Mighty Switch Force! 3DS

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    70
    Mighty Switch Force is clever, charming, and fun, but feels more like a prototype than a full game.
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    70
    Pinballing between boost blocks on the shorter stages is an undoubted thrill, but when a single, late mistake on the lengthier levels proves decisive, the less patient among us will likely find that an old-fashioned punishment too far.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    Mighty Switch Force is more of a platformer / puzzle game than an action one, but even if its concept's quite basic, it's still a solid one. The game is a little short, but very well done.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    Feb 26, 2012
    59
    It's certainly not bad, but it lacks the strategy of Pullblox and the panic of Mario's Flip Switch Galaxies. [Feb 2012, p.106]
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute blast! It's got gorgeous 2D graphics in a 3D plane (with some of the best 3D implementation I've ever seen. It'llThis game is an absolute blast! It's got gorgeous 2D graphics in a 3D plane (with some of the best 3D implementation I've ever seen. It'll make you want every future 2D game to be be in 3D) Amazing electronic up-beat soundtrack by previous WayForward game titles composer, Jake Kaufman, and of course the sweet, super-tight gameplay. If WayForward's previous titles are any indication, you should know to pick this game up right away. It combines Shantae's excellent platforming, with Mighty Flip Champs' killer puzzles, in a future setting. Fast-paced, short levels that press you to better and better your score. 16 fun, brain-teasing, action-packed levels fill out this game, and with a $6 price tag, you can't go wrong. High re-playability, and Highly recommended Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Mighty Switch Force is an incredible game, just too short to claim a 10. The Design is perfect, the gimmicks of the game-play are well craftedMighty Switch Force is an incredible game, just too short to claim a 10. The Design is perfect, the gimmicks of the game-play are well crafted and the musics are great. It's too bad there's only 16 levels. Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could'veI would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could've given it a 9.5 because it is clearly one of the best 3DS eShop titles so far (right behind Pushmo). This is the ONLY game where I play with the 3D permanently on because for one, it never hurts my eyes and two, WarForward really used the 3D in this game amazingly. The music is by far one of my favorites I've heard in almost any game and is a reason why I go back to play certain levels just so I can listen to the music again. It helps that the gameplay is fun, unique, and nicely paced. The par time drives you to return to best your previous time, especially when you learn the pattern of each stage after a few tries. I just really wished this game had at least 30 stages, that probably would've been perfect for a game of this price with nearly all the stages timing you to finish under 2 (several under 1) minutes, but all in all, it's an amazing title and I look forward to more eShop titles from WayForward (already loved their A Boy and His Blob remake). Full Review »