Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate 3DS

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    70
    People who want a portable experience are going to absolute require the Circle Pad Pro, in addition to a suitable explanation for your friends and family as to where you were for the month you disappeared and couldn’t be found.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    There's a staggering amount of content that more than justifies the asking price, and we'd like to think hardcore fans won't have too much of a problem with the graphics. At the same time, and considering the resolution gap between the 3DS screen and competing platforms, this title does more harm than good.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    This a game you can play for hours. And if you have the Wii U version as well you can transfer your data. That's a nice option to use. But the title is also a little bit outdated. We've seen it all before three years ago.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    70
    Control issues and a lack of online play hamper what's otherwise an outstanding Monster Hunter game.
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    You can’t go wrong in picking up the 3DS version, as it’s an impressive example of how much content and depth can go into one little 3DS cartridge.
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    What Monster Hunter lacks in communication, it more than makes up for in quantity and quality of content.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the best Monster Hunter to date. 3DS suits perfectly to the game, but the lack of any independent online mode is a big disappointment for a game that has cooperative play in his heart.
  8. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    Monster Hunter 3 on 3DS is certainly a good opportunity to dive into the enchanting world of this Capcom license. The 3DS / Wii U connectivity is a good addition, but this 2009 game still suffers sometimes from archaic level design and gameplay.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 69
  2. Negative: 11 out of 69
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Certainly not perfect, but still an amazing game. The graphics on the 3DS are outstanding, gameplay is fun and strategic, and there is anCertainly not perfect, but still an amazing game. The graphics on the 3DS are outstanding, gameplay is fun and strategic, and there is an insane amount of content in this game. Crafting armor-pieces and weapons based on monsters is really fun, and I've never had this much fun grinding in a game. The grinding isn't even necessary, but it sure makes things easier. Monsters and equipment looks really cool, and they are both very unique design-wise. Bonus-features such as Streetpass also works well, and multiplayer is really enjoyable if you have some friends you can play local with.

    My only complaints about the game is the lack of online, though the game was intended for the Japanese, where online isn't necessary, text being a bit hard to read on the 3DS though it looks good on the XL and the start, which is a bit slow. But don't let these things stop you, since the game is still excellent, and you'll have a lot of fun with it.

    I recommend buying a Circle Pad Pro along with the game. You won't need it, but the controls becomes much better, and the Circle Pad Pro is still compatible with other software such as Resident Evil Revelations.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    0
    My advice for this is to play the demo before buying it. Then play the demo again. Then again... then again. Because that's basically whatMy advice for this is to play the demo before buying it. Then play the demo again. Then again... then again. Because that's basically what the game is. Go out and kill a monster. Repeat. Ok, so that's the title of the game. It wouldn't be so bad if the monster hunting was fun. It is at first. But the controls are just too unresponsive even with the circle pad. I ended up going for sword and shield. I swing my sword but notice the monster is about to charge. I can block right? Well, not if the previous animation is still going. Need to roll out of danger? Not if the previous animation is still going. I can't understand why a game that requires you to watch for tells in a monsters attacks forces you to complete whatever action you started before allowing another. Try this with the bigger weapons that have longer animation frames for some real frustration. The underwater parts are more frustrating and lets just add a time limit on top so after nearly an hour of 4 players fighting a creature that keeps running off every 2 minutes and hiding randomly in one of the tiny linked arenas, and you lose anyway. Bought it, sold it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(ThereThis game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(There are 12 weapon types) feels like a completely different game, and each is fun. To add each fight feels different, even if it is the same monster 6 times in a row. This game is the most fun thing I've ever played. Full Review »