Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Party: Island Tour isn't perfect, as is any Mario Party game, but I feel like it stands up to its console competitors. The minigames are fun, the boards are unique, and the multiplayer is amazing. The only downside is Bowser's Tower. It ultimately sullied my single-player experience as I found out that it doesn't really end. I have climbed the tower seven times now, and each time I find my character, Toad, being trolled by Bowser, saying that the Bowser I defeated was a decoy, and then punching me off the tower. It gets very annoying, and I have yet to see a definite storyline or a plausible ending. Maybe if I use a different character? If someone has a way to see a different ending, do tell me.

    Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is charming, fun, and a very good time to be had. Too bad Bowser had to ruin it from being the best handheld installment. 8.75/10
    Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why everyone is taking a poop on this game. Its quite fun both solo AND multi-player. Its BEST is against friends but the solo game play isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    It is a very good game! Better (by like 100 points) than Link between worlds! It has creative board rules and fun minigames that MP 9 introduced. But MP 8 is the best. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    Being very on the fence about this purchase.. overall I'm happy that I did. Mario Party brings fun and variety that you would expect from any Mario Party game.

    It has the same (and usually frustrating) luck-based opportunities that are present in most any board or Mario Party game... and that is to be expected.

    Single player fun is limited at best it start's off interesting... but boredom can set in rather quickly. About as much fun you could expect from virtually tossing dice and playing cheesy mini games against the computer.

    However, the multiplayer is where this really shines... and Download Play option is incredible! Which means you only need one copy to play with any friends holding a 3DS. This is the reason I went with a purchase on the Nintendo e-Shop. To ALWAYS have the option to play with anyone you come across that has a 3DS work... school... family gatherings... or waiting in line at a midnight launch.

    People talk about the boards, or the mini games... but really, it is Mario Party everything you know and would expect. Ultimately the amount of fun Mario Party Island Tour will bring you is based upon the crowd you choose to play the game with.
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Mario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not Nintendo quality. The boards are short and stray too far away from the classic Mario Party experience. I was hoping Nintendo would make Island Tour a classic Mario Party game where you collect stars and coins but they decided to change that again and make something totally different and in my opinion, not as good. For the next Mario Party game, Nintendo should go back and make a proper Mario Party game. I probably wouldn't mind if they released some DLC for Island Tour with a more classic Mario Party board. I would totally buy that! The sound effects and music are also the same ones from Mario Party 9 so if you've played that game before, you'll get tired of the same sound effects and music quickly. This Mario Party game also seems to give too many hints and tutorials (ex. Yellow Toad talks to you and gives you hints every turn). Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is not a bad game but is not what I was expecting from a Nintendo Mario Party game. It is good for a good pick-up-and-play and does have some fun minigames. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    The party is over. Mario Party Island Tour is a boring and that's the problem because it depends wholly on multiplayer and if there's none then it fails. Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    This game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suck and so does multiplayer! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews