Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    80
    Mighty Switch Force 2 is well worth a punt, with puzzle-platforming that will hold your attention from start to end.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    68
    Keeps the spirit of its predecessor, but misses the chance to live up to its title. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    73
    Mighty Switch Force! 2 is just too similar to the previous entry: it's a great game as well, albeit short, but it's more an alternative than a true sequel.
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    It's not a huge step forward from the previous episode, but you'll find so much content and fun that if you liked the first one you'll have little to complain about.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    60
    Rather than developing the original’s ideas, it’s content to simply reuse them. Zipping around via a network of boost tiles no longer carries the same thrill, and though squeezing the shoulder button as a monster passes by a translucent platform remains one of the most deliciously cruel ways to dispose of an enemy, repeating the trick diminishes its impact.
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    Entertaining it most certainly is, but WayForward should really be pushing a little bit harder than this. [Issue#138, p.116]
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    75
    If you haven't experienced the Switch Force series yet, you're probably better off buying the original or the Wii U update for now. Mighty Switch Force! 2 isn't a bad game by any means, it's just more of the same sans an upgrade of the formula, and the level design is actually a bit weaker than the original (but still good).
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    There is a lot of variation in the levels in Mighty Switch Force 2, but the game is still too short. The gameplay, however, is still brilliant and the 3D style really adds something to the game.
  9. Jun 11, 2013
    70
    Mighty Switch Force! 2 delivers a fun experience that we have come to expect from WayForward. The light-hearted charm of the original is completely intact, with cutesy graphics and great soundtrack lending significant flair to the overall package, and fans of the puzzle style and par times pursuits will get good value.
  10. 80
    If you loved the original, it’s totally worthwhile.
  11. More of the same, a little bit tougher and a little more lame. It's a fiendish, addictive, intelligent game, but if you find yourself cursing, you know who to blame.
  12. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    Ultimately, Mighty Switch Force 2 succeeds in creating new and interesting gameplay, but fails to realize the massive potential behind its inventive mechanics.
  13. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    For those who have not played the original, this is a good entrance to the series. For fans that played the original, this is one additional challenge.
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Mighty Switch Force 2 really is the perfect sequel. The success-formula hasn't been rigorously edited, but feels fresh and new thanks to some great complimentary additions. It's also less frustrating and balanced better than its predecessor, and still remains challenging.
  15. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Mighty Switch Force! 2 continues to provide a very refreshing side-scrolling experience on Nintendo 3DS. It's one of the most addictive platformers on the system, with tricky puzzles and high replayability.
  16. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Another lovely platform/puzzle game, with an adorable visual style, an engaging soundtrack, tight controls and some very good level design. It has its charm, but there's too much “more of the same” and if you're not into Time Attack it's pretty short. Fans of the Mighty series should love it, though.
  17. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    Scrap the MegaMan-esque pistol and add a FLUDD-alike hose. Wagon's apparently subtle job change is actually the biggest improvement Mighty Switch Force! 2 does. It allows the game's core - the switch gameplay - to shine brighter, with enemies being more puzzle-centric than the previous more simplistic path obstacles. This sequel pretty much functions like the original, but it's the little enhancements, such as the great learning curve for each tile fitting into single levels, that makes the game not only feels more challenging, but better. If only the art styles used in some of the last levels got more time in the spotlight.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Better than the original, the Firehose allows for some really creative puzzle solving, its more harder but never unfair, and has a great sense of accomplishment.

    I should disclose this right away, I absolutely loved the first Mighty Switch Force although I was left rather wanting more after finishing the first one and hitting all the par times, though the nice incentive of free DLC was a nice bonus.

    Here like the first there's only 16 levels again with par times but replay value is extended with the addition of a hidden baby located in each level and without spoiling anything I have to say the way the main character "rescues" these babies is freaking hilarious everytime I see it.

    As I mentioned earlier this game has quite a bit of challenge to it, but not once did I ever feel that this game was unfair, just like the last game you have your usual blocks that you can switch in back and forth as well as some more creative "launch blocks" and red and blue colour blocks, though added to the mix is the inclusion of mud blocks which unlike the first game you shouldn't just go around blasting away as you might miss something important, also no are the added green blocks which ad a new layer of difficulty introduced in the final stages of the game.

    Most of the enemies in this game have been reuses aside from about 3 new faces although I don't really see this as a big issue since the ones that were indeed carried over had nothing wrong with them and hey since Mario has been able to get away with reusing Goomba's and Koopa's why not Patty Wagon?

    The soundtrack just like the first game is AWESOME, Jake Kaufman once again brings his A-game sporting some brilliant and catchy tunes including one absolutely hilarious final credits song that you have to check out, one minor nitpick though is that one song in particular I felt started off very well but halfway through went into a rather forced Dubstep rift that felt very out of place, regardless thought every other song is fantastic, just like the first soundtrack I downloaded it from Virt's Bandcamp and really happily listen to it on my iPod whenever I can.

    Overall I'd highly recommend it especially if you've played the original, if you haven't go play that one first then pick this one up, they're both really cheap on the eShop right now at about $6 each
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    For this amount of money it's a MUST HAVE title for 3DS. Really fun, intelligent pluzzes and quick stages. It encourages perfectionism and multiple playtroughs. Really nice graphics and music. GET IT. Full Review »
  3. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    8
    A fun little game that nicely expands on the original. I would happily pay more for the game if they included more levels. I'd also love to see them bring it to the Wii U as they did with the first game. Full Review »