Mighty Switch Force! 2 3DS

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Better than the original, the Firehose allows for some really creative puzzle solving, its more harder but never unfair, and has a great sense of accomplishment.

    I should disclose this right away, I absolutely loved the first Mighty Switch Force although I was left rather wanting more after finishing the first one and hitting all the par times, though the nice incentive of free DLC was
    Better than the original, the Firehose allows for some really creative puzzle solving, its more harder but never unfair, and has a great sense of accomplishment.

    I should disclose this right away, I absolutely loved the first Mighty Switch Force although I was left rather wanting more after finishing the first one and hitting all the par times, though the nice incentive of free DLC was a nice bonus.

    Here like the first there's only 16 levels again with par times but replay value is extended with the addition of a hidden baby located in each level and without spoiling anything I have to say the way the main character "rescues" these babies is freaking hilarious everytime I see it.

    As I mentioned earlier this game has quite a bit of challenge to it, but not once did I ever feel that this game was unfair, just like the last game you have your usual blocks that you can switch in back and forth as well as some more creative "launch blocks" and red and blue colour blocks, though added to the mix is the inclusion of mud blocks which unlike the first game you shouldn't just go around blasting away as you might miss something important, also no are the added green blocks which ad a new layer of difficulty introduced in the final stages of the game.

    Most of the enemies in this game have been reuses aside from about 3 new faces although I don't really see this as a big issue since the ones that were indeed carried over had nothing wrong with them and hey since Mario has been able to get away with reusing Goomba's and Koopa's why not Patty Wagon?

    The soundtrack just like the first game is AWESOME, Jake Kaufman once again brings his A-game sporting some brilliant and catchy tunes including one absolutely hilarious final credits song that you have to check out, one minor nitpick though is that one song in particular I felt started off very well but halfway through went into a rather forced Dubstep rift that felt very out of place, regardless thought every other song is fantastic, just like the first soundtrack I downloaded it from Virt's Bandcamp and really happily listen to it on my iPod whenever I can.

    Overall I'd highly recommend it especially if you've played the original, if you haven't go play that one first then pick this one up, they're both really cheap on the eShop right now at about $6 each
    Expand
  2. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    8
    A fun little game that nicely expands on the original. I would happily pay more for the game if they included more levels. I'd also love to see them bring it to the Wii U as they did with the first game.
  3. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    For this amount of money it's a MUST HAVE title for 3DS. Really fun, intelligent pluzzes and quick stages. It encourages perfectionism and multiple playtroughs. Really nice graphics and music. GET IT.
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    If you played the first game this will be acquaintance to you, a little change here and there, overall not a completely new game, but very enjoyable.
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Fans of the original or HD version of this game will welcome the change in career for Patty as the firehose definitely adds a sense of freshness to a game that is largely the same. There is also the addition of new types of blocks and a new color for the much hated switch blocks, as well as a few new enemies. It never feels as if the original game is being replayed however (it's simply theFans of the original or HD version of this game will welcome the change in career for Patty as the firehose definitely adds a sense of freshness to a game that is largely the same. There is also the addition of new types of blocks and a new color for the much hated switch blocks, as well as a few new enemies. It never feels as if the original game is being replayed however (it's simply the same engine, think Mega Man) and levels that are seemingly the same are more comparable to notorious types of levels in other games. Like how in Donkey Kong Country a mine cart stage is expected, a launch block-only stage seems guaranteed. And like in the original, the final stage is an auto-switching level that does the hard work for you and leaves you to run, jump, douse enemies and solve puzzles before the next switch.

    The firehose itself is used in ways that the gun in the original could not. It can slowly ebb out a trickle of water or blast out a steady stream, making alternating between stronger and weaker streams necessary when trying out the par times. Puzzles are often longer and more difficult the first time through and this is lent to the fact that the new block types can't be faced with a brute force attitude. When not solving hose-based puzzles, launching yourself everywhere looking for the reformed Hooligan Girls or scratching your head solving the multi-colored switch blocks there are some stages where actual firefighting is quite prominent and these stages are an absolute blast.

    In terms of replayability collectables have been slightly expanded from the original as now there are USBs (Ugly Secret Babies) to find in each level as well as the returning par times. There are rewards for beating the game, parring the game, and collecting all the USBs, so it might be worth your while to try all of these. Upon beating the game a Mighty Hose is unlocked, so if you're having trouble parring a stage the super-powered hose is worth a try. It also serves as an incentive to improve past the par times as the hose eats through the vast majority of the stages and makes the process of beating them more enjoyable

    The game is topped off with an once again incredible soundtrack by Jake Kaufman and amazing 2D sprites. Everything from the background to the Ugly Twitching Dog that serves as your fire hydrant-dwelling checkpoint (surrogate dalmatian, as the game's manual puts it) is a joy to look at. This is most noticeable in the Hooligan Girls as their sprites have been changed to have their own personalities instead of the fairly bland ones in the original (HD remake aside).

    Overall Mighty Switch Force 2 is more of the same with improved everything. Some will lament the fact that the game is too short but a game this fun and charming is well worth the price.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    There is a lot of variation in the levels in Mighty Switch Force 2, but the game is still too short. The gameplay, however, is still brilliant and the 3D style really adds something to the game.
  2. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    68
    Keeps the spirit of its predecessor, but misses the chance to live up to its title. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  3. games(TM)
    Aug 21, 2013
    60
    Entertaining it most certainly is, but WayForward should really be pushing a little bit harder than this. [Issue#138, p.116]