Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D 3DS

Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater 3D Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the aftermath of the Second World War, the world was torn in two between East and West. It was the beginning of a new era- the Cold War. October 16, 1962. The President of the United States received word that the Soviet Union had deployed nuclear missiles in Cuba. The world trembled inIn the aftermath of the Second World War, the world was torn in two between East and West. It was the beginning of a new era- the Cold War. October 16, 1962. The President of the United States received word that the Soviet Union had deployed nuclear missiles in Cuba. The world trembled in fear as the prospect of nuclear war loomed ever closer. After days of tense negotiations, the Soviets finally agreed on the 28th to withdraw their missiles from Cuban soil. With the resolution of this incident, later to be known as the Cuban Missile Crisis, it seemed that humanity had survived yet another threat to its existence. However, there was a secret condition in the deal that put an end to the crisis. Nokolai Stepanovich Sokolov, a Soviet scientist who had defected to the West, was to be sent back to the Soviet Union. The U.S. government agreed to this stipulation, and returned Sokolov back to his native land. Little did they know that Sokolov was to be the designer of a nightmarish weapon. Now, with Sokolov back in their hands, the Soviets are ready to resume its development. If this weapon is completed, it will mark the beginning of a new age of fear. August 1964. Realizing at last the urgency of the situation, the CIA forms a plan to recapture Sokolov. They dispatch the covert FOX unit to Sokolov’s research facility, located to the south of the great Soviet fortress of Groznyj Grad. Led by former SAS member Major Zero, FOX is a next-generation special-forces unit that operates both as a specialized combat group and as a covert intelligence outfit. The FOX unit’s modus operandi is to send a single agent, backed by radio support from afar, into enemy territory to carry out solo sneaking missions. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    94
    The game is extremely expansive, and features just as much value as (if not a little bit more than) the original.
  2. Nintendo Power
    Feb 18, 2012
    90
    A phenomenal game. Almost nothing was sacrificed in bringing the title to the Nintendo 3DS; from the opening scene to the powerful ending, every character model and every bit of excellent voice acting is intact, and the production values are sky-high. [March 2012, p.80]
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    82
    But without the Circle Pad Pro, it's a bit of a bumpier ride - albeit a more portable one. The four face buttons now control the camera, which is vastly inferior, and makes a lot of difference. Seriously, Nintendo can't come out with revised 3DS hardware soon enough.
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    If you've never fought with The End, eaten a rotting crab or climbed the tallest ladder in gaming, and if the 3DS is the only console you own, you really should acquire this game as soon as you can. When everyone said that you'd love it, they really weren't lying.
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    75
    The game succeeds because of the story rather than despite it– and the controls aren't terrible enough to stop you from wanting to play more. And as far as 3D goes– well, they're not entirely necessary, but they're a nice touch, too, especially when you're judging the distance between you and an enemy.
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    I'm not saying that Snake Eater is an inferior game; it's my favorite in the series. However, this version is only worthwhile for people who have no other choice. Even then, with the $40 you'd spend on Snake Eater 3D, you could probably buy an old PS2 and the original game, or the HD Collection on 360 and PS3. If you want the real Snake Eater experience, those are far better options.
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    50
    While it has some issues it is still completely playable but some people may be turned off by the learning curve of the controls and spotty frame rate but if you are able to looks past all of that then you can still find a fun time.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Way beyond Solid, this is the best game on the 3DS right now. It's a Triple A title, with a great plot, full of twists. Deserves about a 9.5,Way beyond Solid, this is the best game on the 3DS right now. It's a Triple A title, with a great plot, full of twists. Deserves about a 9.5, so I rounded up. The combat system is very in-depth, and the game provides a hearty challenge for those for those who expect to just rush in and shoot. Stealth and camoflauge are absolutely vital to survival, and brilliantly implemented. The enemy AI is well-developed, and their alert system contrasted with your camoflauge techniques provide an atmosphere that demands espionage. The ways you can combat your enemies - rather via hand-to-hand melee, a slow-acting tranquilizer, a variety of guns or grenades, a captured python that you can then recapture and eat, or a nest of angry hornets - are endless. You can stranglehold someone at knifepoint and interrogate them, knock them out, or slice their throat, then drag the body into grass so other enemies won't see it, looting their ammo or grenades. The elaborate "little things" (that actually serve as important gameplay elements) are what makes this game shine, like the conversational codecs and capturing your own food to survive (the more your hunger/stamina is full, the quicker you heal wounds). The Yoshi dolls hidden throughout the game are also a nice Nintendo touch. My only disclaimer is that it isn't beginner-friendly. The controls are fantastic and effective with practice, but very complex. This is truly a gamer's game, and is best played with the Circle Pad Pro. Buy this game. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    Greatest of all in the series. And the 3ds version is a superior of hd versions. It have better controls, graphics and the pause. Yes, the hdGreatest of all in the series. And the 3ds version is a superior of hd versions. It have better controls, graphics and the pause. Yes, the hd version on ps3 don't have pause on cut scenes. I would recommend the 3ds xl for better experience. Young Ocelot is really impressive character. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't played the original version and in fact I have only tried metal gear solid on nes and playstation. That is why I was reallyI haven't played the original version and in fact I have only tried metal gear solid on nes and playstation. That is why I was really impressed on what I have seen even just in the demo. I really like stealth and strategy games, that's why I can really recommend this game. Also, based on what I have read and heard, the actual retail version is really good. Lastly, it's annoying that there are some trolls giving ridiculous reviews for this game. Just like one user who game this game a "0", and upon checking his profile, I discovered that he is without a doubt a ps vita fanboy since he also gave mario land 3d and mario kart 7 a 0! Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    This is the first Metal Gear game I have ever played, and I have to say that it's fantastic, utterly brilliant. It took me a little while toThis is the first Metal Gear game I have ever played, and I have to say that it's fantastic, utterly brilliant. It took me a little while to get into the game properly, but once you do, you realize how good the game (and the series) is. It is a perfect port on the 3DS, the 3D really adding quite a lot for me (in terms of how it looks and plays), the gameplay is fantastic, but slow: something that might put a few people off, but it is a stealth game, so you should know kind of what to expect when going in. There are downsides though, you will need to purchase a circle pad pro to fully appreciate the game, so it's kind of a no-go for 3DS XL owners for the time being, and, like I said above, it took me a little while to get into the game. Everything about this game is brilliant, so long as you can play it with the circle pad pro. Awesome, 93/100. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Amazing game. Well-built gameplay and world design. Excellent story that gets in your head. The 3D effect enhances the gameplay and the gameAmazing game. Well-built gameplay and world design. Excellent story that gets in your head. The 3D effect enhances the gameplay and the game is best with the Circle Pad Pro. So much more praise I could give this game! Well done Hideo Kojima! Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    A great port of the ps2 original, the graphics may look the same as the ps2 game but it is definitely one of the best versions of the game. ItA great port of the ps2 original, the graphics may look the same as the ps2 game but it is definitely one of the best versions of the game. It has a camouflage system that is even better than the original. You can use the camera to make camouflage in the game. All of the menus are through the touchscreen which can feel awkward at first but it is a lot faster than the original control on the ps2. If you want to play metal gear solid snake eater on the go or have never experienced the game, i recommend this version. if you have the ps2 version and don't care about portability, i think it would be worth it at a lower price. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    1
    I love my 3DS and despite it missing a second analog stick
    I have enjoyed games like resident evil when I first did not believe
    It could
    I love my 3DS and despite it missing a second analog stick
    I have enjoyed games like resident evil when I first did not believe
    It could work with only one analog stick. As a snake fan I jumped on this
    game believing it would be fun. Guess again!!!
    I just can't believe how bad the camera and the controls are. I really tried
    to give it a chance but it made me furious how bad it's implemented. It's just a
    Poor port. They should have spend more time on it for the 3DS and fine tuned the
    camera and controllers. In current shape for me at least the game in unplayable
    hence the low grade.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews