Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Tennis Open allows players to instantly jump into the multiplayer fun, locally or online, as theirr Mii or their favorite Mushroom Kingdom character.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  4. May 16, 2012
    70
    Mario Tennis Open is like Jessica Alba with a giant, puss-filled zit right on the tip of her nose. Its flaws are glaring and hard to overlook – a beginner-friendly control system that harms competitive online play for purists and, more crucially, a distinct lack of imagination.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    The music was too cutesy and grating for my liking (a complaint I have with many Nintendo sports games), and I would have liked the option to be able to turn it off, but keep the sound effects of the match. Still, I would rate it as a good go-to game to pick up for short periods, like the bus ride to work. Just make sure your headphones are firmly plugged in first.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    The game never embraces its Mario heritage, never allowing itself to break out of a more typical tennis mold to be something unique.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Mario Tennis Open is a more pure tennis experience than it's predecessors, giving you a sense of control on the court. Unfortunately the game is still plagued with elements that leave you at the mercy of chance all too often.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Expand
  2. May 21, 2012
    10
    The mario tennis games once again delivers with beautiful graphics, great music, good gameplay, great extras, good online, and amazing extras so you need to get this game if your a 3ds owner or even if you don't have along with 3d land or mk7 all amazing. Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Why all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can be bothersome, but it's completely optional, that means: don't like it? Don't use it. Still, this game plays very similarly to the N64 and GC versions and there's nothing really wrong or broken about the game. So, if you liked the N64/GC games, and you want to have a Mario Tennis to play on the go, go for it. The bad reviews help keeping the price tag down anyways, so for around 20 bucks it's a steal. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    It's not THAT bad of a game. Sure, the controls are a little rusty, but it's still another enjoyable Mario sports game, and the online almost always works. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    Mario Tennis Open has great pick up and play gameplay. The rapid succesion of powerful shots make tennis a hell of a lot more thrilling than in reality. This is reinforced with Mario specific trinkets and powerups that keep the game pulsing consistently. The locations are decent too, with a lovely SMG themed court with the infectious music to boot. However, not everything feels imaginatively incorporated. Most courts look generic with primary colours giving way to more generic tennis court environments. Also the absence of customisation beyond your Mii downplays the imaginative vibes the game gives off. I suppose the days of Bowser dressing in a Mario T-shirt with Toad Slippers are yet to come. Also the same powers are used by every player, with no specific powers for individual characters. Modes are also meagre, though these convey the pick up and play appeal. None of these issues detract from the core experience though, as Mario Tennis Open is still fast and plenty of fun to enjoy alone or with friends via multiplayer and Streetpass. Expand
  6. May 26, 2012
    5
    Two of the previous Mario Tennis titles (the GBA one and the GC one) are firmly on my list over the 50 best games of all time. That should give you an idea of how much I love this series, and how much I was looking forward to playing this game. But sadly, this is the biggest Nintendo disappointment I've had since Wave Race: Blue Storm. The only thing you really need to know about this game is that the players are randomly dealt super shots. So-called "chance areas" pop up randomly on the court, and if you stand in that circle when hitting the ball, you'll pull off a super shot. So every match I've played both offline and online has pretty much been a game of luck, where the person who gets the smash shot first wins that point. It's more about hoping you get the right areas before your opponent does, than about actually setting up your own shots with skill. And it ruins the game for me. Now, there are som redeeming qualities about the game. For example, the mini games are alright. And collecting better gear is quite addictive since you really notice the difference when you've made a big upgrade. You need to actually play the game in order to unlock them, though. And playing the game just isn't that much fun. Mario Tennis just went from Mario Kart competition, to Mario Party competition. And as long as you care about winning, it won't be much fun at all. You'll just become irritated when your opponent gets his/hers third smash circle in a row, while you get nothing. And when you're the one getting the smash circle, winning isn't satisfying since you know it's just luck and random chance. Mario Tennis Open is a huge disappointment, for sure. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    Yeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable device and for playing in boring time Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers