Mario & Luigi: Dream Team 3DS

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros") A new installment in the Mario & Luigi role-playing series is coming to Nintendo 3DS this summer. The game takes place inside the mind of a sleeping Luigi, who is a powerful, brave hero in his dreams.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    95
    Except for the tutorials and the long sessions it requires, it's a wonderful adventure in every aspect that offers tons of fun.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Mario and Luigi share a new RPG adventure that is funny from the begining, give us surprises until the ending and offers plenty of hours of enjoyment and humour. Recommended for Nintendo 3DS owners in general.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    For all this, we must consider Dream Team Bros. an essential game for Nintendo 3DS, and we cannot forget the great location for Portuguese.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    83
    It might not quite hit the highs of Bowser’s Inside Story, but it’s still essential; yet another must-have title to the 3DS’ ever-increasing library of incredible first party games.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Sure, the challenge could be a little bit higher, but that doesn't prevent Dream Team Bros from proving that they truly are a dream team with more charm, intelligence and awesomeness than anyone else.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team could have been one of the best RPGs on the 3DS; instead, it sadly overstays its welcome.
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Fans of the series will find more to love than the rest, but Paper Mario 3D allows players of all levels to get to the point a lot faster. Though Dream Team has one of the better 3D effects, in both 2D and 3D gameplay, you're more likely to shut your eyes than cross them. There are hours of entertainment for patient players willing to read and giggle at silly accents, but I'd rather explore Bowser's dreams instead.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Dream Team is one of the most damn-near perfect games I've ever played. It's got really fun gameplay that never seems to grow old, greatDream Team is one of the most damn-near perfect games I've ever played. It's got really fun gameplay that never seems to grow old, great amounts of personality, amazing music, colorful graphics, great characters, amazing amounts of personality and so much more. God, it's just amazing. From the first second I booted it up I was smiling from ear to ear. This game will make you laugh, and it will make you laugh hard.

    If you enjoy the past 3 games, there are nice reminders of them left around. Even a returning boss character that made me smile as soon as I saw him.

    Go buy this game. Leave your house, get $40 out of your pocket and buy this game. It will be the best $40 you ever spent.
    Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Ever since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you likedEver since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you liked at least 1 of the games in the series, it a no brainer you should play this. Collapse
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    An excellent addition to the Mario series in the form of a turn-based battle RPG. Lots of fun and a big challenge at the same time, withAn excellent addition to the Mario series in the form of a turn-based battle RPG. Lots of fun and a big challenge at the same time, with constantly fresh ideas, abilities enemies all the way out to the end. This game is a BIG one though, with it taking me just over 40 hours to straight run the main story with a couple hours of collecting things, and getting out to the end may take more patience than the regular 'pick up and play' Mario audience may be willing to give. Brilliant soundtrack too, highly recommend. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Almost perfect.

    Dream Team is one of the many reasons to hop aboard and buy a 3DS. The game takes what could be some what stale game
    Almost perfect.

    Dream Team is one of the many reasons to hop aboard and buy a 3DS.

    The game takes what could be some what stale game play Turn Base and revamps it with unique spells and abilities.

    The game is easy to pick up and offers a lot to players from character customization, to progression. Items, and gear is fun and addicting. The word "Team" hold true in this game with fun mini-game like abilities that use both Mario and Lugi to their full potential.

    Get ready to roll over enemies as a giant Lugi ball, or using red green shells as volley that racks up combo multiplier as you time the hit.

    Bros. Attacks are used in the "Real World" and Luiginary Attacks (Dream World) it's what really makes the game play shine.

    In the Dream World, Lugi is pretty much your conductor. Expect to use him to unlock secert areas, and to climb high places.

    Pro Great use of 3D. Fun clever boss fights. Mario and Lugi being used to their full potential. Fun, easy, addicting game play and the use of Bro Attacks Luginary are some of the best features to date.

    Cons Feel's a bit linear. A lot childish characters. There's a story but I feel disinterested.
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    A fun game with good humor. Mario and Luigi: Dream Team has a lot of comedy with good RPG elements. Only problem, the very long tutorials. TheA fun game with good humor. Mario and Luigi: Dream Team has a lot of comedy with good RPG elements. Only problem, the very long tutorials. The game is fun, colorful and vibrant. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    Another great entry in the series. Not my favourite as the game has a horrible habit of stopping every few minutes to talk the obvious to you.Another great entry in the series. Not my favourite as the game has a horrible habit of stopping every few minutes to talk the obvious to you. The writing in the series has always been one of its strong points but you can have too much of a good thing. Gameplay is great and smart Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    The sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops toThe sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops to tell you how to do something EXACTLY as simple as jumping. There is an old movie saying that goes "show don't tell", and i feel like if that was applied to Dream Team the game would be much better. The constant unskippable help dialogues make this game insanely boring. Even 5 year olds would be able to figure out how to play the game just like the 5 year olds of the NES and SNES and N64 era without game breaking boring text dialogues.

    It is sad that the sequel to a masterpiece like Bowser's Inside Story could be so boring and mocking.
    Expand

See all 60 User Reviews