Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    100
    It's short but sweet, which I personally prefer over games that overstay their welcome. It's also a pleasure to play, with a satisfying mix of action/platformer pizzazz and puzzle elements with a steady, addictive progression from those simple first stages to the devious concoctions of the late game.
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    91
    A great example of the types of experiences the eShop needs moving forward: It's a fun game that poses a fair challenge without being overly complicated.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    90
    At its price Mighty Switch Force is a real bargain and a must-have for every 3DS owner. Great visuals, flawless design and exiting stages.
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    90
    Consider Mighty Switch Force! a short but undeniably sweet adventure, as well as another wonderful entry for the 3DS eShop. Well done, WayForward. Well done indeed.
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    Mighty Switch Force is easily one of the best games WayForward has crafted and just the type of top-tier 3DS title Nintendo's eShop has been in dire need of.
  6. After Shantae: Risky's Revenge, Aliens Infestation and Mighty Flip Champs, this is another excellent game from WayForward. Packed with original ideas but there just aren't enough stages.
  7. Jan 13, 2012
    85
    A great game, one of the best to have hit the eShop of the Nintendo 3DS. Its great visuals, soundtrack and gameplay blend perfectly. We only miss some more content.
  8. Dec 27, 2011
    85
    Mighty Switch Force is the best Mighty installment yet, even if it still feels like a tease. It's a game of cops and robbers, the sexy future edition, that blends light running-and-gunning with crazy platform manipulation. Once again, WayForward proves that it knows what its doing when it comes to downloadable titles on a Nintendo service.
  9. Jan 4, 2012
    83
    Integrated online leaderboards would greatly enhance the game, but even without them, Mighty Switch Force delivers a fun albeit short on-the-go gaming experience for 3DS.
  10. Jan 5, 2012
    82
    Mighty Switch Force is an excellent download: it is intelligent and addictive, and it features some of the most engaging puzzles ever seen. Unfortunately, it is a little too brief for our tastes, but with its small price it'd be a shame not to play it nonetheless.
  11. Aug 6, 2012
    80
    Mighty Switch Force screws with your noodle while forcing you to try and speed through the levels to meet the ungodly fast 'par', always taunting you with your slowness.
  12. 80
    Mighty Force Switch is a game that offers plenty for a reduced price. Connoisseurs of the series will find diversified mechanics that alone puts this game on another level compared to the previous ones, and for newcomers, it is not possible to find a better debut.
  13. Jan 13, 2012
    80
    One of the best Nintendo eShop games available. A juicy mix between Mega Man and Outland, for a fistful of bucks.
  14. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    If you have the speedrunning bug, be warned: Mighty Switch Force's taunting clockwork worlds are going to be a dangerous, and possibly fairly maddening, compulsion. Even if you don't, this is still clever, personable, and beautifully made.
  15. 80
    So despite its brevity and frustrating par times, MSF is one of the best games in the eShop library, and a pleasant surprise at the end of 2011.
  16. Dec 28, 2011
    80
    WayForward is certainly pushing Nintendo portables…well…forward! All four of their downloadable DSi/3DS titles are must haves, and some of the best on the platform. Although they've been making licensed games for quite some time now, it feels like they've finally found their original IP cartoony groove, and I really hope they stick to it.
  17. Dec 23, 2011
    80
    Mighty Switch Force is a great first effort from WayForward for Nintendo's 3DS, but it has its issues. The game lacks length, and its Par times will unnecessarily encourage players to rush through their first playthroughs – making the game seem even shorter and stealing away some of their sense of the success.
  18. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Almost the perfect portable download, with a great gimmick exploited with skilful level design and gorgeous visuals and 3D effects.
  19. Jan 19, 2012
    78
    Mighty Switch Force is a fun puzzle game for 3DS. The bad? It's too short.
  20. Dec 28, 2011
    78
    Mighty Switch Force is a game with a lot of potential that the game dev studio can't express at full power. The game is a little bit too short and lacks in challenge.
  21. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Amazing production values should rightfully be lauded, but we expect a bit more than just a measly two hours of fun for our 5.60. [March 2012, p.97]
  22. Feb 5, 2012
    75
    Mighty Switch Force is a fun, well designed puzzle platformer, keeping you interested until the end. You'll reach that end far too soon however and there is but little motivation to return to completed levels.
  23. Jan 26, 2012
    75
    Mighty Switch Force! is a fun and smart game with a good use for the 3D functionality. Unfortunately the game is very short.
  24. Jan 17, 2012
    75
    Fresh puzzle platforming mechanics and great visuals make Mighty Switch Force a fun, though short, crime-fighting adventure.
  25. Jan 15, 2012
    75
    Where most games arbitrarily pad their running times, Mighty Switch Force is scant, lasting no more than two hours on the high end. The ride ends just as it's getting interesting.
  26. Jan 6, 2012
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. Jan 4, 2012
    70
    Pinballing between boost blocks on the shorter stages is an undoubted thrill, but when a single, late mistake on the lengthier levels proves decisive, the less patient among us will likely find that an old-fashioned punishment too far.
  28. Jan 3, 2012
    70
    Mighty Switch Force is clever, charming, and fun, but feels more like a prototype than a full game.
  29. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    Mighty Switch Force is more of a platformer / puzzle game than an action one, but even if its concept's quite basic, it's still a solid one. The game is a little short, but very well done.
  30. Feb 26, 2012
    59
    It's certainly not bad, but it lacks the strategy of Pullblox and the panic of Mario's Flip Switch Galaxies. [Feb 2012, p.106]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute blast! It's got gorgeous 2D graphics in a 3D plane (with some of the best 3D implementation I've ever seen. It'll make you want every future 2D game to be be in 3D) Amazing electronic up-beat soundtrack by previous WayForward game titles composer, Jake Kaufman, and of course the sweet, super-tight gameplay. If WayForward's previous titles are any indication, you should know to pick this game up right away. It combines Shantae's excellent platforming, with Mighty Flip Champs' killer puzzles, in a future setting. Fast-paced, short levels that press you to better and better your score. 16 fun, brain-teasing, action-packed levels fill out this game, and with a $6 price tag, you can't go wrong. High re-playability, and Highly recommended Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Mighty Switch Force is an incredible game, just too short to claim a 10. The Design is perfect, the gimmicks of the game-play are well crafted and the musics are great. It's too bad there's only 16 levels. Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could've given it a 9.5 because it is clearly one of the best 3DS eShop titles so far (right behind Pushmo). This is the ONLY game where I play with the 3D permanently on because for one, it never hurts my eyes and two, WarForward really used the 3D in this game amazingly. The music is by far one of my favorites I've heard in almost any game and is a reason why I go back to play certain levels just so I can listen to the music again. It helps that the gameplay is fun, unique, and nicely paced. The par time drives you to return to best your previous time, especially when you learn the pattern of each stage after a few tries. I just really wished this game had at least 30 stages, that probably would've been perfect for a game of this price with nearly all the stages timing you to finish under 2 (several under 1) minutes, but all in all, it's an amazing title and I look forward to more eShop titles from WayForward (already loved their A Boy and His Blob remake). Full Review »