Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Engage larger-than-larger-than-life monsters in battle. Create a myriad of weapons and armor. Discover the epic world of Monster Hunter as you wade through more than two hundred quests. Why hunt alone? Hunt with your 2 AI companions in single player quests or team up with up to three players through your local connection. A fully customizable touch screen allows you to personalize your hunting experience and local Nintendo 3DS search feature helps you find other hunters near you location. Nintendo StreetPass provides you the ability to share you guild card with your fellow hunters. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 9, 2013
    90
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is one of the largest Monster Hunter games to have been released and perhaps one of the largest 3DS games.
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    88
    Too bad the 3DS version suffers from horrible underwater controls, since the XL version of Circle Pad Pro isn't out in the west. [Apr 2013]
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    85
    Review forthcoming.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    The debut of Monster Hunter on 3DS is absolutely successful. Once again you will be dealing with a chapter that does not upset the basic formula, but rather enriches it, proposing new monsters, weapons, items and crafting systems.
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    75
    The absence of the online multiplayer and the need for a Circle Pad Pro represent two big stains on the blanket of this edition of Monster Hunter. Only half a Nintendo fan will rejoice for this.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    There's a staggering amount of content that more than justifies the asking price, and we'd like to think hardcore fans won't have too much of a problem with the graphics. At the same time, and considering the resolution gap between the 3DS screen and competing platforms, this title does more harm than good.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    Monster Hunter 3 on 3DS is certainly a good opportunity to dive into the enchanting world of this Capcom license. The 3DS / Wii U connectivity is a good addition, but this 2009 game still suffers sometimes from archaic level design and gameplay.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 8 out of 48
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Let me just start by saying this, Monster Hunter is awesome. I bought the pack with the 3DS XL and I am very glad I did. This is certainly the definitive hand held version of monster hunter. The first game in the series I played was Freedom Unite on the PSP, at the time when I first tried it I was impressed by the game but did not have a lot of fun; which I find is the case when a lot of people first try the series. Long story short; I got killed a lot, didn't know how to go about farming materials which seemed to take forever and gave up.

    I went back to the game a few weeks later and after reading a bit about the game had a lot of fun and spent countless hours playing it once I understood strategies to defeat creatures and places to acquire the items I needed.

    What I am trying to say is if you try this game and don't like it for whatever reason, give it a chance. You can not learn how to play monster hunter is a few hours or days, try weeks and months. I have put in at least 100 hours between the PSP and the Vita and some of the creatures still kick my ass, but it is oh so satisfying when you take down one of those Bast...uh.. Massive Creatures ;)

    This entry in the series does not disappoint, the gameplay is similar to the rest of the series and the controls are solid, especially with a circle pad pro. More creatures and Items than ever before means that this game is going to be very entertaining for quite a long time.

    The Circle Pad Pro is a massive improvement to the camera controls so I definitely recommend getting one to play this game, It is playable without it, but trying to adjust the camera mid battle with the touch screen is difficult and can mean the difference between a dodge and death.

    Graphics are good, but some anti-aliasing would have been nice, I suspect it was scrapped for performance reasons, but some objects are quite jaggy. Overall the are acceptable and comparable to most 3DS games, but don't expect the crispness of New Super Mario Bros.

    Sound is good, slightly crackly occasionally on the XL, but this is due to the 3DS XL's speakers not the game.

    If you are a Monster Hunter fan this game is a must buy. 10/10
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Best game ever, even tho it doesn thave multiplayer still really really good. Maybe thats because im also used to it cuz i used to play mh unite solo
    Still played 50hours rigth now and there is like 100 or more to go
    Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(There are 12 weapon types) feels like a completely different game, and each is fun. To add each fight feels different, even if it is the same monster 6 times in a row. This game is the most fun thing I've ever played. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    I enjoy this game very much but there are some shortcomings for example the lack of good multi player in 2013 I do recommend u try the demo first though this game is not for everyone) Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is a great game for the 3DS but between great and perfect is standing the controls of the game. Awesome game but the controls were really a shame Collapse
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    I would have given this a 9, but a few things hold it back. Somewhat awkward controls (the "circle pad pro" doesn't really help either), and the repetitive nature of the game (which hasn't really evolved much since the first iteration).

    Other than that, this is my favorite monster hunter game. It looks great on the 3DS and has a lot more content than the Wii's version (Monster Hunter Tri)
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    Remake without online, that encourages you to buy a circle pad to properly play, with dated graphics... if you have a psp, you can play it for free, don't waste your money. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews