Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D is a step in the right direction when it comes to reaching out to the "hardcore" audience, but there are too many strikes against the title to make it one I'd recommend. Unless you like crazy.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    All in all, the port is well executed and especially Snake never looked better. But that is hardly a good enough reason for veterans of MGS 3: Subsistence to return to the jungle.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    70
    Snake Eater still is a great game, but this 3D-remake is the worst version available. Even though it has some decent 3D-effects, it simply cannot beat the MGS HD-collection in term of content.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    70
    A real classic that shouldn't be missed if you can't play Metal Gear Solid HD Collection or the older versions with better controls. You'll need the classic controller as well to enjoy this properly as well.
  5. 70
    A disappointing version of a (mostly) great game, brought low by both technical and control problems - and the general sense that the game doesn't fit the format.
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    A lacklustre port of a fantastic game. The sad thing is that the improvements to manoeuvrability and updated visuals show us what the ultimate Metal Gear Solid 3 would look like - but then Snake Eater 3D fails to deliver that due to stodgy aiming, low resolutions and a choppy frame-rate.
  7. Feb 29, 2012
    70
    Emulates one of the best games ever adeptly, and if you're a Nintendo fan that never owned any of the previous systems it appeared on, it's worth exploring. However, if you have the Subsistence version for PS2 or last November's MGS HD Collection (which costs the same as this 3DS remake), MGS3D isn't a superior replacement.
  8. Mar 5, 2012
    68
    Aside from the original PS2 release, this is easily the worst iteration of Snake Eater. The lack of extras, the frustrating controls, and the overall performance issues hold it back from being one of the premier third-party games for the 3DS. Don't be hypnotized by this snake's gaze--this is far from the optimal way to experience this classic.
  9. Feb 27, 2012
    67
    The perfection of Metal Gear Solid 3's stealth espionage gameplay is simply lost in its translation to the 3DS platform.
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    When you strip Snake Eater 3D down to its individual mechanics, it's still a strong, if aged, video game. But this stingy re-release features a dodgy camera and an occasionally unstable engine, making for a package that doesn't do justice to the original release.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    Snake Eater 3D is only recommended over the Collection if, for some reason, you don't have a 360 or a PS3
  12. Apr 20, 2012
    50
    While it has some issues it is still completely playable but some people may be turned off by the learning curve of the controls and spotty frame rate but if you are able to looks past all of that then you can still find a fun time.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D. After being a little on the skeptical side, I reserved my copy a little over a week ago. The game launchedMetal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D. After being a little on the skeptical side, I reserved my copy a little over a week ago. The game launched today, and I am more than happy to report to you a couple of things. The controls for this port are top notch. Playing the DEMO, even with the circle pad pro, felt a little clunky, and in the midst of walking, even the frame rate would take an occasional dip, making it even more difficult to navigate. The RETAIL copy of the game seems to address these issues, minus the first person aim mechanic. But the game play is smooth thus far, and during in-game cut scenes are the only time I've noticed any frame drops. The aiming honestly takes a little getting used to, but after you have had the opportunity to play the game for a while, this should not be problem for long.

    I can't review the entire game of course since, I mean lets face it, the game has come out on more than one occasion, in the past year. But I will tell you this. The 3-D effect is by far, some of the easiest on the eyes that I've had the opportunity to witness while playing a 3DS game. Most games, even Mario Kart 7, provide great 3D, but over time, may start to heart your eyes. This game on the other hand, does an excellent job of creating a immersible gaming environment, while at the same time, performing at the level you would want your experience with games that do not have 3D, to have.

    All in all, this product is worth the by, if you can afford it. Yes it's the same story over again, and yes, its the same MGS we've all come to love over the years. This game is a gem, that will be MORE than welcome as a new entry to any current, and, or future 3DS owner.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Way beyond Solid, this is the best game on the 3DS right now. It's a Triple A title, with a great plot, full of twists. Deserves about a 9.5,Way beyond Solid, this is the best game on the 3DS right now. It's a Triple A title, with a great plot, full of twists. Deserves about a 9.5, so I rounded up. The combat system is very in-depth, and the game provides a hearty challenge for those for those who expect to just rush in and shoot. Stealth and camoflauge are absolutely vital to survival, and brilliantly implemented. The enemy AI is well-developed, and their alert system contrasted with your camoflauge techniques provide an atmosphere that demands espionage. The ways you can combat your enemies - rather via hand-to-hand melee, a slow-acting tranquilizer, a variety of guns or grenades, a captured python that you can then recapture and eat, or a nest of angry hornets - are endless. You can stranglehold someone at knifepoint and interrogate them, knock them out, or slice their throat, then drag the body into grass so other enemies won't see it, looting their ammo or grenades. The elaborate "little things" (that actually serve as important gameplay elements) are what makes this game shine, like the conversational codecs and capturing your own food to survive (the more your hunger/stamina is full, the quicker you heal wounds). The Yoshi dolls hidden throughout the game are also a nice Nintendo touch. My only disclaimer is that it isn't beginner-friendly. The controls are fantastic and effective with practice, but very complex. This is truly a gamer's game, and is best played with the Circle Pad Pro. Buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    As a Metal Gear newcomer, I felt excited to have the opportunity to jump into the fray. I am very proud to say that the series deserves it'sAs a Metal Gear newcomer, I felt excited to have the opportunity to jump into the fray. I am very proud to say that the series deserves it's reputation. Well designed plot, character development, puzzle solving, gameplay, action, and drama all rolled up into this 3D powerhouse. Like Resident Evil: Revelations, this game alone is a reason to buy a 3DS. Full Review »