Mario Party: Island Tour 3DS

Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb,The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 13 out of 42
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Party: Island Tour isn't perfect, as is any Mario Party game, but I feel like it stands up to its console competitors. The minigames are fun, the boards are unique, and the multiplayer is amazing. The only downside is Bowser's Tower. It ultimately sullied my single-player experience as I found out that it doesn't really end. I have climbed the tower seven times now, and each time I find my character, Toad, being trolled by Bowser, saying that the Bowser I defeated was a decoy, and then punching me off the tower. It gets very annoying, and I have yet to see a definite storyline or a plausible ending. Maybe if I use a different character? If someone has a way to see a different ending, do tell me.

    Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is charming, fun, and a very good time to be had. Too bad Bowser had to ruin it from being the best handheld installment. 8.75/10
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome. It's my 3rd Favourite Mario Party Game in the Series. The graphics are great for the Nintendo 3DS. The character rosterThis game is awesome. It's my 3rd Favourite Mario Party Game in the Series. The graphics are great for the Nintendo 3DS. The character roster selection is good for a handheld. The boards are fun to play on and each one is unique from one another. My 2 favourite Boards are Rocket Road (because of the design, it's Super Mario Galaxy.) and Star Crossed Skyway because of the Mini Star gimmick from Mario Party 9. Bowser's Tower is okay. The minigames are awesome especially Tanks a lot, Peep a Peepa, etc. The Bubble Gallery is great. Mario Party Island Tour is an awesome 3DS Game and you should go pick it up and if you hate MPIT, you're silly as JB. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    It is a very good game! Better (by like 100 points) than Link between worlds! It has creative board rules and fun minigames that MP 9It is a very good game! Better (by like 100 points) than Link between worlds! It has creative board rules and fun minigames that MP 9 introduced. But MP 8 is the best. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2015
    7
    This is a good Mario party game on the go, but the problem is that most of the boards are short except for one. But the game makes it up forThis is a good Mario party game on the go, but the problem is that most of the boards are short except for one. But the game makes it up for the really fun mini games in the end pick it up for your 3ds collection Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2014
    5
    Mario Party: Island Tour has to be one of the more disappointing games in the Mario franchise. The game itself is quite enjoyably, althoughMario Party: Island Tour has to be one of the more disappointing games in the Mario franchise. The game itself is quite enjoyably, although for only a short period of time. I do understand that they made the game for the 3DS to be quick and fast paced, but the game gives no sense of achievement. The characters are far too easy and the only way you can lose is that the first place spot gets snatched away from you in the last minute (which happens a lot). The boards lack in imagination and depth, the mechanics are bland and art is terrible. One of the only high points of the game in my opinion is the mini-games. The boards may lack fun but the mini-games are quite enjoyable and possible the best ones on a handheld Mario Party. I was also disappointed with the lack of characters being the only unlockable Bowser Jr. The soundtrack isn't bad but it's not going to get you humming whilst your listening along to the tunes. If Nintendo put some thought into, not just the mini-games but the boards and characters too. This could have been one of the 3DS must haves but sadly it's far from it. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    4
    This game brought nothing new to the table. It just seemed like Nintendo had some extra time and made a new game. It did not focus enough onThis game brought nothing new to the table. It just seemed like Nintendo had some extra time and made a new game. It did not focus enough on the mini games, and there were not enough unlockables. Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    This game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suckThis game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suck and so does multiplayer! Expand

See all 42 User Reviews