• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    94
    The game is extremely expansive, and features just as much value as (if not a little bit more than) the original.
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    93
    This is a game that anyone who's serious about games should play. A mammoth adventure crafted with unparalleled attention to detail. A fantastic experience. [Feb 2012, p.84]
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    Makes top use of 3D effects. [Apr 2012, p.73]
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    This is an expertly crafted and fun adventure that makes a great portable companion.
  5. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    May not be the definitive version of Snake's Cold War escapades but that doesn't stop it from being a clever, well thought-out and simply great game - frame rate hiccups aside, the impressive and intelligent use of stereoscopic 3D makes the game an absolute joy to look at as well.
  6. Feb 18, 2012
    90
    A phenomenal game. Almost nothing was sacrificed in bringing the title to the Nintendo 3DS; from the opening scene to the powerful ending, every character model and every bit of excellent voice acting is intact, and the production values are sky-high. [March 2012, p.80]
  7. 87
    The remake of the well-known blockbuster game Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) takes advantage on the touch screen for quick and easy equipping of items and weapons and offers enhanced graphics due to the auto-stereoscopic 3D viewing capability of the Nintendo 3DS. Snake Eater 3D also supports the new Circle Pad Pro and utilizes the Gyro Sensor for an improved gameplay experience. The great storyline of the single-player mode, which tells the very first chapter of the whole Metal Gear Solid series, is a fair compensation for the lack of a multiplayer mode.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D. After being a little on the skeptical side, I reserved my copy a little over a week ago. The game launched today, and I am more than happy to report to you a couple of things. The controls for this port are top notch. Playing the DEMO, even with the circle pad pro, felt a little clunky, and in the midst of walking, even the frame rate would take an occasional dip, making it even more difficult to navigate. The RETAIL copy of the game seems to address these issues, minus the first person aim mechanic. But the game play is smooth thus far, and during in-game cut scenes are the only time I've noticed any frame drops. The aiming honestly takes a little getting used to, but after you have had the opportunity to play the game for a while, this should not be problem for long.

    I can't review the entire game of course since, I mean lets face it, the game has come out on more than one occasion, in the past year. But I will tell you this. The 3-D effect is by far, some of the easiest on the eyes that I've had the opportunity to witness while playing a 3DS game. Most games, even Mario Kart 7, provide great 3D, but over time, may start to heart your eyes. This game on the other hand, does an excellent job of creating a immersible gaming environment, while at the same time, performing at the level you would want your experience with games that do not have 3D, to have.

    All in all, this product is worth the by, if you can afford it. Yes it's the same story over again, and yes, its the same MGS we've all come to love over the years. This game is a gem, that will be MORE than welcome as a new entry to any current, and, or future 3DS owner.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Way beyond Solid, this is the best game on the 3DS right now. It's a Triple A title, with a great plot, full of twists. Deserves about a 9.5, so I rounded up. The combat system is very in-depth, and the game provides a hearty challenge for those for those who expect to just rush in and shoot. Stealth and camoflauge are absolutely vital to survival, and brilliantly implemented. The enemy AI is well-developed, and their alert system contrasted with your camoflauge techniques provide an atmosphere that demands espionage. The ways you can combat your enemies - rather via hand-to-hand melee, a slow-acting tranquilizer, a variety of guns or grenades, a captured python that you can then recapture and eat, or a nest of angry hornets - are endless. You can stranglehold someone at knifepoint and interrogate them, knock them out, or slice their throat, then drag the body into grass so other enemies won't see it, looting their ammo or grenades. The elaborate "little things" (that actually serve as important gameplay elements) are what makes this game shine, like the conversational codecs and capturing your own food to survive (the more your hunger/stamina is full, the quicker you heal wounds). The Yoshi dolls hidden throughout the game are also a nice Nintendo touch. My only disclaimer is that it isn't beginner-friendly. The controls are fantastic and effective with practice, but very complex. This is truly a gamer's game, and is best played with the Circle Pad Pro. Buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    As a Metal Gear newcomer, I felt excited to have the opportunity to jump into the fray. I am very proud to say that the series deserves it's reputation. Well designed plot, character development, puzzle solving, gameplay, action, and drama all rolled up into this 3D powerhouse. Like Resident Evil: Revelations, this game alone is a reason to buy a 3DS. Full Review »