Mario Tennis Open 3DS

Mario Tennis Open Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Tennis Open allows players to instantly jump into the multiplayer fun, locally or online, as theirr Mii or their favorite Mushroom Kingdom character.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Games Master UK
    May 20, 2012
    87
    Entertaining tennis action that proves both challenging and fun. Best played with friends. [July 2012, p.76]
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    May 25, 2012
    80
    The special moves might be a tad too powerful, but otherwise the plumber serves up a well-aimed slice of sporting fun. [June 2012, p.94]
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    Mario Tennis Open feels a bit lifeless at first, simply because it doesn't give any other incentive for playing than to keep unlocking things and to just play more tennis.
  4. May 16, 2012
    70
    Mario Tennis Open is like Jessica Alba with a giant, puss-filled zit right on the tip of her nose. Its flaws are glaring and hard to overlook – a beginner-friendly control system that harms competitive online play for purists and, more crucially, a distinct lack of imagination.
  5. May 21, 2012
    70
    The music was too cutesy and grating for my liking (a complaint I have with many Nintendo sports games), and I would have liked the option to be able to turn it off, but keep the sound effects of the match. Still, I would rate it as a good go-to game to pick up for short periods, like the bus ride to work. Just make sure your headphones are firmly plugged in first.
  6. May 15, 2012
    65
    The game never embraces its Mario heritage, never allowing itself to break out of a more typical tennis mold to be something unique.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    40
    Mario Tennis Open is a more pure tennis experience than it's predecessors, giving you a sense of control on the court. Unfortunately the game is still plagued with elements that leave you at the mercy of chance all too often.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    i feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had thei feel people are being far to harsh to this game, don't trust the critics as it seems like they only played it a couple of days. I've had the game over a month now and i'm still playing everyday online, it plays like the n64 game which i loved , i will admit if you don't have online it would get boring really fast , but if your online this one could last you years, the amount of tactics you have to go through to beat the best is serious stuff.
    overall if your online 10/10 if your not online and don't have friends to play skip it as the single player is only a load tournaments 5/10.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based onI really really don't understand why this game has a such low score. The game is perfectly fine, what else did you expect from a game based on Tennis ? Such a game has a lot of boundaries. The NGC version was less fun with the super attacks u were able to use. It now comes all together to some good old tennis (like the N64 version) !!

    One DOWN side, but not enough to take one point out, is the incredibly bad way of connecting with friends over the internet. The rest is fine and easy to use !!!! Thanks Nintendo (and Camelot) !!
    Collapse
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Why all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can beWhy all the hate? Yes, it doesn't bring anything relevantly new to the mix. Yes, unlocking content with minigame-earned coins can be bothersome, but it's completely optional, that means: don't like it? Don't use it. Still, this game plays very similarly to the N64 and GC versions and there's nothing really wrong or broken about the game. So, if you liked the N64/GC games, and you want to have a Mario Tennis to play on the go, go for it. The bad reviews help keeping the price tag down anyways, so for around 20 bucks it's a steal. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    Mario Tennis has really cool hits like smashes, drop shots, lobs and spin shots. King Boo Boo can teleport around the court which I think isMario Tennis has really cool hits like smashes, drop shots, lobs and spin shots. King Boo Boo can teleport around the court which I think is unfair and he is hard to beat. You get to play really cool mini-games. There is a shop and you can unlock things like new tennis racquets, clothing, shoes and wristbands and also costumes. Costumes are the hardest to unlock. There are extra trophies you can win. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2015
    7
    There aren't that many things that are bad about this game in the first place. This is a tennis game, and only a tennis game. Tennis is a gameThere aren't that many things that are bad about this game in the first place. This is a tennis game, and only a tennis game. Tennis is a game of skill, but sometimes there are times you get lucky. This game may get opponents slightly lucky and you frustrated, but there are many techniques you should learn to stop it. Many people here didn't experience all the characters on the roster and find out which one fits them the best. I use the boo, as its spin can reject and trick every AI/Online enemy I meet as they try to slam shot me. slamming is not as OP as the people in the other reviews say. If they do that sort of thing to you, all you need to do is to press r and get it back, assuming your reaction is good enough. There are 8 cups, giving you about 3 or more hours of tournament, but the need for making more characters a star character(beat #4), getting new things for the clubroom, and special games greatly extends the game's gameplay hours to any time you'd want. I currently have 15 hours on this game. Unfortunately, there is one problem with the online, as not many people aren't online playing, you may have a hard time finding a match! Although the final score is a 7.5, I have to take it down to a 7 on metacritic because of the low quality of music (the music is good, but the quality itself is bad... very bad)

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 7.5/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
    Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2015
    6
    No aporta nada con respecto a las versiones anteriores. Es jugable pero se extraña un modo historia en el cual nuestro personaje iba subiendoNo aporta nada con respecto a las versiones anteriores. Es jugable pero se extraña un modo historia en el cual nuestro personaje iba subiendo en el ranking y avanzando en los torneos. Si bien la idea era hacer un juego arcade y fácil de jugar creo que es momento de aportarle cosas de simulador. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    0
    Yeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable deviceYeah, Mario in every year Nintendo must create new games. Mario was popular 20 years ago bun not now. Now it's normal game for portable device and for playing in boring time Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers