking about. Puzzle Palace has a calmer approach. All the tiles are already there, and are always the same. It's a lot less stressful but is actually a lot harder than Main Event. It's a mode where you have to think a lot before you start your mini. Then there is So Many Minis, in which several minis walk around at the same time, but instead of placing tiles, you move tiles around. The last mode is Giant Jungle. This is essentially Mario Main Event, but four times as big. It's incredibly challenging, so the three levels are all that are needed here. There are 183 levels alltpgether in Minis on the Move, each with three M-tokens to collect. The more you collect, the more minigames you unlock, but the minigames are boring, which lessens the insentive to get those tokens. It's a shame, but I can never bring myself to replay levels- I simply don't see the need. There are also not enough innovative ideas to keep you interested- all the items are from the 2D Mario vs DK games. So the fun wears out. Thankfully, there's create and share, where you can design your own levels and share them online. The sharing system is more practical than in Pullblox, but you can only create levels based on Mario's Main Event. Why not the other three modes? In conclusion, this is a good game lacking in enough new ideas to keep it fresh. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    Es un juego bastante entretenido que ha sido capaz atraparme durante bastante tiempo, no es lo mejor de Nintendo 3DS pero si es un juego que es muy recomendable tener y mas por solo USD 9.99. Tiene 4 modos de juego con una misma estructura pero se juegan de forma diferente y es un detalle que me gusto mucho, ya que quita la misma monotonía y aporta estrategias, lo único es que muchos niveles tienen una estructura muy lineal que no permite nuevas ideas o formas de finalizarlo. Pero en general es muy buen juego. Collapse
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    More minis, More challenges.

    This latest installment in the Mario series Vs.DK, has been one of the most largar deliveries taken the time I finished, the avriedad and strategy d epoenr your brain to place each piece in place and the challenges that will be put difernetes test your intelligence at the time of taking the minis to the finish, this jeugo shows several aspects such as
    minigames, creating different scenarios and overcoming challenges that anger during the game. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    9
    For fans of Crashmo and Pushmo who are on the fence about buying this, I will tell you this: I am having a more enjoyable time with Minis on the Move than I have ever had with Pushmo or Crashmo. And I absolutely loved both of those games.

    Minis on the Move succeeds where Pushmo and Crashmo failed, at least in the online department. You have the option to create and share your levels in
    both games, but in Pushmo and Crashmo you had to scan QR codes to give and receive levels, which made sharing them a very disconnected and inconvenient affair. Minis on the Move allows for a simple upload to an online database which takes about 5 seconds. there is even a popularity meter next to the level you created so you can gauge how many people are playing it, which I think adds to the replay value significantly.

    The minigames included in Minis on the Move aren't anything to write home about, but they're fun in short bursts, and they provide a decent diversion from the main game. They also provide incentive to collect the mario coins included in each level in the main game, which unlock additional modes and levels for these minigames.

    The main game is highly entertaining, but I will warn you, the difficulty does ramp up considerably after the 12th or 13th level, so only puzzle game enthusiasts should consider buying this. The difficulty is the main reason why there has been a generally mixed reaction to this game, but I assure you that the game itself is so engrossing and deep that you will hardly mind. In my opinion, the high difficulty only adds to the fun factor and replay value, so it's a plus.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    8
    Really fun game. The puzzles are plentiful and fun, and they can get very challenging. Extremely high replay value, especially with the puzzle creator. It's simple, but surprisingly deep, if that makes any sense. You can make and publish your own, and attempt to solve others'. The mini games are "meh", but they're pretty fun when you're in the mood. Very fun game, get it!
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    0
    Es un juego bastante entretenido que ha sido capaz atraparme durante bastante tiempo, no es lo mejor de Nintendo 3DS pero si es un juego que es muy recomendable tener y mas por solo USD 9.99. Tiene 4 modos de juego con una misma estructura pero se juegan de forma diferente y es un detalle que me gusto mucho, ya que quita la misma monotonía y aporta estrategias, lo único es que muchos niveles tienen una estructura muy lineal que no permite nuevas ideas o formas de finalizarlo. Pero en general es muy buen juego. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    A breezy, if surprisingly brutal, puzzler that puts full 3DS retail releases to shame. [Aug 2013, p.71]
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    90
    Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move is a fun, frantic puzzle game that I really enjoyed.
  3. How does NST keep Mario/DK feeling so fresh? Yet another clever and expansive puzzle game, if not exactly the most relaxing example of the genre.