Mario Tennis Open 3DS

Mario Tennis Open Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Tennis Open allows players to instantly jump into the multiplayer fun, locally or online, as theirr Mii or their favorite Mushroom Kingdom character.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Games Master UK
    May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  4. May 16, 2012
    70
    Mario Tennis Open is like Jessica Alba with a giant, puss-filled zit right on the tip of her nose. Its flaws are glaring and hard to overlook – a beginner-friendly control system that harms competitive online play for purists and, more crucially, a distinct lack of imagination.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    The music was too cutesy and grating for my liking (a complaint I have with many Nintendo sports games), and I would have liked the option to be able to turn it off, but keep the sound effects of the match. Still, I would rate it as a good go-to game to pick up for short periods, like the bus ride to work. Just make sure your headphones are firmly plugged in first.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    The game never embraces its Mario heritage, never allowing itself to break out of a more typical tennis mold to be something unique.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Mario Tennis Open is a more pure tennis experience than it's predecessors, giving you a sense of control on the court. Unfortunately the game is still plagued with elements that leave you at the mercy of chance all too often.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had thei feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based onI really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based on Tennis ? Such a game has a lot of boundaries. The NGC version was less fun with the super attacks u were able to use. It now comes all together to some good old tennis (like the N64 version) !!

    One DOWN side, but not enough to take one point out, is the incredibly bad way of connecting with friends over the internet. The rest is fine and easy to use !!!! Thanks Nintendo (and Camelot) !!
    Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Why all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can beWhy all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can be bothersome, but it's completely optional, that means: don't like it? Don't use it. Still, this game plays very similarly to the N64 and GC versions and there's nothing really wrong or broken about the game. So, if you liked the N64/GC games, and you want to have a Mario Tennis to play on the go, go for it. The bad reviews help keeping the price tag down anyways, so for around 20 bucks it's a steal. Expand
  4. NSM
    Jul 2, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mario Tennis Open is a great game, that brings you back to the original 64 version, while adding new twists to make it its own, unique game. The controls are great, but can be frustrating for some people. Unlocking items for you Mii character can be fun, and allows lots of customization, but can take a while to get what you want. The character roster, is great, although they left out some classic player like Shy Guy, Wiggler, and Petey, MTO has great new additions, like Luma and Dry Bowser. By scanning QR codes you can get even more characters, such as Black Yoshi or Metal Mario. I would have rather seen more unique characters instead of these recolors, but I'm fine with using Luma anyway. This game is for you, if you enjoy the Mario Tennis games, online play, and customization. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2015
    7
    Mario Tennis Open brings nothing new really to the mix of Mario Tennis games, but it still packs solid gameplay mechanics. I think I wouldMario Tennis Open brings nothing new really to the mix of Mario Tennis games, but it still packs solid gameplay mechanics. I think I would rate the game higher if I hadn't played the crud out of Mario Tennis for GBC back in the day; I was surprised to find that my old tactics and skills still worked in this iteration, but that also caused me to lose interest quicker because I felt like I'd already played this game before. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2014
    6
    I adored the GBC-Version of Mario Tennis and gave this one a try. The game looks really good and the actual gameplay feels like the N64I adored the GBC-Version of Mario Tennis and gave this one a try. The game looks really good and the actual gameplay feels like the N64 Version. You can unlock some additional Nintendo characters and you can buy new gear for your Mii, who is a playable character, too.
    Since there is no story-mode like in the GBC-Version (which was so perfect and made it one of my favourite GBC games), you will quickly find the singleplayer boring. You can play Single or Double with an AI-controlled partner. Additionally, there are some minigames in which you can earn coins. These coins are needed to buy some equipment for your Mii. I found myself relatively early having unlocked all cool unlockables and quickly loosing the fun of completing each tournament with each character.

    So far it sounds quite disappointing, but the game's true strength is its multiplayer. First, it features Download play, which I totally love. Second, online multiplayer is quite ok, too (as long as you don't try to play with your friends). Sadly you can only play Tiebreaks, there.

    I wouldn't give much points for the singleplayer experience but the multiplayer kind of saves the game in my opinion. Still, there could be much more cool unlockables, modes, courts, and characters (the roster is quite big, but there are a lot of different coloured Yoshis, wow!). The music is mostly some reworked stuff from the GBC title, which is kind of boring. I would have liked something new.
    Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    Yeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable deviceYeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable device and for playing in boring time Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers