Mario Party: Island Tour Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb,The game features seven different game boards, each with its own set of rules. The game offers 81 new mini-games that test speed, concentration and luck. In addition to the board game elements, players are be able to play mini-games exclusively or try their hands at a 30-floor tower climb, AR Card games and StreetPass battles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. 85
    A fantastic addition for the 3DS. The graphics are crisp and utilize 3D well, while the music fits each game and board without becoming monotonous. Every mode and board is easy to pick up and play with anyone, anytime.. Island Tour is a perfect balance of old and new that keeps the game fresh with playing styles to meet every need.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    It was nice to have a brief but satisfying match while out and about.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    65
    Nintendo is a master at finding a specific target audience and offer them exactly what they want, sometimes even with a little less quality than usual. Mario Party: Island Tour does just that, speaking to the more casual audience among the owners of Nintendo 3DS.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    Board game enthusiasts will find themselves bored quickly, the average player will only break it out when there are friends around—which is the point, and I guess with friends the skill-based games aren’t too bad—and Party aficionados will be able to scratch that virtual itch.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    58
    This doesn’t hold up even compared to previous portable Mario Party titles, and it’s one of the few Nintendo published titles you can safely skip this holiday season.
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    One Person doesn't make a party, and when trying to make my friends play this with me they all instantly wanna switch to Mario Party 9 instead.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    Unfortunately, no amount of options can overcome the inane gameplay. I’ve defended the series in the past as harmless, dumb fun, but Island Tour is wholly unenjoyable.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33
  1. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is fun and so underrated. Wtf is wrong with the game? I mean it's a friggin masterpiece and I personally think MPDS was awesomeThis game is fun and so underrated. Wtf is wrong with the game? I mean it's a friggin masterpiece and I personally think MPDS was awesome until this came out. Then I was like "Screw MPDS, I'm movin' on!" And some music were reused from MP9 (Which is another game you should get,) and I'm almost 100% done with the game. This game is a 10/10 imo best Mario Party franchise EVER put into an handheld gaming Nintendo 3DS. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Very fun. goes by faster than the last Mario Party DS games, but the graphics and mini games are amazing. Though i wish that it lasted longerVery fun. goes by faster than the last Mario Party DS games, but the graphics and mini games are amazing. Though i wish that it lasted longer and there was a plot, there are many fun worlds to play in and all different goals. i say it is a tie between this game and the last Mario Party DS game. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why everyone is taking a poop on this game. Its quite fun both solo AND multi-player. Its BEST is against friends but the soloI'm not sure why everyone is taking a poop on this game. Its quite fun both solo AND multi-player. Its BEST is against friends but the solo game play isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2015
    7
    This game is not as bad as people say it is. I find it pretty decent. The graphics are great for 3DS. The boards are fun and different fromThis game is not as bad as people say it is. I find it pretty decent. The graphics are great for 3DS. The boards are fun and different from each other. The character selection is fine for a handheld. The minigames are good. Mario Party Island Tour is a decent game and you can go pick it up. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Mario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not NintendoMario Party: Island Tour is an enjoyable game, but I find it based too much on luck. The minigames are somewhat short and are not Nintendo quality. The boards are short and stray too far away from the classic Mario Party experience. I was hoping Nintendo would make Island Tour a classic Mario Party game where you collect stars and coins but they decided to change that again and make something totally different and in my opinion, not as good. For the next Mario Party game, Nintendo should go back and make a proper Mario Party game. I probably wouldn't mind if they released some DLC for Island Tour with a more classic Mario Party board. I would totally buy that! The sound effects and music are also the same ones from Mario Party 9 so if you've played that game before, you'll get tired of the same sound effects and music quickly. This Mario Party game also seems to give too many hints and tutorials (ex. Yellow Toad talks to you and gives you hints every turn). Overall, Mario Party: Island Tour is not a bad game but is not what I was expecting from a Nintendo Mario Party game. It is good for a good pick-up-and-play and does have some fun minigames. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    4
    This game brought nothing new to the table. It just seemed like Nintendo had some extra time and made a new game. It did not focus enough onThis game brought nothing new to the table. It just seemed like Nintendo had some extra time and made a new game. It did not focus enough on the mini games, and there were not enough unlockables. Expand
  7. May 9, 2014
    0
    This game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suckThis game is not much better than Mario Party 9!!!! The only thing Nintendo fixed was to separate the characters. Again, the minigames suck and so does multiplayer! Expand

See all 33 User Reviews