Mario Party: Island Tour 3DS

Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb,The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 45
  2. Negative: 13 out of 45
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Party: Island Tour isn't perfect, as is any Mario Party game, but I feel like it stands up to its console competitors. The minigames are fun, the boards are unique, and the multiplayer is amazing. The only downside is Bowser's Tower. It ultimately sullied my single-player experience as I found out that it doesn't really end. I have climbed the tower seven times now, and each time I find my character, Toad, being trolled by Bowser, saying that the Bowser I defeated was a decoy, and then punching me off the tower. It gets very annoying, and I have yet to see a definite storyline or a plausible ending. Maybe if I use a different character? If someone has a way to see a different ending, do tell me.

    Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is charming, fun, and a very good time to be had. Too bad Bowser had to ruin it from being the best handheld installment. 8.75/10
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    This game is awesome. It's my 3rd Favourite Mario Party Game in the Series. The graphics are great for the Nintendo 3DS. The character rosterThis game is awesome. It's my 3rd Favourite Mario Party Game in the Series. The graphics are great for the Nintendo 3DS. The character roster selection is good for a handheld. The boards are fun to play on and each one is unique from one another. My 2 favourite Boards are Rocket Road (because of the design, it's Super Mario Galaxy.) and Star Crossed Skyway because of the Mini Star gimmick from Mario Party 9. Bowser's Tower is okay. The minigames are awesome especially Tanks a lot, Peep a Peepa, etc. The Bubble Gallery is great. Mario Party Island Tour is an awesome 3DS Game and you should go pick it up and if you hate MPIT, you're silly as JB. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    It is a very good game! Better (by like 100 points) than Link between worlds! It has creative board rules and fun minigames that MP 9It is a very good game! Better (by like 100 points) than Link between worlds! It has creative board rules and fun minigames that MP 9 introduced. But MP 8 is the best. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2015
    7
    I don't understand why everyone is hating so much on Mario Party: Island Tour. This is not a bad game people, and I will briefly explain toI don't understand why everyone is hating so much on Mario Party: Island Tour. This is not a bad game people, and I will briefly explain to you (below) some good things that make this a good game. It's not perfect, and it will have its faults, but I feel that the goods of the game are stronger than that of the faults.

    The Good: The minigames. Packed with 80 minigames, which has been one of the highest of the series, we can tell that nintendo isn't messing around with the minigames that they want us to play. To be honest, most of the minigames in the past have been pretty luck-based, but for once, the % of minigames that actually require some skill are included. Even though some minigames are ridiculously short, they're still a really small burst of fun and can be played multiple times. I have found my self stuck playing a few minigames (like tanks a lot) for more than 15 minutes in one go, either with Master AI or my family members or friends. The amount of fun and rage that you get from playing locally with people you know is just one of the best things that Mario Party games can deliver. I can see myself coming back to this game over the next few years playing those addictingly fun minigames with buds. The next great thing about Mario Party: Island Tour is its PHENOMENAL 3D effect. Assuming you have access to the 3D slider, you can see an incredible amount of depth and detail on the screen when turning up that slider. I swear, the graphics sometimes even look better with 3D on than off (main menu for example). The high amount of boards is also a great part of the mario party package, but that isn't one of the best features of the game (why is what you'll see later). Another interesting thing is Bowser's Tower (which is the main single player adventure/story you're aiming to beat). Its good features are that you get to play all the minigames, and usually 1 of the 2 choices are skill based and you have a chance at clearing it. Another good thing (and nostalgic) is that you battle bosses every 5 floors, and nearly every single one of them brings you back to the good times, such as the same characters in SM64, NSMB, and more! The final boss's minigame is quite enjoyable and has some pleasuring music.

    The Neutral: There isn't too much "neutral" in this game. It was typically a hit or miss for certain categories, but there was 1 or 2 things that I thought could've been improved a bit. Music is definitely one of those mixed parts of the game. It has some great tracks, such as some of the boards and boss battles, but other tracks like the songs in the minigames, and other tracks here and there are not as good as the ones mentioned earlier. Other than that, I could probably say that the character roster could have been expanded to 12 or 16.

    The Bad: There are bad things, as most mario parties do have bad things about them. Let's go through a few of those bad things now ~ I'll state it in one short list: Boards are TOO short & luck based, collectable count is WAY too low, and the single player adventure is TOO weak. Boards are so short, that I could probably beat them in 3 to 6 moves. Some, like the rainbow road, are way too luck based, as the winner of the first minigame has been basically guaranteed the win. Collectable count is probably the biggest bummer for me, as I really was disappointed that all you could unlock were the music tracks (which were nice) and voice bubbles. If you had MPDS, then you would remember board items, badges, and other nice things that helped extend replayability by a large amount. I feel like the single player adventure is a bit weak because there is only one thing to do, and after clearing it (30 floors), you sorta lose the urge to continue to go up again. (as you can play those same boss minigames in free play after the first run), other than that, there isn't much to do other than playing the minigames w/ AI or friends/family.

    Overall: I feel like this game has absolutely phenomenal minigames (some of the best in the series), but is dribbled down a bit with each small problem, including weak boards, weak single player adventure, and lack of collectables. The good minigames and fun played w/ others is one thing though, that cannot be gotten from many other games out there today. To be honest, I usually buy the mario party games for the minigames - not the boards, so hearing that the boards sucked, I wasn't really TOO unhappy about that. Knowing that I can have fun with a bunch of other people with one card only is also one thing that makes my day and this game basically the best local-multiplayer game on the 3DS!

    Gameplay: 8.5/10
    Story: 5/10
    Music: 7/10
    Presentation: 7/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2016
    6
    This is not like the other Mario Party games, and this is not a good thing. Half of the boards are based on luck, and there is almost noThis is not like the other Mario Party games, and this is not a good thing. Half of the boards are based on luck, and there is almost no strategy involved. The maps are very small as well and you go back to the beginning of the board after just a few turns. You don't even collect stars in most of the boards! There is only one exception, and that is the only map I had fun with. The mini games are terrible. I handed the game to my 4-year-old cousin (who doesn't even play games) and he won against the AI almost every time. This game requires no skill, and offers little enjoyment. It is a good game for young kids. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    The party is over. Mario Party Island Tour is a boring and that's the problem because it depends wholly on multiplayer and if there's noneThe party is over. Mario Party Island Tour is a boring and that's the problem because it depends wholly on multiplayer and if there's none then it fails. Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    This game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suckThis game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suck and so does multiplayer! Expand

See all 45 User Reviews