Mutant Mudds 3DS

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    There's a lot of depth for a downloadable title game, and Mutant Mudds contrasts strikingly with the first wave of DSiWare games, showing how the service is evolving.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    70
    Mutant Mudds is a nice interpetation of old-school action platforming, lacking in depth but succeeding in providing a genuine gameplay experience.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    A clever 2D platformer that doesn't muddy the waters with overcomplicated concepts or controls - but still has time for some great 3D effects.
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Mutant Mudds is a great slice of retro-styled platforming for the 3DS, which just falls at the last few hurdles.
  5. A very accomplished platformer, but one that will only appeal to hardcore gamers who relish retro difficulty levels.
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    Mutant Mudds doesn't quite have the brash, devil-may-care attitude of Super Meat Boy or the charming personality of VVVVVV, but its refined obstacle courses are a distillation of what made us fall in love with 2D platformers in the first place.
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    65
    Mutant Mudds is a decent game, but it could have been better. We love the retro style, both artistically and gameplay wise, but it has some irritating flaws in level design. Anyway, Mutant Mudds is destined to that public who love classic games and classic challenges.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I LOVE this game. I have been following Mutant Mudds since it was first announced in Nintendo Power.

    GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is flawless. The
    I LOVE this game. I have been following Mutant Mudds since it was first announced in Nintendo Power.

    GAMEPLAY:
    The gameplay is flawless. The platforming challenge is perfect. The difficulty curve is just right. Some people may whine about it being too difficult, but like anything challenging the reward is great.

    ART:
    The art is an incredible blend of 8-bit and 16-bit. I think they called it 12-bit. :-) The 3D effect when you go into the background is really fantastic.

    SOUND:
    The music is authentic NES style music, which might sound bad, but it sounds really amazing.

    REPLAY:
    I found this game really addicting. Even now that I have completed it 100% I find myself going back for more. It is just fun to navigate the levels, jumping, hovering, and shooting the Muddies.

    BOTTOM LINE:
    Buy it. I joined Metacritic just so I could leave a review for this fantastic game. Bravo Renegade Kid. I look forward to your other eShop games.

    10/10
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    To start off: gamerHeaven rated this game a 1. In case you can't tell, that is a very biased score. Some of the complaints include "you end upTo start off: gamerHeaven rated this game a 1. In case you can't tell, that is a very biased score. Some of the complaints include "you end up replaying a level dozens of times until you perfect the move required to pass the point that you are stuck at", and while this a bit true, it REALLY gets easier once you start getting it down. So it's not really a developer's mistake, just a skill factor. It takes awhile to get better and better at parts in each level, but really that adds to the game. And if it were super easy, the game would be over in a few seconds.
    Moving on: There's really nothing amazingly fantastic that makes you jaw-drop. But theres really not much to complain about. The jet-pack controls may not be perfect, in my opinion, but its really only a matter of practice. Mutant Mudds is a solid game that took me 10 hours to completely beat. And a special unlockable at the very end gives me reason to replay with a new file. The game looks really nice, and again it is DEFINITELY a nicely-challenging and solid platformer. Worth the money for me.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Mutant Mudds is really good. I like NES/SNES games, and Mutant Mudds is a great blend of the things I like about the 8-bit/16-bit era - butMutant Mudds is really good. I like NES/SNES games, and Mutant Mudds is a great blend of the things I like about the 8-bit/16-bit era - but with modern touches.

    The game is quite challenging in parts. I felt very rewarded when I completed the game 100%.

    This is a superb addition to the eShop. Well worth $8.99.

    Go buy it.
    Full Review »