Mario & Luigi: Dream Team 3DS

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros") A new installment in the Mario & Luigi role-playing series is coming to Nintendo 3DS this summer. The game takes place inside the mind of a sleeping Luigi, who is a powerful, brave hero in his dreams.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    95
    Except for the tutorials and the long sessions it requires, it's a wonderful adventure in every aspect that offers tons of fun.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Mario and Luigi share a new RPG adventure that is funny from the begining, give us surprises until the ending and offers plenty of hours of enjoyment and humour. Recommended for Nintendo 3DS owners in general.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    For all this, we must consider Dream Team Bros. an essential game for Nintendo 3DS, and we cannot forget the great location for Portuguese.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    83
    It might not quite hit the highs of Bowser’s Inside Story, but it’s still essential; yet another must-have title to the 3DS’ ever-increasing library of incredible first party games.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Sure, the challenge could be a little bit higher, but that doesn't prevent Dream Team Bros from proving that they truly are a dream team with more charm, intelligence and awesomeness than anyone else.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team could have been one of the best RPGs on the 3DS; instead, it sadly overstays its welcome.
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Fans of the series will find more to love than the rest, but Paper Mario 3D allows players of all levels to get to the point a lot faster. Though Dream Team has one of the better 3D effects, in both 2D and 3D gameplay, you're more likely to shut your eyes than cross them. There are hours of entertainment for patient players willing to read and giggle at silly accents, but I'd rather explore Bowser's dreams instead.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Ever since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you likedEver since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you liked at least 1 of the games in the series, it a no brainer you should play this. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    I believe all of the Mario & Luigi games are incredibly great on every level, but if I had to choose which is the best, it would have to beI believe all of the Mario & Luigi games are incredibly great on every level, but if I had to choose which is the best, it would have to be the fourth entry in the series, Mario & Luigi: Dream Team. It may have seemed like the games had done all the creative things they could, but Dream Team absolutely disproves that by a long shot!

    The story begins with Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Toadsworth, some Toads, and people from other kingdoms going on a vacation to Pi'illo Island. Their trip is going smoothly, and soon enough they find out that Luigi can sleep on ancient Pi'illos and open portals to the Dream World. Later, they find out that an evil bat king named Antasma imprisoned all the Pi'illos in "nightmare chunks" in the dream world, so Mario and Luigi rescue Prince Dreambert and go on a quest to defeat Antasma and save the Pi'illos. Oh yeah, and Bowser teams up with Antasma as well. The story has more charm and humor than ever, and it does pull out some unexpected moments. New characters like Dreambert and Antasma are great, and it was nice to see memorable characters from past games return. They even brought back Popple from Superstar Saga, which was a cool surprise.

    The actual gameplay involves free-roam platforming in the overworld and sidescrolling platforming in the Dream World. The overworld has a ton of secrets and extras to find, whereas the Dream World allows you to mess with Luigi's face in the real world(via touchscreen) to make things happen in the dream world. But the true might shines in the game's excellent battle system. The real-world battles consist of Mario and Luigi jumping and hammering their foes, as well as using creative special attacks. Not only does this game have powerful Bro attacks, but they're the most fun to use yet in the series. But the dream world has the best of the battles. Essentially, only Mario attacks, but he has the power of Dreamy Luigi and a ton of "Luiginoids"(basically copies of Luigi) to spice up his jump and hammer attacks. There are also Luiginary Attacks to replace the bro attacks-and they're even more fun to use. I won't spoil all of them, but the very first one involves Mario rolling on a massive ball of Luiginoids, then kicking it to crush enemies. The game's boss battles are particularly awesome. Antasma was the one I personally enjoyed most.

    When it comes to the game's sound and graphics, it easily has some of the best out of any Mario game out there in both categories. The graphics look great in 3D, but still as charming and cartoony as always. As for the soundtrack...scratch "some of" the best, THE best Mario soundtrack. Forget the Galaxy games, look up Adventure's End and just try to tell me it isn't amazing.

    Overall, Mario & Luigi: Dream Team is one of the best games I've ever played. From the great battle systems, to the TONS of fun Dream World, to the hilarious story, to the AMAZING soundtrack, chances are that this game will not disappoint you. Mario fan or not, 3DS owners need this one. And that's why I give it a 10/10!!!
    Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Finally a 3DS game that wasn't designed to be played on the toilet or on a bus. I realize it's a portable console, but that doesn't mean IFinally a 3DS game that wasn't designed to be played on the toilet or on a bus. I realize it's a portable console, but that doesn't mean I can't just relax on my couch and get lost in a great adventure such as this without having MISSION COMPLETE interrupt me every 10 minutes (referring to RE: Revelations & Luigi's Mansion). I've always loved the Mario and Luigi titles because they are huge and the combat is somehow always more exciting than in the last game. There are definitely too many tutorials though, I realize these games are somewhat marketed at younger people but farout, give me the option to turn the "oh look, you can break this rock with your hammer" tutorials off. That and the slow-starting story aside, the game looks great, plays great and is exactly what you expect from a 'Mario and Luigi' title. 9/10 Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    As someone new to the series, I found Mario & Luigi: Dream Team to be charming and fun though there are times when the game will feel the needAs someone new to the series, I found Mario & Luigi: Dream Team to be charming and fun though there are times when the game will feel the need to hold your hand. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    +Fun and simple gameplay
    +Funny Humor
    +Catchy music +Alot of Luigi's! -Slow Start -Uninteresting Story -Bad Graphics Conclusion :
    +Fun and simple gameplay
    +Funny Humor
    +Catchy music
    +Alot of Luigi's!

    -Slow Start
    -Uninteresting Story
    -Bad Graphics

    Conclusion :
    It's a really fun game it isn't as good as Bowser's Inside Story.. but it's still a great game to the series
    if you're looking for a fun RPG game for the 3DS then i recommend that you buy this game!

    Score 8.7
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2015
    7
    Is Dream Team a very good add to the Mario RPG series? Yes. Does it live it up to the previous games? Not really. The graphics are fantasticIs Dream Team a very good add to the Mario RPG series? Yes. Does it live it up to the previous games? Not really. The graphics are fantastic and presented beautifully on the 3DS, the music is amazing, the classic Mario-game humor and silliness is there and the whole real world/dream world features are well done.

    What the game lacks however, is good pacing, as the game's progress is slowed horribly by repetitive and unskippable tutorials and cutscenes, which are even worse when playing the game in Hard Mode (since the game relies purely on game saves on that mode). Another downside is the story, and though it can be interesting and original at times, is not very engaging overall and feels loosely stitched together.

    It's a game worth buying, but it's not as clever of a game as it's prequel, Bowser's Inside Story.
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    The sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops toThe sheer step back from the next game is so daunting that I can't even begin to enjoy the gameplay. Also every 2 minutes the game stops to tell you how to do something EXACTLY as simple as jumping. There is an old movie saying that goes "show don't tell", and i feel like if that was applied to Dream Team the game would be much better. The constant unskippable help dialogues make this game insanely boring. Even 5 year olds would be able to figure out how to play the game just like the 5 year olds of the NES and SNES and N64 era without game breaking boring text dialogues.

    It is sad that the sequel to a masterpiece like Bowser's Inside Story could be so boring and mocking.
    Collapse

See all 56 User Reviews