Mario Tennis Open 3DS

Mario Tennis Open Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Tennis Open allows players to instantly jump into the multiplayer fun, locally or online, as theirr Mii or their favorite Mushroom Kingdom character.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Games Master UK
    May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  4. May 16, 2012
    70
    Mario Tennis Open is like Jessica Alba with a giant, puss-filled zit right on the tip of her nose. Its flaws are glaring and hard to overlook – a beginner-friendly control system that harms competitive online play for purists and, more crucially, a distinct lack of imagination.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    The music was too cutesy and grating for my liking (a complaint I have with many Nintendo sports games), and I would have liked the option to be able to turn it off, but keep the sound effects of the match. Still, I would rate it as a good go-to game to pick up for short periods, like the bus ride to work. Just make sure your headphones are firmly plugged in first.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    The game never embraces its Mario heritage, never allowing itself to break out of a more typical tennis mold to be something unique.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Mario Tennis Open is a more pure tennis experience than it's predecessors, giving you a sense of control on the court. Unfortunately the game is still plagued with elements that leave you at the mercy of chance all too often.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    [FR] Mario Tennis Open et superbe au niveau de Nitendo . C'est un superbe jeux , qui permet au fan de tennis de jouer avec beaucoup de[FR] Mario Tennis Open et superbe au niveau de Nitendo . C'est un superbe jeux , qui permet au fan de tennis de jouer avec beaucoup de plaisir sur se mario tennis. En plus de cela on peux modifier son personnage grace aux items debloqués a acheter sur la boutique , Et qu'on peux equiper a son personnage pour le mode multijoueur ou Solo . En plus de cela sur le mode solo il y a des tournois , Sa rapelle mario aux jeux olympiques. Le mode multijoueur est superbe se qui permet de jouer a 4.
    Lien d'une video demo : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqRBPoVJKhs
    Donc : 10/10 :) !
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2012
    10
    Well I was very sceptical about picking this game up after some of the comments its received, but all I can say is I'm so glad I took theWell I was very sceptical about picking this game up after some of the comments its received, but all I can say is I'm so glad I took the gamble. The game starts off very very easy and gets harder with each of the 8 tournaments (4 to start and 4 unlockable). There are also 4 extra character's to unlock (bringing the roster to 20), and the Yoshi hunt to collect different coloured Yoshi's, all with their own strengths & weaknesses. There is one major key factor to Mario Tennis Open, and that is that its Fun (with a capital 'F') to play. It's a great pick up and play game, and for me, its that that sets to top marking. In short, it looks looks good, it plays good and its FUN! If you enjoyed the previous games in the series, go for it and make your own mind up, I'm sure you will get a buzz out of it. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had thei feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    Mario Tennis has really cool hits like smashes, drop shots, lobs and spin shots. King Boo Boo can teleport around the court which I think isMario Tennis has really cool hits like smashes, drop shots, lobs and spin shots. King Boo Boo can teleport around the court which I think is unfair and he is hard to beat. You get to play really cool mini-games. There is a shop and you can unlock things like new tennis racquets, clothing, shoes and wristbands and also costumes. Costumes are the hardest to unlock. There are extra trophies you can win. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2015
    7
    There aren't that many things that are bad about this game in the first place. This is a tennis game, and only a tennis game. Tennis is a gameThere aren't that many things that are bad about this game in the first place. This is a tennis game, and only a tennis game. Tennis is a game of skill, but sometimes there are times you get lucky. This game may get opponents slightly lucky and you frustrated, but there are many techniques you should learn to stop it. Many people here didn't experience all the characters on the roster and find out which one fits them the best. I use the boo, as its spin can reject and trick every AI/Online enemy I meet as they try to slam shot me. slamming is not as OP as the people in the other reviews say. If they do that sort of thing to you, all you need to do is to press r and get it back, assuming your reaction is good enough. There are 8 cups, giving you about 3 or more hours of tournament, but the need for making more characters a star character(beat #4), getting new things for the clubroom, and special games greatly extends the game's gameplay hours to any time you'd want. I currently have 15 hours on this game. Unfortunately, there is one problem with the online, as not many people aren't online playing, you may have a hard time finding a match! Although the final score is a 7.5, I have to take it down to a 7 on metacritic because of the low quality of music (the music is good, but the quality itself is bad... very bad)

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 7.5/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
    Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    6
    By all means this is a great tennis game.... is it a great mario tennis game however? No

    It was rushed and there is a lack of uniqueness
    By all means this is a great tennis game.... is it a great mario tennis game however? No

    It was rushed and there is a lack of uniqueness which is disappointing.
    Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    Yeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable deviceYeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable device and for playing in boring time Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers