Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate 3DS

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Engage larger-than-larger-than-life monsters in battle. Create a myriad of weapons and armor. Discover the epic world of Monster Hunter as you wade through more than two hundred quests. Why hunt alone? Hunt with your 2 AI companions in single player quests or team up with up to three playersEngage larger-than-larger-than-life monsters in battle. Create a myriad of weapons and armor. Discover the epic world of Monster Hunter as you wade through more than two hundred quests. Why hunt alone? Hunt with your 2 AI companions in single player quests or team up with up to three players through your local connection. A fully customizable touch screen allows you to personalize your hunting experience and local Nintendo 3DS search feature helps you find other hunters near you location. Nintendo StreetPass provides you the ability to share you guild card with your fellow hunters. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 9, 2013
    90
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is one of the largest Monster Hunter games to have been released and perhaps one of the largest 3DS games.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 15, 2013
    88
    Too bad the 3DS version suffers from horrible underwater controls, since the XL version of Circle Pad Pro isn't out in the west. [Apr 2013]
  3. GameTrailers
    Mar 20, 2013
    85
    Review forthcoming.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    The debut of Monster Hunter on 3DS is absolutely successful. Once again you will be dealing with a chapter that does not upset the basic formula, but rather enriches it, proposing new monsters, weapons, items and crafting systems.
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    75
    The absence of the online multiplayer and the need for a Circle Pad Pro represent two big stains on the blanket of this edition of Monster Hunter. Only half a Nintendo fan will rejoice for this.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    There's a staggering amount of content that more than justifies the asking price, and we'd like to think hardcore fans won't have too much of a problem with the graphics. At the same time, and considering the resolution gap between the 3DS screen and competing platforms, this title does more harm than good.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    Monster Hunter 3 on 3DS is certainly a good opportunity to dive into the enchanting world of this Capcom license. The 3DS / Wii U connectivity is a good addition, but this 2009 game still suffers sometimes from archaic level design and gameplay.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 68
  2. Negative: 10 out of 68
  1. May 24, 2014
    10
    I found this game to be wonderful! The only problem with it is that the graphics aren't AS good as the wii u version. I love this game andI found this game to be wonderful! The only problem with it is that the graphics aren't AS good as the wii u version. I love this game and something that I really love is the fact that you can take data from the wii u version. This is basically like a portable wii u! Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game has more than 200 exhilerating quests, larger than life monsters, hundreds of armor and weapons.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(ThereThis game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(There are 12 weapon types) feels like a completely different game, and each is fun. To add each fight feels different, even if it is the same monster 6 times in a row. This game is the most fun thing I've ever played. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    I enjoy this game very much but there are some shortcomings for example the lack of good multi player in 2013 I do recommend u try the demoI enjoy this game very much but there are some shortcomings for example the lack of good multi player in 2013 I do recommend u try the demo first though this game is not for everyone) Expand
  5. May 13, 2013
    8
    Arguably one of the best Monster Hunter games to release in North America, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (MH3U) is an exciting game with plenty ofArguably one of the best Monster Hunter games to release in North America, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (MH3U) is an exciting game with plenty of new monsters to keep things fresh. Those unfamiliar with the series will likely have a hard time picking it up at first, and it's hard to recommend this game to those who are unwilling to put in the hours necessary to master the game. If you liked the Dark Souls series, you will probably like this game. If not, I'd pass on MH3U. All in all, MH3U is a great pickup for dedicated gamers and gamers who love a challenge.

    Positives:
    Auto-lock camera is a nice addition to help new players
    Rich and rewarding combat
    Access 12 weapon types, each with their own unique play-style
    Armor at low ranks have been less necessary, and the starting armor is quite useful
    Hours upon hours of gameplay content with FREE downloadable content available
    Weapons and armor look stunning and the new monster look great!

    Negatives: NO ONLINE!!! Lack of online really hurts 3DS users, though it can be fixed if you have a Wii U
    A LARGE learning curve can be a turn off to casual gamers
    The camera can be hard to control if you do not buy the 3DS circle pad pro accessory
    The game starts off very slow

    In the interest of full disclosure: I have completed the entire village quests and currently in G-Rank in the online port city. I do not have a Wii U nor a circle pad pro. At the time of review, I have played MH3U for 134 hours.
    Expand
  6. May 13, 2014
    7
    COMMENT OF THE GAME
    -Good when you gathering the material for making equipment
    -Bad when you cannot beat a boss -Sad when you hunt for a
    COMMENT OF THE GAME
    -Good when you gathering the material for making equipment
    -Bad when you cannot beat a boss
    -Sad when you hunt for a rare material
    -Great when you finally hunt your rare material
    -Sad when 3ds cannot play online (only in local)
    -Sad when you control your view ( it is totally not a problem for me ,but maybe hard for rookie)
    -Sad when you cannot speak freely

    OVERALL
    -Great game for 3ds
    -Graphic is good (don't compare with wiiu thx)
    -Moderate Control
    -Not an engaging game, maybe monster hunter should add a story like GOD EATER but your character can speak freely like FIRE EMBLEM
    -CAPCOM boss fight , you know!
    Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    Greatly overrated. Monster hunter is only good if you are a kid with tons of free time and have a close circle of friends to play multiplayerGreatly overrated. Monster hunter is only good if you are a kid with tons of free time and have a close circle of friends to play multiplayer with. Otherwise, there is nothing of value here.

    As a single player experience, this is a boring grind with no story. There is no real challenge, you don't need to be smart to win, just have a lot of time in your hands to grind and gather stuff.

    The graphics are meh and the controls on the 3DS are total garbage without the add on.

    All in all, totally overrated. Get this if you are a japanese fanboy and don't know any better about good western games, otherwise, skip it.
    Expand

See all 68 User Reviews