Mario Kart 7 3DS

Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
Buy On
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    70
    Unless you are a big Mario Kart-fan, this game might not be worthbuying. By all means, it's fun the way only Mario Kart can be, itlooks more stunning than ever before and if you need new tracks it caneasily offer hours of entertainment. But Nintendo must have made this game on autopilot.
  2. CD-Action
    Dec 27, 2011
    70
    An old Mario Kart enhanced with a couple of details like gliding, swimming and customizing your vehicle. It seems Nintendo is running in circles chasing its own tail. [January 2012, p.75]
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    70
    If you didn't like the earlier Mario Kart games, then Mario Kart 7 most likely won't convert you. But for fans it's one of the best in the series especially while playing with friends.
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    Whether you love this iteration or not relies entirely on your tolerance of Mario Kart being Mario Kart. Unbalanced, flukey, stagnant even, but still managing to offer plenty of fun.
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Fans of the games don't want an overhaul or drastic innovation but just an understanding that Mario Kart needs to shift forward with bolder moves rather than tentative baby steps. Nintendo need to be braver in their thinking and stop considering the franchise along straight lines.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    67
    This time, the changes are a scattering of smaller ones. Track layout tweaks, customization quirks, 3D effects, first-person karting, and a power-up that adds to the general level of kart chaos by letting one player unleash seven items. MK7 isn't a kart game with a defining voice -- it's just a solid little kart game with a bunch of little tweaks.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Arcade racing game cooked by well-tried foolproof recipe entertains you most of the time but there are a few frustrating moments too. [Christmas 2011]
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    Despite the game's slavish adherence to the Mario Kart formula, Mario Kart 7 has moments where it shines simply by executing that formula really well. Still, other than your personal history with Mario Kart, your enjoyment of Mario Kart 7 will likely hinge on your continued appreciation of that formula, and friends to enjoy it with, more than anything else.
  9. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    As derivative as a game can get, and while we pour scorn on so many other games for rehashing themselves, something tells me this will get a free pass from many critics and gamers. That strikes me as ironic since Mario Kart 7 is the one game I'd hold up as the least deserving of any kind of leniency. It being an unadventurous and predictable retread, however, is only half of Mario Kart 7's problem. The other half is the fact that it's a lethargic and mundane game, easily outpaced by games that could be considered knock-offs of the formula Nintendo itself perfected.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 195
  1. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    I liked Mario Kart DS and Wii a lot. This game has the playing style of the DS Version but the graphics of the Wii version. It also takes someI liked Mario Kart DS and Wii a lot. This game has the playing style of the DS Version but the graphics of the Wii version. It also takes some of the game mechanics of the Wii but has more of the elements that were in the DS version. It takes a lot from the previous versions of Mario Kart which is a good thing and it does not change much of the formula. I like the additions and the characters that are in the game. The online multiplayer is really good and I hope to use it a lot in the future. One of the best Mario Karts to date. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    After playing all the cups at least one, and some of the early ones a few more times with out kart configurations, quick synopsis of thisAfter playing all the cups at least one, and some of the early ones a few more times with out kart configurations, quick synopsis of this latest Mario Kart is that it is tentatively brilliant.

    The first obvious change when start racing is the feel. It's closer to the Wii version with the sliding. There's no left-right wiggle as with the DS version; you hold the slide as long as possible to build the boost. Most obvious is that it feels so sluggish to the DS. There you can flick the kart all over the place. Also, driving on dirt kills you! It slows you down so much and can barely steer. This is where the "monster" tyres come in, if you choose to select. Obviously you lose general handling and acceleration.

    Equally with the Wii, tracks are quite elaborate, and seem generally brilliant. Need more time to decide - to see how they cope in full race mode once familiarity sets, push karts and tracks to their limits. Already it seems they have a good learning curve to really excel, especially with the karts with lesser handling and acceleration.

    Also new is when you hop at the crest of a jump, you get a small boost on landing. I believe something similar in Wii where you'd waggle for a trick. Works really well in 3DS.

    The glider addition works well. By hopping off jumps and angling the glide, allows some strategy in gliding, whether diving for coins, or creating lift to clear sections of track.

    The 3D is good. I use it all the time. Of course, it's not necessary to enjoy the game.

    Difficulty is much the same as other MKs - ie: easy! In my first go (150cc), I played all new cups for a 1st (two attempts), 1st, 3rd & 4th. On retro cups, did first two for 1st & 1st. A friend defeated both final cups on first attempt, the retro one winning all races. He owned Wii MK so was able to adapt easily to the handling. He raced with high acceleration and handling configuration. The big advice with the difficulty is to use heavier karts and fatter tyres - ie: reduce acceleration and handling. That, along with using a fatter character, will substantially increase the challenge. I've made this my personal challenge to defeat the game on standard kart and wheels. So far, in about 7 attempts, racing on the first 3 new cups, not even close to winning any.

    Best of all with MK7, standard MK cheapness is there. Meaning that while often it seems unfair, it never is. Racing to hold of the hoard and even winning against the odds, it's still so satisfying. Remember also that tables will turn. One race I was leading for most of the last lap, then got hammered with blue shell and fireballs, dropping to 7th. I was furious. Then picked up a lightning and glided over in first. If there's some criticisms, it's is that the fake item is no longer part of your arsenal. While 16 new and 16 old tracks sounds nice, why not 20 new and 60 old? Even easier, why not tracks to be raced in reverse (not mirror). Sure some will need jumps or zippers to make them work. So! Add it. That immediately doubles the tracks available. Also, how about a track creator like Mod Nations Racer? My only hope is that Nintendo will add this in time. At least DLC for new tracks. This fascist way that Nintendo works has bothered me for years. As the review says here, custom options should be any combination of items, not just a single item. I'd love to set triple-reds and tails in a custom race. Why can't I?

    Other changes are all positive. Gone is the horrible POW weapon introduced for Wii that knocked out everyone ahead of you. Add to the fact the grid is back to 8 racers from 12, it means for a far more fluid race. New weapons include the Tanooki Tail to whip nearby karts and block weapons, and a Fire Flower that allows shooting fireballs forwards or backwards. Both are great. The Lucky 7 (7 items all out your disposal) surprisingly doesn't over-power the game. In fact, often they are not all used for you lose them from someone else's attack.

    The next test is the online and just see how the game really excels and its overall balance - because the multi-player is the true measure of the game. While I rate MK DS as easily the best of the series, it was plagued with the "snakers" that could turbo-wiggle the entire course. The revised sliding method on MK7 means that MK7 has potential to be at least a close second if the balance no adverse exploitation is there. Right now, two friends that swore off buying a 3DS and MK7 already see the potential. One has bought the game and a 3DS with the other very much considering it.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    It's such a great game. I've played it over download play with my friends for the last two days, and honestly, it made me remember why I loveIt's such a great game. I've played it over download play with my friends for the last two days, and honestly, it made me remember why I love Nintendo's games. After the Strike that was Skyward Sword, and Super Mario 3D Land, this is the last part of the Nintendo Holiday trilogy.
    The gameplay is essentially fusing all the good parts of the DS and wii version, and the tracks are all powerful and memorable. My favourites from the Wii version and DS version have been carried over, like Koopa Kape, Mushroom Gorge, Waluigi Pinball etc. The cart customization options is cool, but i feel that while it adds so many cool possible combinations, it takes away some more memorable carts, too, so it's an even thing. Character choice could be better, but Im so happy about getting SHY GUY and LAKITU and WIGGLER tht I don't mind.
    Full Review »