Metroid Prime: Federation Force 3DS

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56
Buy On
  1. 45
    Not a good game at all. When you find yourself just wanting to complete levels to see if the game ever changes and gets better, that’s a sign that something is very wrong. The core gameplay is simplistic, boring, and not the level of quality one would expect from a Metroid game. Other M may have been the most fan-derided Metroid game until now, but Federation Force will easily take the crown from here on out.
  2. 40
    A limited game that fails to do justice to its source material. That’s not to say that the game has no value, because it is decent fun in multiplayer for short sessions, but lacking the atmosphere and narrative as it is, as well as any kind of balance to make it viable for single player play, means it’s one that is going to be forgotten within months.
  3. Sep 19, 2016
    40
    Other M is no longer the worst Metroid game.
  4. Sep 1, 2016
    40
    If Metroid Prime: Federation Force is anything to go by, I am fearful of the future of the 30 year old franchise. The controls do take some getting used to on the New 3DS, but those with the standard 3DS should avoid this like the plague, due to the terribly optimised controls for that hardware. It’s certainly not fun on its own and only marginally more so with others. This is not the Metroid game we’ve been waiting for.
  5. Aug 30, 2016
    40
    A lethargic, dismal experience, Federation Force is not the franchise-killing disaster most make it out to be, but it definitely isn't worth your time at all.
  6. Aug 30, 2016
    35
    There is a core idea here that could’ve worked, but Metroid Prime: Federation Force is nothing short of a disaster due to horribly thought out implementation and shoddy execution.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 19, 2016
    While it may not be a classic Metroid, it proves to be the kind of strategic shooter not seen from Nintendo before. Its designers enter such uncharted territory with aplomb, and the resulting game is one of the most pleasant surprises of the season.
  2. Aug 19, 2016
    Federation Force has proven to be a pleasant surprise, and my feelings on playing the game quickly went from "reluctant dread" to "respectful delight."
  3. Aug 24, 2016
    Yes, it is quite a bit more fun to run down Federation Force‘s hallways and headshot its Space Pirates when you have a group. But a lot of that, it seems to me, is because the game is designed to be much easier when you have a team and very challenging, even inhospitable, to a solo player.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 20 out of 55
  1. Aug 19, 2016
    10
    Metroid Prime: Federation Force is a true masterpiece of the FPS Genre, and expands the Metroid universe with a gripping narrative that leavesMetroid Prime: Federation Force is a true masterpiece of the FPS Genre, and expands the Metroid universe with a gripping narrative that leaves you hooked till the last mission Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2016
    7
    Federation Force is meant to be a multiplayer game and it is not necessarily but game suffers from a few critical issues.
    Federation force
    Federation Force is meant to be a multiplayer game and it is not necessarily but game suffers from a few critical issues.
    Federation force encourages you to play with your friends, it does not restrict from doing missions solo but it just feels so bland and tasteless. with having other friends in your game the game feels more alive and enjoyable.
    first problem is problematic control scheme. getting used to motion sensor for shooting accuracy is kind of annoying, but the second control scheme which benefits from extra control of new 3ds is much better.
    The gameplay takes place in 3 different planets, variety of missions are present and takes roughly 11-13 hours to complete the campaign. The problem is some of the objectives are a bit dull, but each mission has its own set of unique designs, battles and puzzles which kept me interested throughout the whole game enough. One of the biggest issue in the game is upgrades and guns, sadly there arent enough resources in the game to use these upgrades more often, this result into a boring single gun for the whole 13 hours. I believe this is the biggest issue and it adds so much repetition. battles are fun and boss fights are challenging and amazing but sadly having a same gun makes the action boring. Overall I should say Federation force could have been much better if some of the ideas were executed better.
    Is it worth it ? Im going to say YES it is, its not like 3ds gets FPS games now and then, nth is better than a metroid prime spinoff at least ! but i am going to emphasize also this game isnt that good playing solo !
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2016
    7
    You see, I've been sitting all day... asking my 3DS, "Is this game worth it or not? They can't fail to make this one a bummer, unlike Star FoxYou see, I've been sitting all day... asking my 3DS, "Is this game worth it or not? They can't fail to make this one a bummer, unlike Star Fox Zero (Score for that is a solid 7/10)." That's until I'm starting to recognize its flaws while playing this game. While the game itself may or may not be filled with the best fun, the iconic feeling that made Metroid what it is today is obviously missing and I can't play this game without thinking of those feelings. It may seem to work enough as a 30th anniversary game though. All Metroid fans, this game is not as bad as you thought it would, but don't be expecting much of it because I know what your opinion could be. Full Review »