Mario Tennis Open Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Tennis Open allows players to instantly jump into the multiplayer fun, locally or online, as theirr Mii or their favorite Mushroom Kingdom character.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mario Tennis Open Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Games Master UK
    May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  4. May 16, 2012
    70
    Mario Tennis Open is like Jessica Alba with a giant, puss-filled zit right on the tip of her nose. Its flaws are glaring and hard to overlook – a beginner-friendly control system that harms competitive online play for purists and, more crucially, a distinct lack of imagination.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    The music was too cutesy and grating for my liking (a complaint I have with many Nintendo sports games), and I would have liked the option to be able to turn it off, but keep the sound effects of the match. Still, I would rate it as a good go-to game to pick up for short periods, like the bus ride to work. Just make sure your headphones are firmly plugged in first.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    The game never embraces its Mario heritage, never allowing itself to break out of a more typical tennis mold to be something unique.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Mario Tennis Open is a more pure tennis experience than it's predecessors, giving you a sense of control on the court. Unfortunately the game is still plagued with elements that leave you at the mercy of chance all too often.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had thei feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based onI really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based on Tennis ? Such a game has a lot of boundaries. The NGC version was less fun with the super attacks u were able to use. It now comes all together to some good old tennis (like the N64 version) !!

    One DOWN side, but not enough to take one point out, is the incredibly bad way of connecting with friends over the internet. The rest is fine and easy to use !!!! Thanks Nintendo (and Camelot) !!
    Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Why all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can beWhy all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can be bothersome, but it's completely optional, that means: don't like it? Don't use it. Still, this game plays very similarly to the N64 and GC versions and there's nothing really wrong or broken about the game. So, if you liked the N64/GC games, and you want to have a Mario Tennis to play on the go, go for it. The bad reviews help keeping the price tag down anyways, so for around 20 bucks it's a steal. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    It's not THAT bad of a game. Sure, the controls are a little rusty, but it's still another enjoyable Mario sports game, and the online almostIt's not THAT bad of a game. Sure, the controls are a little rusty, but it's still another enjoyable Mario sports game, and the online almost always works. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2016
    7
    A decent enough Tennis game.

    I've never cared much for Tennis in real life or videogames, but saw an offer on this game and thought I'd
    A decent enough Tennis game.

    I've never cared much for Tennis in real life or videogames, but saw an offer on this game and thought I'd give it a go. It's fun in itself, but suffers in some ways.

    The controls are marked on the touch screen and can be tapped there for something of an automatic gameplay mode. Markings on the court of particular colours can be translated to more powerful shots by matching that colour to the type of shot you make. Easy peasy on the touch screen, but harder to translate to the buttons if you're playing it more traditionally.

    All in all I found the game quite boring, and regret buying it. It's good for wasting a few minutes here and there, but with Mario Golf, or indeed New Super Mario Bros 2 or 3D land available on the console for some light Mario-related fun, there is no place for this besides for Tennis fans.
    Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    6
    By all means this is a great tennis game.... is it a great mario tennis game however? No

    It was rushed and there is a lack of uniqueness
    By all means this is a great tennis game.... is it a great mario tennis game however? No

    It was rushed and there is a lack of uniqueness which is disappointing.
    Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    Yeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable deviceYeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable device and for playing in boring time Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers