Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 9, 2013
    90
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is one of the largest Monster Hunter games to have been released and perhaps one of the largest 3DS games.
  2. 90
    As everything Tri was and more, Ultimate in its portable form is a must-have, at least for Monster Hunter fans. Being able to bring the game’s immersive world with you where ever you go is a truly incredible experience.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    90
    A very deep and engaging action adventure experience plenty of monsters to kill, objects to collect and characters to customize. A must have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    88
    Too bad the 3DS version suffers from horrible underwater controls, since the XL version of Circle Pad Pro isn't out in the west. [Apr 2013]
  5. Expanded and miniaturised, Ultimate finds its natural home on 3DS. Only the lack of online and faffy controls prevent must-buy status.
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    On 3DS, even without the Circle Pad Pro attachment, controlling the camera using the touchscreen works surprisingly well. It’s not quite perfect, but it’s certainly a lot better than it ever was on the PSP; it’s only noticeably slow when you’re fighting underwater.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Certainly not perfect, but still an amazing game. The graphics on the 3DS are outstanding, gameplay is fun and strategic, and there is an insane amount of content in this game. Crafting armor-pieces and weapons based on monsters is really fun, and I've never had this much fun grinding in a game. The grinding isn't even necessary, but it sure makes things easier. Monsters and equipment looks really cool, and they are both very unique design-wise. Bonus-features such as Streetpass also works well, and multiplayer is really enjoyable if you have some friends you can play local with.

    My only complaints about the game is the lack of online, though the game was intended for the Japanese, where online isn't necessary, text being a bit hard to read on the 3DS though it looks good on the XL and the start, which is a bit slow. But don't let these things stop you, since the game is still excellent, and you'll have a lot of fun with it.

    I recommend buying a Circle Pad Pro along with the game. You won't need it, but the controls becomes much better, and the Circle Pad Pro is still compatible with other software such as Resident Evil Revelations.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    1
    No online multiplayer. Underwhelming graphics. The need of a circle pad pro for a good experience. Not enough new content to justify the full price. We get the 3 ultimate when japan has 4. Super lazy devs. A pretty bad port and lack of online capabilities in 2013. Starts off slow and doesn't pick up. Has less content than portable 3rd. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    Made an account just to rate the game, I'm in love. the gathering is addictive and feels productive and rewarding when you find exactly what you need. Hunting the big monsters is exhilarating. The controls feel tight and comfortable even without a circle pad pro. This game is exactly what i was looking for and i cant recommend it enough. Full Review »