Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros") A new installment in the Mario & Luigi role-playing series is coming to Nintendo 3DS this summer. The game takes place inside the mind of a sleeping Luigi, who is a powerful, brave hero in his dreams.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    95
    Except for the tutorials and the long sessions it requires, it's a wonderful adventure in every aspect that offers tons of fun.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Mario and Luigi share a new RPG adventure that is funny from the begining, give us surprises until the ending and offers plenty of hours of enjoyment and humour. Recommended for Nintendo 3DS owners in general.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    For all this, we must consider Dream Team Bros. an essential game for Nintendo 3DS, and we cannot forget the great location for Portuguese.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    83
    It might not quite hit the highs of Bowser’s Inside Story, but it’s still essential; yet another must-have title to the 3DS’ ever-increasing library of incredible first party games.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Sure, the challenge could be a little bit higher, but that doesn't prevent Dream Team Bros from proving that they truly are a dream team with more charm, intelligence and awesomeness than anyone else.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team could have been one of the best RPGs on the 3DS; instead, it sadly overstays its welcome.
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Fans of the series will find more to love than the rest, but Paper Mario 3D allows players of all levels to get to the point a lot faster. Though Dream Team has one of the better 3D effects, in both 2D and 3D gameplay, you're more likely to shut your eyes than cross them. There are hours of entertainment for patient players willing to read and giggle at silly accents, but I'd rather explore Bowser's dreams instead.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Ever since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you likedEver since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you liked at least 1 of the games in the series, it a no brainer you should play this. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This is one the greatest Mario games I've played. The tutorial sections are a bit too long and some of the dialogue is stretched out a bit,This is one the greatest Mario games I've played. The tutorial sections are a bit too long and some of the dialogue is stretched out a bit, but other than that it is fantastic. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    While this game has a very short start and many annoying hand holding tutorials. The hilarity, charm, combat system, and creative game playWhile this game has a very short start and many annoying hand holding tutorials. The hilarity, charm, combat system, and creative game play elements more than make up for that. Though this game does not venture in creativity in most places. The dream world is the most fun thing in a game I've experienced so far on the 3DS. Overall besides some small obvious flaws this game shines like every other game in its series. It is also a better series than paper Mario :P Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team provides a new graphics and styles, but a bit loses its Mario & Luigi's essential. This game is still not asMario & Luigi: Dream Team provides a new graphics and styles, but a bit loses its Mario & Luigi's essential. This game is still not as excellent as Superstar Saga and not amazing as Bowser's Inside Story, but Dream Team is still a great RPG game yet. (8.0 out of 10.0) Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    This was my first Mario & Luigi game, and I have to admit that I'm very impressed. There only two downsides to this game: first, theThis was my first Mario & Luigi game, and I have to admit that I'm very impressed. There only two downsides to this game: first, the characters talk far too much. Any time anything happened, no matter how trivial, you could be sure that you'd spend at least the next 15 seconds clicking through dialogue. All conversations in the game seemed to be about 50% longer than they needed to be, and unfortunately there is no way to skip quickly through them. The only other downside to the game is that combat can get fairly repetitive by the time you get to the end of the game (e.g. you'll have performed hundreds of the same attacks over and over again).
    With that said, this game presents great characters, great writing, simple puzzles (I enjoyed this because it kept the level of frustration very low), and great RPG elements. You get to customize your Mario Brothers by having them focus on the stats you want them to focus on, as well as providing them with the gear that you think best suits them. You can go offensive, defensive, or whatever suits your fancy in this regard. The fighting relies mostly on timing and (in some cases) using the built-in gyroscope. The various Bros Attacks and Luigi Dream Attacks are a great way to mix up the gameplay, and they provide rewarding challenges.
    Finally, I hope this isn't too much of a spoiler, but there comes a time when you engage in a 3rd type of combat- when all the Dream Luigis combine to form a Giant Luigi. Let me just say: the moment when it first occurs is one of the most epic moments I've seen in gaming. I become physically excited and shook with glee when Luigi stepped up to save his brother. I would highly recommend this game and I have considered purchasing other games in the series.
    Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    Although Dream Team is not as good as Bowser's Inside Story it has the unique feature of Luigimation. I agree with previous posts that thereAlthough Dream Team is not as good as Bowser's Inside Story it has the unique feature of Luigimation. I agree with previous posts that there is too much hand holding tutorials. Another downside is the story. It starts off real slow which may be a turnoff to younger players or gamers playing the series for a first time. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    The sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops toThe sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops to tell you how to do something EXACTLY as simple as jumping. There is an old movie saying that goes "show don't tell", and i feel like if that was applied to Dream Team the game would be much better. The constant unskippable help dialogues make this game insanely boring. Even 5 year olds would be able to figure out how to play the game just like the 5 year olds of the NES and SNES and N64 era without game breaking boring text dialogues.

    It is sad that the sequel to a masterpiece like Bowser's Inside Story could be so boring and mocking.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews