User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is an absolute blast! It's got gorgeous 2D graphics in a 3D plane (with some of the best 3D implementation I've ever seen. It'll make you want every future 2D game to be be in 3D) Amazing electronic up-beat soundtrack by previous WayForward game titles composer, Jake Kaufman, and of course the sweet, super-tight gameplay. If WayForward's previous titles are any indication, you should know to pick this game up right away. It combines Shantae's excellent platforming, with Mighty Flip Champs' killer puzzles, in a future setting. Fast-paced, short levels that press you to better and better your score. 16 fun, brain-teasing, action-packed levels fill out this game, and with a $6 price tag, you can't go wrong. High re-playability, and Highly recommended Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Mighty Switch Force is an incredible game, just too short to claim a 10. The Design is perfect, the gimmicks of the game-play are well crafted and the musics are great. It's too bad there's only 16 levels.
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    The driving gameplay mechanic, aka the block switching, is pretty simple but they got a lot of out it and turned it into an amazingly solid puzzle platformer. Some of the levels are maddeningly hard and even just getting past the 16 levels without getting the goal time will probably keep you busy for hours. And of course the graphics are handled as lovingly as anything WayForward has done. For $6 its worth every penny. Collapse
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could've given it a 9.5 because it is clearly one of the best 3DS eShop titles so far (right behind Pushmo). This is the ONLY game where I play with the 3D permanently on because for one, it never hurts my eyes and two, WarForward really used the 3D in this game amazingly. The music is by far one of my favorites I've heard in almost any game and is a reason why I go back to play certain levels just so I can listen to the music again. It helps that the gameplay is fun, unique, and nicely paced. The par time drives you to return to best your previous time, especially when you learn the pattern of each stage after a few tries. I just really wished this game had at least 30 stages, that probably would've been perfect for a game of this price with nearly all the stages timing you to finish under 2 (several under 1) minutes, but all in all, it's an amazing title and I look forward to more eShop titles from WayForward (already loved their A Boy and His Blob remake). Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    Short. Hard to Play. Beautiful. Great Soundtrack.
    That's really the game in a nutshell. You want to give it a great score b/c it is so pretty and sounds so good. The controls are tight, but they just aren't exciting or fun. Style of substance is the name of the game, and that's disappointing. You're much better serviced picking up Contra 4 if you are looking for something that is fun to
    play. I wish there was a return option or demo, I would have skipped this one, downloaded the soundtrack and called it good! Expand
  6. May 7, 2012
    8
    Mighty Switch Force! was the first 3rd party eShop game I was looking forward to, and after playing it, I found my initial enthusiasm paid off. GAMEPLAY: the game controls very well, and it was very smooth. The basic premise has you shooting and jumping through the levels, but what really sets the game apart is the ability to switch blocks from the background into the foreground (and vice versa). Whether to create a solid platform, move an obstacle, or even to smash enemies, the mechanic feels fresh and very fun (just watch out, you can smash yourself!). New types of blocks (that affect the environment in different ways) are added regularly, and keep the formula from feeling stale. DIFFICULTY: while not the toughest game on the eShop, it's not a pushover either, and has a very nice difficulty curve (again, the new blocks keep you on your toes at all times). While not necessary to complete the game, getting the par times on each level is a challenge that will satisfy the most seasoned gamers. LENGTH: this is where the game falters. With only 16 levels, you'll be able to beat the game in an afternoon. Sure, completionists will find solace in trying to complete the par times, and it is a less expensive investment than the other retro styled platformers on the service, but that might not be enough of a consolation for some. Luckily, WayForward has announced that they will be adding 5 new levels via update in the future (at no additional cost), so hopefully this issue can be put behind it in the future. GRAPHICS: this game has the most beautiful spritework on the eShop, hands down. It truly felt like a new game from the 16-bit era with a few modern effects here and there. As someone who grew up with an SNES, this game hit the right spot. The character animations are very smooth, and the 3D is great. SOUND: while not as amazing as something like VVVVVV, you'll still find yourself bopping along to the game's music. The only thing kind of annoying is Patricia's voice (the protagonist), but it's a minor issue that won't keep you from enjoying the game. STORY: befitting of the game's retro inspiration, there isn't a deep narrative here. What story is presented however, is charming. CONCLUSION: if you can forgive it's unfortunate short length, you'll find a game that succeeds in every other area of the spectrum, and is fun to boot. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    A little too short but a great game with fantastic puzzle aspects and platforming. Cute characters and addictive music doesn't hurt either. An essential eshop game.
  8. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    Developer Way Forward strikes again with its Mighty series, with their first title for the 3DS E Shop. Now if you're like me and bought the system at launch, you probably haven't visited the 3DS shop much unless you were picking up the ambassador games. Even if you did browse through a couple of pages on the shop, it might seem like Nintendo is just using it as a vehicle to sell its vintage soft where. However thanks to Mighty Switch Force and Pushamo the E-shop finally has some new must have games. If you take a close look at Mighty Switch Force, it Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    5
    So, the game mechanic that distinguishes this game from (some) other platformers is that you can hit a buttons to make certain blocks, platforms and 'squares that launch you in a certain direction' switch on and off, so to speak. (When it's 'off,' the item is faded and transparent and you can run/fall right through it.) This made for some fun platforming for the first handful of levels. But, before long, the designers apparently ran out of 'fun' things to do with that mechanic, and the game gets tedious and, at times, difficult. There's no story at all...in fact, the only thing tying the levels together is a 'pick a stage' screen, which tells me that the designers didn't even bother trying to make a coherent experience out of these disjoint levels. And most of the characters you see in the game are just young blond females in little outfits, voiced in a girlish way....which ultimately just shows another of the ways in which this game is lazy. Lazy design, lazy characterization, all-around uninspired and lazy. This game strikes me as the teenage male equivalent of cheap romance fiction..it's there to provide the baseline experience that you'd expect from the genre and to offer some easy titillation. I wouldn't recommend this game unless you're out of other things to play and you don't have too much self-respect to keep you away from this thing. Upsides are that the graphics look nice, with very smooth animation, and the controls are sufficiently responsive, given that you'll need to do some finely-timed moves. Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    The driving gameplay mechanic, aka the block switching, is pretty simple but they got a lot of out it and turned it into an amazingly solid puzzle platformer. Some of the levels are maddeningly hard and even just getting past the 16 levels without getting the goal time will probably keep you busy for hours. And of course the graphics are handled as lovingly as anything WayForward has done. For $6 its worth every penny. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    80
    Mighty Switch Force screws with your noodle while forcing you to try and speed through the levels to meet the ungodly fast 'par', always taunting you with your slowness.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    100
    It's short but sweet, which I personally prefer over games that overstay their welcome. It's also a pleasure to play, with a satisfying mix of action/platformer pizzazz and puzzle elements with a steady, addictive progression from those simple first stages to the devious concoctions of the late game.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    Mighty Switch Force is more of a platformer / puzzle game than an action one, but even if its concept's quite basic, it's still a solid one. The game is a little short, but very well done.