Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move is a Nintendo eShop exclsuive that challenges players to place tiles on the bottom screen to guide the Mini Marios to their goal on the top screen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. May 9, 2013
    93
    Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move is a great game and excels in providing challenging and enjoyable puzzles
  2. May 8, 2013
    90
    The challenge level is spot-on and the individual stages are cleverly built. These are the hallmarks of great puzzle game design, and Minis on the Move demonstrates them handily.
  3. May 10, 2013
    85
    From a apparently simple mechanic, this game will evolve becoming something very addictive and challenging. The different modes and the ability to create and share levels will bring us many hours of fun.
  4. May 8, 2013
    80
    Taken for what it is, Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move is a cool title containing bite-sized content with portable gamers in mind. That said, we doubt you'll find much to dislike.
  5. May 19, 2013
    80
    Mario and Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move provides a ton of variety and a consistent level of challenge. It's a simple, accessible and entertaining puzzle game that combines Nintendo craftsmanship with a competitive price tag.
  6. May 10, 2013
    80
    A welcome change of style for the puzzle series, and although its influences are obvious this offers impressive value and variety for an eShop download.
  7. May 8, 2013
    50
    As a whole, Minis on the Move feels like a bit like a bait and switch, ensnaring gamers familiar with the franchise's established gameplay, only to deliver something unexpected and not entirely satisfying.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    More minis, More challenges.

    This latest installment in the Mario series Vs.DK, has been one of the most largar deliveries taken the time I
    More minis, More challenges.

    This latest installment in the Mario series Vs.DK, has been one of the most largar deliveries taken the time I finished, the avriedad and strategy d epoenr your brain to place each piece in place and the challenges that will be put difernetes test your intelligence at the time of taking the minis to the finish, this jeugo shows several aspects such as minigames, creating different scenarios and overcoming challenges that anger during the game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2016
    10
    Minis on the Move takes inspiration from the retro game Pipe Dream / Pipe Mania.

    It is not really part of the Mario vs. Donkey Kong series,
    Minis on the Move takes inspiration from the retro game Pipe Dream / Pipe Mania.

    It is not really part of the Mario vs. Donkey Kong series, in my opinion. Mario & Wario (a Japanese-only Super Famicom game) is much closer to an atypical M vs. DK game. I guess that's why they called it Mario and Donkey Kong, rather than Mario vs. Donkey Kong. If I did consider it part of the M vs. DK series, it would be my favorite.

    Hopefully, it is the beginning of a new series.

    Like most of the M vs. DK series, Minis on the Move is a strategic puzzle game that requires players to manipulate the game environment rather than controlling the characters themselves. But, instead of clicking on bricks and trampolines in a real-time side scrolling environment, you're required to place game tiles on a map (on the lower screen) to create a 3D level (on the upper screen).

    Minis on the Move is a welcome departure from a very repetitive series of games. The first Mario vs. Donkey Kong (for the GameBoy Advance) was different, in the sense that you controlled Mario on-screen. The second game in the series - March of the Minis - was much more similar (in terms of gameplay) to Mario & Wario (the Japanese only SNES game, I mentioned earlier).

    Every game in the series that followed March of the Minis, was pretty much the same. Minis March Again. Mini Land Mayhem & Tipping Stars are basically just refined versions of M vs. DK: March of the Minis. They are all decent games. But, the challenge revolves around how fast you can push buttons rather than actual puzzle solving. In Mario vs. Donkey Kong games, it is obvious what you're supposed to do (most of the time, anyway).

    Minis on the Move, on the other hand, has some seriously mind-bending puzzles. The expert levels, in particular, are brutal. And, the Giant Jungle world is practically traumatic.

    If you like games that are relatively easy, Mario and Donkey Kong isn't for you.

    There are 203 levels. The first level is easy. The last level is absolutely insane... Collecting all 230 stars is a serious challenge.

    Personally, I found this game to be extremely addictive and enjoyable... It is, perhaps, the best puzzle game I've ever played and it is one of the most satisfying experiences I've had with my 3DS console. It is better than Super Mario 3D Land and it is better than Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon. If I had to pick my top 3 Nintendo 3DS games, I'd go with: Mario Kart 7, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds and Mario vs. Donkey Kong: Minis on the Move.

    Considering how difficult it is and how simple the mechanics are, I understand the lukewarm reaction it received. Most people, these days, require spectacular graphics and sophisticated game engines.

    This is a puzzle game, for people who love puzzles.

    It isn't going to satisfy you if you want big guns and exploding heads. And, it will frustrate you if you're not ready for a serious challenge. Otherwise, I highly recommended you give it a go.
    Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    9
    An addictive game full of great puzzles, but the time limit REALLY is the thing that makes this game, not as good as it could be. PuzzleAn addictive game full of great puzzles, but the time limit REALLY is the thing that makes this game, not as good as it could be. Puzzle Palace is the TRUE main game. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    9
    For fans of Crashmo and Pushmo who are on the fence about buying this, I will tell you this: I am having a more enjoyable time with Minis onFor fans of Crashmo and Pushmo who are on the fence about buying this, I will tell you this: I am having a more enjoyable time with Minis on the Move than I have ever had with Pushmo or Crashmo. And I absolutely loved both of those games.

    Minis on the Move succeeds where Pushmo and Crashmo failed, at least in the online department. You have the option to create and share your levels in both games, but in Pushmo and Crashmo you had to scan QR codes to give and receive levels, which made sharing them a very disconnected and inconvenient affair. Minis on the Move allows for a simple upload to an online database which takes about 5 seconds. there is even a popularity meter next to the level you created so you can gauge how many people are playing it, which I think adds to the replay value significantly.

    The minigames included in Minis on the Move aren't anything to write home about, but they're fun in short bursts, and they provide a decent diversion from the main game. They also provide incentive to collect the mario coins included in each level in the main game, which unlock additional modes and levels for these minigames.

    The main game is highly entertaining, but I will warn you, the difficulty does ramp up considerably after the 12th or 13th level, so only puzzle game enthusiasts should consider buying this. The difficulty is the main reason why there has been a generally mixed reaction to this game, but I assure you that the game itself is so engrossing and deep that you will hardly mind. In my opinion, the high difficulty only adds to the fun factor and replay value, so it's a plus.
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    Es un juego bastante entretenido que ha sido capaz atraparme durante bastante tiempo, no es lo mejor de Nintendo 3DS pero si es un juego queEs un juego bastante entretenido que ha sido capaz atraparme durante bastante tiempo, no es lo mejor de Nintendo 3DS pero si es un juego que es muy recomendable tener y mas por solo USD 9.99. Tiene 4 modos de juego con una misma estructura pero se juegan de forma diferente y es un detalle que me gusto mucho, ya que quita la misma monotonĂ­a y aporta estrategias, lo Ășnico es que muchos niveles tienen una estructura muy lineal que no permite nuevas ideas o formas de finalizarlo. Pero en general es muy buen juego. Expand
  6. May 9, 2013
    8
    Really fun game. The puzzles are plentiful and fun, and they can get very challenging. Extremely high replay value, especially with the puzzleReally fun game. The puzzles are plentiful and fun, and they can get very challenging. Extremely high replay value, especially with the puzzle creator. It's simple, but surprisingly deep, if that makes any sense. You can make and publish your own, and attempt to solve others'. The mini games are "meh", but they're pretty fun when you're in the mood. Very fun game, get it! Collapse
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    So many ways to die! Minis on the Move is somewhat different from mario vs donkey kong titles in that you must place tiles in a 3D environmentSo many ways to die! Minis on the Move is somewhat different from mario vs donkey kong titles in that you must place tiles in a 3D environment using the touchscreen to create a path for the mini. It's a stressful, panicky, but incredibly fun game. The tiles come from the pipe, and if it fills up, you die. If you run out of time, you die. If you fall off, you die. There are also even more ways to die, but you never feel unfairly treated. Yes, the tiles coming into the pipe are randomised, but in such a way that must place them later on down your path. It's not chance, and it's always possible. Anyone who doesn't say so is a noob. There are four modes. Mario's Main Event is what I've just been talking about. Puzzle Palace has a calmer approach. All the tiles are already there, and are always the same. It's a lot less stressful but is actually a lot harder than Main Event. It's a mode where you have to think a lot before you start your mini. Then there is So Many Minis, in which several minis walk around at the same time, but instead of placing tiles, you move tiles around. The last mode is Giant Jungle. This is essentially Mario Main Event, but four times as big. It's incredibly challenging, so the three levels are all that are needed here. There are 183 levels alltpgether in Minis on the Move, each with three M-tokens to collect. The more you collect, the more minigames you unlock, but the minigames are boring, which lessens the insentive to get those tokens. It's a shame, but I can never bring myself to replay levels- I simply don't see the need. There are also not enough innovative ideas to keep you interested- all the items are from the 2D Mario vs DK games. So the fun wears out. Thankfully, there's create and share, where you can design your own levels and share them online. The sharing system is more practical than in Pullblox, but you can only create levels based on Mario's Main Event. Why not the other three modes? In conclusion, this is a good game lacking in enough new ideas to keep it fresh. Expand